## MINUTES OF THE CITY COUNCIL

CITY OF AUSTIN, TEXAS

Special Called Meeting

October 12, 1981 3:00 p.m.

Council Chambers 301 West Second Street

The meeting was called to order with Mayor McClellan presiding.

Roll Call:

Present: Mayor McClellan, Mayor Pro Tem Trevino, Councilmembers Deuser, Duncan, Goodman, Mullen, Urdy

Absent: None

Mayor McClellan noted that Council would convene in a closed or executive session authorized by Section 2, Paragraphs (e), (f) and (g) of Article 6252-17, Texas Revised Civil Statutes Annotated; and after such closed or executive session, any final action, decision or vote with regard to any matter considered in the closed or executive session would be made in open session, should such action, decision or vote be necessary.

The Council reconvened at 5:30 p.m. to make the following appointments to City Boards and Commissions:

Motion

Councilmember Goodman moved that the Council approve the Board and Commission appointments as follows:

ARTS COMMISSION: All terms to expire October 1, 1983

Cheryl Jefferson - dance	Paul Leche – museums
Al Golden - drama	Maurice Coats - visual arts
Paul Foreman - literature	Melvin Wade - folk art

BUILDING STANDARDS COMMISSION: Term to expire June 1, 1983

Willo Hardin - low income tenant

ENERGY CONSERVATION COMMISSION: Term to expire July 1, 1982

Roy Wilson

ENVIRONMENTAL BOARD: Terms to expire July 1, 1982.

David Gurss Michele "Missy" Mandell

PARKS AND RECREATION BOARD: Term to expire June 1, 1982.

Conrad Fath - navigational expertise

RENEWABLE ENERGY RESOURCES COMMISSION: All terms to expire July 1, 1983.

James Butler Daniel Brody William Murray

CITIZEN'S TRAFFIC SAFETY COMMISSION: Term to expire January 1, 1982.

Bruce Blackwell

MANPOWER ADVISORY PLANNING COUNCIL: All terms to expire September 30, 1982.

Charles Garner - vocational education Fannie Ussery - Public Assistance Agency Jimmy Snell - business Steve Currier - handicapped David Brown - labor John Greer - employment Norman Minter - citizen Albert Fairweather - citizen

PRIVATE INDUSTRY COUNCIL: Terms to expire October 1, 1982

Jackie St. Clair - labor Nella Trisdale - education

COMMISSION ON STATUS OF WOMEN: Terms to expire June 30, 1982.

Hortensia Palomares Sylvia Little

MH/MR BOARD OF TRUSTEES: Terms to expire September 30, 1983.

Dr. Theodore Dake Dr. Lenora Waters

The motion, seconded by Councilmember Duncan, carried by the following vote: Mayor McClellan, Mayor Pro Tem Trevino, Councilmembers Aves: Deuser, Duncan, Goodman, Urdv Noes: None Absent: Councilmember Mullen left the meeting before the vote was taken. WATER/WASTEWATER COMMISSION: Motion Councilmember Goodman moved that the Council appoint the following people to the Water/Wastewater Commission, with members drawing for terms: Terry Kahn Gerald Oliver Charles Dunn Leda Roselle Dr. Kent Butler Maury Hood The motion, seconded by Councilmember Duncan, carried by the following vote: Aves: Mayor Pro Tem Trevino, Councilmembers Deuser, Duncan, Goodman, Urdy, Mayor McClellan Noes: None Absent: Councilmember Mullen left the meeting before the vote was taken. Motion Councilmember Goodman moved that the Council appoint Judy Ford to the Water/Wastewater Commission, drawing for terms with the other appointees. The motion, seconded by Councilmember Duncan, carried by the following vote: Councilmembers Deuser, Duncan, Goodman, Urdy, Mayor McClellan Aves: Noes: None Present but not voting: Mayor Pro Tem Trevino Absent: Councilmember Mullen left the meeting before the vote was taken. CABLE COMMISSION: Motion Councilmember Goodman moved that the Council appoint the following people to the Cable Commission, noting that the original ordinance would be amended on October 15, 1981 to include two additional voting members and two additional non-voting ex-officio members: (effective October 15, 1981)

CITY OF AUSTIN, TEXAS October 12, 1981

	r of Austin, Texas Uctober 12, 1981
Claire Korioth	Art Shearer
Jane Wells	Mariann Wizard
Brian Godinez	Larry Waterhouse
Hoyt Purvis	Jack Hopper
Dan Bullock	Ronald Wilcox
Tommie Wyatt	Mark Yudof
Brenda Trainor	Nan McRaven (ex-officio/county)
The motion, seconded by Councilme	mber Duncan, carried by the following vote:
Ayes: Councilmembers Deus	er, Duncan, Goodman, Urdy, Mayor
McClellan, Mayor Pr	o Tem Trevino
Noes: None	
Absent: Councilmember Mul	len left the meeting before the vote was taken.
DOWNTOWN REVITALIZATION TASK FORC	E:
	Motion
Councilmember Duncan moved	that the Council appoint the following people
to the Downtown Revitalization Ta	
	SK TOTCE.
Frank Jackson	Phil Conard
Ari Wright	Alan Taniguchi
Alex Pope	Linda Lewis
Sonia Ashworth	LINGA LEWIS
Solita Ashworth	
The motion, seconded by Councilme	mber Urdy, carried by the following vote:
Ayes: Councilmembers Duncan, Goodman, Urdy, Mayor Pro Tem Trevino, Deuser	
Noes: Mayor McClellan	
Absent: Councilmember Mullen left the meeting before the vote was taken.	
	J. J
ELECTRIC UTILITY COMMISSION:	
	Motion
	that the Council appoint the following people
to the Electric Utility Commissio	n with all terms expiring July 1, 1983:
Frank Cooksey	Sam Graham
William "Peck" Young	Merle Moden
The motion, seconded by Councilme	mber Goodman, carried by the following vote:
	man, Urdy, Mayor Pro Tem Trevino,
Councilmembers Deus	er, Duncan
Noes: Mayor McClellan	
Absent: Councilmember Mul	len, left the meeting before the vote was taken.

Mayor McClellan noted that "for the record" she wanted it stated that she was not questioning the integrity of the persons appointed by the Council, but that this Council was deliberately removing all "pro NUKE" members from the Electric Utility Commission and therefore she would vote 'no".

## ADJOURNED

Council adjourned its meeting at 6:00 p.m.

APPROVED Conde Keeter M. Clalan Mayor

ATTEST:

Grace Monroe City Clerk