**RESOLUTION NO. 20071213-016** 

WHEREAS, the City of Austin is known as the Live Music Capitol of the

World; and

WHEREAS, on July 26, 2007 Council adopted a resolution creating the

Austin Music Memorial Guidelines; and

WHEREAS, the Austin Music Memorial Guidelines set out criteria and a

process for nominating musicians for the Memorial; and

WHEREAS, ten individuals that have contributed greatly to the musical

history of the City were recommended by the Music Commission as a result of the

2007 nominations; NOW, THEREFORE,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF AUSTIN:

The City Council adopts the Music Commission's recommendations to

induct Carl William Besserer, Virgie Mae Dewitty, McKinley "Kenny" Dorham,

Lavada Durst, Ignacio "Nash" Hernandez, Roy Montelongo, Americo Parades,

Doug Sahm, Roosevelt Williams, and Tary Owens to the 2008 Austin Music

Memorial.

ADOPTED: December 13, 2007 ATTEST: 🔀

City Clerk