# COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT COMMISSION PLANNING COMMISSION JOINT MEETING MINUTES



# COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT COMMISSION PLANNING COMMISSION JOINT MEETING DRAFT MINUTES

REGULAR MEETING WEDNESDAY, May 25, 2011

The Community Development Commission and the Planning Commission convened in a special called joint meeting on Wednesday, May 25, 2011 at the Street-Jones Building, 1000 East 11<sup>th</sup> Street Room 400A, Austin, Texas.

Chairman Limon called the CDC Commissioners to order at 6:10 p.m. Chairman Sullivan called the Planning Commissioners to order at 6:10 pm.

#### **CDC Board Members in Attendance:**

#### **Planning Commissioners in Attendance:**

John Limon, Chair Susanna Almanza Karen Langley Elridge Nelson Gilberto Rivera Dorcas Seals Ken Shepardson Myron Smith Stephanie Tsen Dave Sullivan, Chair Tina Bui Mandy Dealey Richard Hatfield Alfonso Hernandez Saundra Kirk

### **Staff in Attendance:**

Gina Copic
Kelly Nichols
Meng Qi
Kathleen Saenz
Betsy Spencer
Mark Walters, Senior Planner, PDR

## 1. INTRODUCTION OF COMMISSIONERS

Each Commissioner introduced themselves.

## 2. CITIZEN COMMUNICATION: GENERAL

(The first 10 speakers signed up prior to the meeting being called to order will each be allowed a three-minute allotment to address their concerns.)

- Stuart Hersh, Self, Citizen Communication
- 3. Presentation and Discussion of the University Neighborhood Overlay (UNO) Economic Report by the Neighborhood Housing and Community Development Office and Economic & Planning Systems, Inc.

#### WEDNESDAY, May 25, 2011

# COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT COMMISSION PLANNING COMMISSION JOINT MEETING MINUTES

Darin Smith, Principal, Economic & Planning Systems, Inc., gave the presentation Mark Walters, Planner Senior, PDR Speakers:

- Brian Donovan, Inter Co-operative Council
- Alan Robinson, College Houses
- Stuart Hersh
- Mark Walters.
- 4. Possible Recommendations by the Community Development Commission on recommendations to revise the calculation of the in-lieu fee for affordable housing in the UNO zoning district.

The motion to approve the postponement of recommendations to the June 16<sup>th</sup> CDC meeting, and the creation of a joint UNO Working Group was made by Commissioner Smith, seconded by Commissioner Almanza on a 9-0-0 vote. The CDC members are: Langley, Paup, Shepardson, and Smith.

5. Possible Recommendations by the Planning Commission on recommendations to revise the calculation of the in-lieu fee for affordable housing in the UNO zoning district.

The motion to approve the postponement of recommendations to the June 28th Planning Commission meeting, and the creation of a joint UNO Working Group was made by Commissioner Dealey, seconded by Commissioner Kirk on a 6-0-0 vote. The Planning Commission members are: Sullivan, Hatfield, and Hernandez.

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

Chair Limon adjourned the meeting for the Commissions at 8:00 pm without objection.

