

Art in Public Places Panel

REGULAR MEETING MINUTES MONDAY, September 9, 2013

The Art in Public Places Panel convened a regular meeting on Monday, September 9, 2013, at City Hall, 301 W. 2nd Street, Room 2016, Austin, Texas.

Vice Chair Castillo called the Panel Meeting to order at 6:10 p.m.

Panel Members in Attendance: Jaime Castillo (Vice Chair), Scott Daigle (AAC Liaison), Ilse Frank, Hollis Hammonds and Jade Walker.

Panel Members Absent: Ryan Thompson (Chair) and Emily Little.

Staff in Attendance: Meghan Wells; Anna Bradley; Carrie Brown; Jean Graham; Matt Coldwell

(Aviation); Rey Hernandez (PARD)

Additional attendees: None

1. CITIZENS COMMUNICATION: GENERAL

None.

2. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

a. The minutes for the regular meeting of 08/05/13 were approved on the motion of Panel Member Hammonds. Panel Member Daigle seconded the motion. Motion was approved on a 5-0 vote. Panel Members Thompson and Little were absent.

3. CHAIR'S REPORT

None.

4. ARTS COMMISSION LIAISON REPORT

None.

5. OLD BUSINESS

None.

6. NEW BUSINESS

- a. Presentation and Discussion on Artwork Opportunities for the Consolidated Rental Car Facility at Austin-Bergstrom International Airport Art in Public Places Project
 - -- Carrie Brown, AIPP Coordinator
 - --Michael Singer Studio, Artist

Carrie Brown introduced Michael Singer, artist; Jason Bregman, project manager; Jonathan Fogelson, project manager; Sam Thomas and Calen Colby, Colby Engineering. The team presented initial design approaches for the CONRAC AIPP project.. Singer will present a developed design at the November Panel meeting. No action was taken.

- b. Approval of Public Art Action Plan for Holly Shores/Festival Beach Master Plan Art in Public Places Project
 - --Lynn Osgood and Sarah Gamble, Consultants

Lynn Osgood presented the Final Draft of the AIPP Action Plan for the Holly Shores Master Plan. Three public art zones were identified with corresponding recommended types of artwork to be commissioned: Zone One – highly programmed landscapes; Zone Two – connective landscapes with an emphasis on circulation; and Zone Three – natural landscapes with strong natural assets. A five member selection panel is suggested for all future AIPP commissions in this area to include two artists or arts professionals from the East Cesar Chavez neighborhood and the Holly Neighborhood. The plan emphasizes the importance of honoring the history and culture of the area, and suggests ways to recognize the Holly Power Plant murals which will need to be deaccessioned with the demolition of the north perimeter wall.

Panel member Daigle made a motion to approve with Panel suggestions discussed. Panel member Hammonds seconded the motion. Motion was approved on a 5-0 vote. Panel members Little and Thompson were absent.

c. Approval of Final Design *Tree Hugger* (TEMPO) --Brent Baggett, Artist

Artist Brent Baggett presented his final design for Tree Hugger for Schroeter Park.

Panel member Hammonds made a motion to approve. Panel Member Walker seconded. Motion was approved on a 5-0 vote. Panel members Little and Thompson were absent.

d. Approval of Final Design *Window Walk* (TEMPO)
-- John Mark Luke, Artist

Artist John Mark Luke presented his final design for Window Walk for Riata Park.

Panel member Hammonds made a motion to approve with possible concrete footings. Panel Member Frank seconded. Motion was approved on a 5-0 vote. Panel members Little and Thompson were absent.

e. Approval of Final Design *Frozen Flow* (TEMPO)
-- Juan Deleon, Artist

Artist Juan Deleon presented his final design for Frozen Flow for Big Stacy Park.

Panel member Hammonds made a motion to approve with budget revisions to staff. Panel Member Frank seconded. Motion was approved on a 5-0 vote. Panel members Little and Thompson were absent.

f. Approval of Final Design *Dazzle House* (TEMPO)
-- Lindsay Palmer, Artist

Artist Lindsay Palmer presented her final design for Dazzle House for Rosewood Park.

Panel member Hammonds made a motion to approve with budget revisions to staff. Panel Member Walker seconded. Motion was approved on a 5-0 vote. Panel members Little and Thompson were absent.

g. Approval of Final Design *Below* (TEMPO)-- Jacob Villanueva and Jeff Clarke, Artists

Artists Jacob Villanueva and Jeff Clarke presented their final design for *Below* for Boggy Creek Greenbelt.

Panel member Hammonds made a motion to approve with budget revisions to staff. Panel Member Walker seconded. Motion was approved on a 5-0 vote. Panel members Little and Thompson were absent.

h. Approval of Artist and Alternate for 8th St. Streetscape Art in Public Places Project
--Jean Graham, AIPP Coordinator

Jean Graham presented the recommendation of the selection panel; artist team Stan Pipkin and Barna Kantor, and alternate; Sharon Keshishian and Daniel Hornung of Ion Art, for the 8th St. Streetscape project.

Panel member Frank made a motion to approve. Panel Member Daigle seconded. Motion was approved on a 5-0 vote. Panel members Little and Thompson were absent.

i. Approval of Artist and Alternate for 7th Street Obelisco at Northwestern Ave. Art in Public Places Project

-- Jean Graham, AIPP Coordinator

Jean Graham presented the recommendation of the selection panel: artist Werllayne Nunes, and alternate, Arleen Polite, for the 7th Street Obeliso project.

Panel member Hammonds made a motion to approve. Panel Member Walker seconded. Motion was approved on a 5-0 vote. Panel members Little and Thompson were absent.

7. STAFF BRIEFINGS

Carrie Brown presented an update on additions to the African American Cultural and Heritage Facility project.

Anna Bradley shared the graphic advertisement for three TEMPO projects for the E.A.S.T. catalog and the new Selection Panel meeting date for the Auditorium Shores Trailhead project.

Meghan Wells tentatively scheduled an AIPP Panel retreat for October 19, 2013.

8. GENERAL ANNOUNCEMENTS / FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS None

9. ADJOURNMENT

Vice Chair Castillo adjourned the meeting at 9:15 p.m. without objection.