

2012 Charter Revision Committee Meeting January 5, 2012 Minutes

COMMITTEE MEMBERS

Chair Gonzalo Barrientos
Vice Chair Ann Kitchen
David Butts
Fred Cantu
Delia Garza
Richard Jung
Delores Lenzy-Jones
Fred Lewis

Nelson Linder
Dr. Fred McGhee
Margaret Menicucci
Susan Moffat
Ken Rigsbee
Ted Siff
Kathleen Vale

CALL TO ORDER

Meeting was called to order at 6:30 pm by Chair Gonzalo Barrientos. A quorum was present (*Committee members Butts and Jung absent.*).

1. APPROVE MINUTES FROM THE DECEMBER 8, 2011 MEETING Motion by Siff, second by Moffat. Motion passed on a vote of 13-0.

(At 6:40, Committee member Butts present.) (At 6:50, Committee member Jung present.)

2 & 3. NEW BUSINESS & CITIZEN COMMUNICATION Items 2.A., 2.B., and 3 were taken up together.

- A. Committee members will discuss the pros and cons of the current, hybrid, and single-member system of Council seats.
- B. Committee members will discuss the pros and cons of the plan presented to Council on June 9, 2011 (the 6-2-1 plan) and plans presented to the Committee (the 8-4-1 plan and the 10-1 plan).

Committee members discussed their position on the pros and cons of the current, hybrid, and single-member system of Council seats and discussed their position on the pros and cons of the respective plans. The Chair moderated a process that alternated committee member comment with public comment. Members of the public who spoke on this item were Mayor Lee Leffingwell, Guadalupe Q. Sosa, Roger Borgelt, Kris Bailey, Laura Pressley Ph.D., Jacklyn Williams, Celia Israel, Alicia Perez, Debbie Russell, Ricardo Zavala, Paul Saldaña, Al Sarria, Blanca Zamora Garcia, Raul Alvarez, John Hernandez, Fidencio Durán, Eliza May, Lorraine Atherton, Roscoe Overton, and Peck Young. Gavino Fernandez, Stefanie Collins, David Thomas, Glen Shield, and Nancy Aleman signed up on these items but chose not to speak.

ADJOURNMENT

Motion to adjourn; motion passed. Committee adjourned at 8:45 p.m.