

## Independent Citizens Redistricting Commission (ICRC) Wednesday November 13, 2013 6:30 pm The Lodge at 700 Dawson 700 Dawson Road Minutes

## Members in Attendance:

Magdalena Blanco Mariano Diaz-Miranda William Hewitt Ryan Rafols Carmen Llanes Pulido\* Arthur Lopez Maria Solis Harriett Harrow Stefan Haag

Rachel Truair Anna Saenz TJ Costello Henry Johnson

\*Commissioner Llanes Pulido arrived at 7:00 pm Member absent: Cathy Cocco

## Chair Blanco called the meeting to order at 6:45 pm.

- 1. Maria Solis moved and Rachel Truair seconded the approval of the Minutes of November 6, 2013 as corrected. The motion passed.
- 2. TJ Costello moved and Henry Johnson seconded that the Commission hold an Executive Session to consult with Legal Counsel in accordance with Texas Government Code Annotated §551.071 to discuss potential litigation. The motion passed. The Commission met in Executive Session. No formal action was taken.
- 3. TJ Costello moved and William Hewitt seconded the motion that in order to comply with Section H of the Charter and in order to defend the certification of the final product and all legal issues surrounding the said certification of the final product the Commission authorizes the executive director to budget and if not in the budget to go through processes to secure up to \$25,000.00 to utilize current legal counsel to assist the Commission in any legal issues surrounding said certification. The motion passed.
- 4. CITIZEN COMMUNICATION Public Forum The following citizens were present and signed up to speak: Jeff Jack Lorraine Atherton Fred McGhee Kathryn Kawazoe

**Jimmy Flannigan Dick Perrone Catherine Mohin Patty Sprinkle Susan Littleton Bryan King Cecilia Crossley** Jon Sullivan Joan Owens John Lawrence **Jim Schissler Toni House** John Strange Jean Mather Ken Jacob **Gopal Guthikonda** Sumit Dasgupta **Dawn Lewis Robin Abbott Carl Braun Chris Hayden Peck Young Stephen Beers Tom Nuckols** Sarah Campbell Sandra Guardiola Lori Barzano **Marion Mlotok Gary Hyatt David King Daniel Llanes Mary Ingle Eric Rangel** Joan Bartz **Patrick Vanharen** 

TJ Costello moved and William Hewitt seconded that the meeting be adjourned. The motion passed. Chair Blanco adjourned the meeting at 9:15 pm.