

Additional Backup Information

Related Items:

In June 2007, the City of Austin and the Lower Colorado River Authority (LCRA) entered into a settlement agreement regarding joint water resource management and the resolution of regulatory matters then pending at the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality. In the Settlement Agreement, the City and LCRA agreed to form a Water Partnership administered by an Executive Management Committee (EMC). (The members of the EMC are Assistant City Manager Robert Goode and Austin Water Director Greg Meszaros from the City of Austin, and Executive Manager of External Affairs Kyle Jensen and Executive Manager of Environmental and Regulatory Henry Eby from LCRA.)

Later in 2007, a supplemental water supply agreement was also approved and went into effect mid-November. In the Supplemental Water Supply Agreement (SWSA), the City and LCRA agreed to establish a stakeholder group (the Stakeholder Committee) to provide input to the Executive Management Committee on key water supply decisions under the SWSA. The supplemental agreement called for the stakeholder group to be comprised of a "balanced and diverse group of organizations and individuals interested in the Parties' [the City's and LCRA's] water supply discussions" and it charged the Water Partnership with establishing "a process for keeping the stakeholder group informed of the Parties' water supply discussions, and for receiving input from the group."

City and LCRA staff recommended in 2008 that the EMC make recommendations, and that the stakeholders be confirmed by the City Council and LCRA. At that time, City and LCRA staff worked together to determine appropriate slots to comprise the stakeholder group and the Council and LCRA Board approved the 15 members who were brought forward to represent diverse interests and backgrounds. In accordance with the timeline established in the Supplemental Water Supply Agreement, the original stakeholder group was appointed in June 2008. The structure that was approved at that time and remains in place today is as follows, along with the individuals currently representing those interests:

- -- High growth areas (3): Jon Beall, Pete Dwyer and [Vacant (formerly Valarie Bristol, who has resigned)],
- -- Environmental (2): Lonnie Moore and Jennifer Walker,
- -- Business (2): Barbara Johnson and Hank Smith,
- -- Ratepayers (2): Katherine Woerner and Marion Sanchez,
- -- Industrial (2): Dan Wilcox and [Vacant (formerly Sandra Dannhardt, who can no longer represent industrial interests due to a career change)],
- -- Recreational (1): Rod Malone,
- -- Agricultural (1): Robby Cook,
- -- Conservation (1): Susan Butler, and
- -- At-Large (1): Mary Ann Hefner.

Members serve three-year staggered terms. Per a resolution approved by Council in 2009 appointing replacement members, a member of the Stakeholder Committee is not a City official under the definition of Chapter 2-7 of the City Code. (This provision was recommended in 2008 since stakeholders represent particular interests.)

This item requests Council's approval to appoint two new members to the Stakeholder's group of the EMC:

• Clifton Ladd to replace Valarie Bristol in one of the High Growth Area interest slots. Mr. Ladd is an Austin resident. Formally a manager of Travis County's Natural Resources Program, he is Vice President of Bowman Consulting and manages the environmental group.

 Ned Ross to replace Sandra Dannhardt in one of the Industrial interest slots. Mr. Ross is the Government & Regulatory Affairs Director for Direct Energy, a national energy supplier of electricity, natural gas and related services. Direct Energy provides electric service in Brazoria County, Midland, Odessa, Houston and Dallas. They purchase wind energy and operate three natural gas-fired power plants in Texas, including one in Bastrop (operated by Bastrop Energy Partners).

Mr. Ladd and Mr. Ross have been approved by the EMC.

Should Council wish to not appoint one or both of these individuals, City staff will return to the EMC to discuss possible alternatives to present to Council and LCRA.