

Notice of 2012 Charter Revision Committee Meeting November 17, 2011, 6:30 pm Austin Community College Pinnacle Campus 7748 Highway 290 West, 78736

AGENDA

COMMITTEE MEMBERS

Chair Gonzalo Barrientos
Vice Chair Ann Kitchen
David Butts
Fred Cantu
Delia Garza
Richard Jung
Delores Lenzy-Jones

Nelson Linder
Dr. Fred McGhee
Margaret Menicucci
Susan Moffat
Ken Rigsbee
Ted Siff
Kathleen Vale

Fred Lewis

CALL TO ORDER

1. APPROVE MINUTES FROM NOVEMBER 3, 2011 MEETING

2. CITIZEN COMMUNICATION: GENERAL

Citizen communication is an opportunity for members of the public to speak on an unposted agenda item. Speakers are limited to 3 minutes.

3. NEW BUSINESS

- A. Discussion and possible action on a recommendation regarding the Council proposal for geographic representation consisting of six members elected from geographic districts, two members elected at large, and a mayor elected at large (6-2-1), and the related draft maps showing six City Council districts, presented to Council on June 9, 2011.
- B. Discussion and possible action on a recommendation regarding the single member versus hybrid approaches for a future City Council district map.
- C. Discussion and possible action on a recommendation regarding the number of total districts for a future City Council map.
- D. Presentation by the Charter Amendment Working Group regarding proposed recommendation to Council regarding campaign finance, for future action (Vice Chair Kitchen, Siff, Moffat, Lewis, Menicucci)
- E. Public input process update (Vale)

ADJOURNMENT

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 4 days before the meeting date. Please call Elaine Diaz at 512-974-2672 for additional information. TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711. Questions regarding the 2012 Charter Revision Committee may be directed to Elaine Diaz at 512-974-2672.