

Local Solar Advisory Committee Thursday, June 21 from 6:00-10:00 PM Austin Energy, Town Lake Center Assembly Room 130 721 Barton Springs Rd. Austin, Texas

Regular Meeting Minutes

CALL TO ORDER: Steve Wiese called the meeting to order at 6:08 p.m.

<u>Committee Members in Attendance</u>: Gary "Bernie" Bernfeld, Varun Rai, Sunshine Mathon, Tuan Q Pham, Christine Herbert, Jose Becerio, John Sutton, Ron Van Dell, Joseph Hawkins, Monica De La Rosa, BJ Stanbery, Roger Wood, Mark Begert, Gabe Flores, Steve Wiese

<u>Non-Committee Members in Attendance</u>: Michael Osborne (AE), Tod Wickersham (for member Tom "Smitty" Smith), Micah Jasuta (for member Michael Kuhn), Leslie Libby (AE), Shayna Lee (AE), Chris Stanton (AE), Barbara Rush (Council Member Laura Morrison's office)

1. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Approval of minutes from the June 7th, 2012 meeting of the Local Solar Advisory Committee. No corrections were proposed. Jose Becerio moved to approve the minutes as written. Motion seconded by Ron Van Dell. Motion was unanimously approved.

2. ITEMS FOR DISCUSSION

a. Report on Pecan Street Inc Committee Facilitation Contract:

Michael Osborne reported that AE and Pecan Street had completed their reviews of the MOU and that both parties had executed the agreement.

Steve Wiese reported that Pecan Street had been asked to undertake an expanded role in committee facilitation, including emailing material to members and hosting a Web space for public access to committee related material and discussion occurred. Pecan Street plans to provide an update prior to or at the next meeting.

b. **Committee operating procedures – recommendations for moving forward and maintaining quorum:**

- i. Steve Wiese asked that the committee revisit the issue committee attendance by phone and discussion occurred. Varun Rai moved that committee members be allowed to call in to future committee meetings for the purpose of quorum and voting. Mark Begert seconded the motion. Motion was unanimously approved.
- ii. Steve Wiese reported on the previous week's progress update to council, including council's request that the committee's work product be available for their review at an earlier date than had previously been agreed to, so as to

inform their actions regarding KEMA's Generation Plan review. Discussion occurred.

c. Q+A on Questions Submitted After the Previous Meeting:

i. This was tabled to the next meeting.

d. Discussion - Committee Mission Statement:

Sunshine Mathon reported that he would send out a draft of the committee mission statement before the next meeting.

e. Discussion/Adoption of Work Schedule:

Discussion occurred regarding the structure of the committee's Strategic Plan deliverable as described in the draft Work Schedule. Ron Van Dell moved that the two resource working groups (the **Economic Development, Environment, and Community** working group and the **Legal and Regulatory** working group) be promoted to Strategic Plan Drafting Working Groups with writing responsibilities. Gabe Flores seconded the motion. The motion passed with one dissenter.

Ron Van Dell moved to accept the Work Schedule with the previously accepted change. Gabe Flores seconded the motion, and discussion occurred. The motion passed unanimously.

f. Steve Wiese asked the committee members to organize form the drafting working groups. The following working groups were formed:

- 1. Mission and values (led by Sunshine Mathon to lead)
 - a. Stan Pipkin
- 2. Technical (BJ Stanbery to lead)
 - a. Gabe Flores
 - b. Roger Wood
 - c. Joseph Hawkins
 - d. John Sutton
 - e. Mark Begert
 - f. Varun Rai
- 3. Program Review (Tuan Q Pham to lead)
 - a. Ron Van Dell
 - b. Mark Begert
 - c. Gary "Bernie" Bernfeld
 - d. Sal Valdez
 - e. Stan Pipkin
 - f. Sunshine Mathon
- 4. Scenarios (Christine Herbert to lead)
 - a. Smitty Smith
 - b. Ron Van Dell
 - c. Monica De La Rosa
 - d. Gary "Bernie" Bernfeld
- 5. Economic Development, Environment and Community (Jose Becerio to lead)
 - a. Smitty Smith
 - b. Colin Meehan
 - c. Joseph Hawkins

- d. Gabe Flores
- e. Michael Kuhn
- 6. Legal and Regulatory (Steve Wiese to lead)
 - a. Colin Meehan
 - b. Tuan Q Pham
 - c. Christine Herbert

3. CITIZEN COMMUNICATION: GENERAL

The first 5 speakers signed up prior to the meeting being called to order will each be allowed a three-minute allotment to address their concerns regarding items not posted on the agenda. Barbara Rush from Laura Morrison's office recommended Pecan St facilitating email communication for the committee and housing a Web page for committee documents.

4. FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS

5. ADJOURNMENT: Meeting was adjourned at 8:05 pm.