## **RESOLUTION NO. 20080521-001**

**WHEREAS**, on May 10, 2008, a municipal general election was held to elect three council members; and

WHEREAS, the returns of the general election have been made to the Council and show that the votes for the council members were cast as follows:

## PLACE 1

Lee Leffingwell	22,552
Allen Demling	3,166
Jason Meeker	7,530
PLACE 3	
Jennifer Kim	9,353
Randi Shade	22,206
Ken Weiss	3,056
PLACE 4	
Cid Galindo	9,735
Laura Morrison	12,888
Ken Vasseau	592
Jennifer Gale	1,953

Osemene, Sam

1,420

Robin Cravey

6,833; and

WHEREAS, Lee Leffingwell received a majority of all votes cast for the office of City Council Place 1; and

WHEREAS, Randi Shade received a majority of all votes cast for the office of City Council Place 3; and

WHEREAS, of the two candidates, Cid Galindo and Laura Morrison, who received the highest number of votes cast for the City Council Place 4, neither candidate received a majority of all votes cast for City Council Place 4; and

## BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF AUSTIN:

That all of the recitals contained in this resolution are found to be true and are adopted as findings of fact by this governing body; and

That the results of the general election as tabulated and canvassed reflect the votes cast at the election; and

That the Council accepts and approves the returns for the general election, as received and canvassed, and declares that the following persons are declared elected and may qualify for the office indicated for a term beginning June 25, 2008:

Council Member Place 1 Lee Leffingwell

Council Member Place 3 Randi Shade; and

That in order to elect a Council member to Place 4, the City Council shall order a runoff election as soon as is practicable and no later than the fifth day after this canvass as required by state law (Tex. Elec. Code § 2.024).

ADOPTED: May 21, 2008 ATTEST: June

Shirley A. Gentry City Clerk