A driving safety course (DSC) option is available to those who are eligible. If all terms required by the court are successfully met, the case will be dismissed. If any requirements are not met and you cannot provide a satisfactory reason why at a hearing before a judge, you will be found guilty and a conviction reported to the Texas Department of Public Safety.
Driving Safety Courses
You may be eligible to take a driving safety course or Motorcycle Operators Training Course (MOTC) to have your case dismissed. You may only take one course (either DSC or MOTC) each year in the State of Texas to have a case dismissed. You may, however, take more than one child safety seat course. If you are not eligible, you may be able to get a deferred disposition (see below)
- The court must receive your request to take the course no later than the appearance date on your citation [Contact Information].
- Only “moving violations” are eligible but you cannot take it if the violation is:
- Speeding 25 mph or more above the posted speed limit or speeds greater than 94 mph
- No insurance or failure to maintain financial responsibility
- Leaving the scene of a collision
- Passing a school bus, or
- Cited while driving in a construction zone when workers were present
- Violation must have occurred in a motor vehicle including a motorcycle (not Bicycle or other Non-Motorized Vehicle).
- You (the driver) cannot have a commercial driver license (even if the violation happened while in your personal vehicle).
- If you are a juvenile [see options for juveniles], you cannot sign up on your own but must come to court first.
- You must have current, valid proof of insurance; except for military personnel.
- You must currently have a Texas driver’s license; any other driver license is allowed for military personnel and their families. If you have a provisional driver license, you will be required to take a “behind the wheel” test at DPS.
- You must be able to pay $144 (or $169 if violation was in a school zone).
- You must complete the driver safety course (DSC) form and bring/send it to the court no later than the appearance date on your citation [Contact Information].
Failing to Comply with the Terms
If you fail to comply with any of the requirements of the DSC, your case will be set for a revocation hearing. The hearing is your opportunity to speak with a judge regarding why you failed to comply with terms of your DSC. If you fail to appear at your hearing, a conviction will be entered, the conviction will be placed on your record, and, if there is still a balance on the case, a warrant for your arrest will be issued.
If you cannot afford to pay your DSC fee at the time you make your request, other arrangement may be possible. Please contact the court to see if you are eligible.