

Commission for Women MINUTES

SPECIAL-CALLED MEETING July 11, 2012

The Commission for Women convened in a regular meeting on July 11, 2012 at City Hall, 301 W. 2nd Street, Room #1033 in Austin, Texas.

Chair Julia Cuba called the Board Meeting to order at 1:40 p.m.

Board Members in Attendance: Julia Cuba, Amy Welborn, Flannery Bope, Julia Aguilar, Marilyn Bostick, Veronica Garcia, Katie Naranjo

Staff in Attendance: Dolores Gonzalez, Sandra Adame

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

 Chair Julia Cuba asked Commission members to review minutes from the May 2, 2012 meeting. Commissioner Garcia motioned to approve minutes. Commissioner Bostick seconded. Motion passed with no objection.

OLD BUSINESS

- 1. Women's Hall of Fame event
 - Chair Cuba asked commissioners to highlight their top three candidates for the Women's Hall of Fame. The top four were: Betty Naylor with the most votes, Willie Mae Kirk with the 2nd highest, Nora Comstock, and Shudee Fath tied for third.
 - Discussion followed regarding how many awards should be offered. Commissioner Bostick motioned that there be four inductees. Commissioner Bope seconded the motion and passed with no objection.
 - Commissioner Naranjo motioned to induct all four of the aforementioned people. Garcia seconded the motion and motion passed with no objection
 - Tasks were given to commissioners which included: contacting inductees, writing a letter of thanks to everyone who nominated someone, and marketing the event.

NEW BUSINESS

- 1. Dolores Gonzalez will be the new Executive liaison to the Austin Commission for Women.
- 2. Leadership Austin
 - Leadership Austin contacted ACW to see if they would endorse their Emerge program and support their efforts for recruitment.
 - Commissioner Aguilar motioned for the ACW to endorse the Emerge program. Naranjo seconded and motion passed with no objection.

FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS

• Trophies and other details for Hall of Fame event

PUBLIC HEARINGS: None

ADJOURN: Commissioner Bope moved to adjourn the meeting at 2:40 pm, seconded by Commissioner Garcia. Motion was approved without objection. Chair Cuba adjourned the meeting at 2:41pm.