

#### Art in Public Places Panel

#### REGULAR MEETING MINUTES

The Art in Public Places Panel convened a regular meeting on Monday, August 4, 2014, at 201 E. 2<sup>nd</sup> Street, Austin, Texas.

Panel Member Frank called the Meeting to order at 6:08 p.m.

**Panel Members in Attendance:** Ilse Frank, Chris McCray, Jade Walker and Emily Little. Jaime Castillo (Chair) arrived at 6:16 p.m. Absent: Scott Daigle (AAC Liaison), Hollis Hammonds (Vice Chair)

**Staff in Attendance:** Meghan Wells, Anna Bradley, Carrie Brown, Susan Lambe (AIPP); Matt Coldwell, Janice White (ABIA); Filip Gecic (HHSD), Ray Minjarez, Craig Russell (Public Works); John Daniels, (APD)

## 1. CITIZENS COMMUNICATION: GENERAL

None.

### 2. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

a. The minutes for the regular meeting of 07/07/14 were approved on the motion of Panel Member Little. Panel Member Walker seconded. Motion passed 5-0-0. Panel Members Daigle and Hammonds were absent.

#### 3. CHAIR'S REPORT

None.

## 4. ARTS COMMISSION LIAISON REPORT

None.

### 5. PROPOSED DISCUSSION AND ACTION ITEMS

a. Mid Design review for Montopolis Neighborhood Center
--Amy Bunker, Travis Seeger and Foster Talge, artists

Anna Bradley gave a status update on the project and then introduced the artists, Amy Bunker, Travis Seeger and Foster Talge, who presented their three concepts for the artwork opportunity. Ray Minjarez and Filip Gecic made comments on behalf of the Health and Human Services Department. During the ensuing panel discussion, the Panel noted a preference for the *Pods* concept. No action was taken.

b. Approval of Artist Selection Process for Mounted Patrol Facility with Austin Police Department
--Anna Bradley

Anna Bradley introduced Public Works Project Manager, Craig Russell, and Austin Police Department Facilities and Planning Manager, John Daniels. Bradley then presented the prospectus for the Mounted Patrol Facility project and the prioritized selection panelist list. Discussion ensued.

Panel Member Little made a motion to approve the prospectus, and the prioritized selection panelist list, with notes. Panel Member Walker seconded. Motion passed 5-0-0. Panel Members Daigle and Hammonds were absent.

c. Approval of Artist Selection Process for Terminal/Apron Expansion and Improvements Project at Austin-Bergstrom International Airport

-- Carrie Brown, AIPP Coordinator

Carrie Brown introduced Janice White and Matt Coldwell with the Aviation Department, then presented the prospectus and a selection panelist list for the two ABIA projects on this month's agenda. Discussion ensued.

Panel Member Frank made a motion to approve the prospectus, and the selection panelist list, with notes. Panel Member Little seconded. Motion passed 5-0-0. Panel Members Daigle and Hammonds were absent.

 d. Approval of Artist Selection Process for Airport Entrance Project at Austin-Bergstrom International Airport

--Sue Lambe, AIPP Coordinator

With Janice White and Matt Coldwell (ABIA) present for comment, Sue Lambe presented the prospectus for the Airport Entrance project. Discussion ensued, noting that the evaluation criteria should reference experience working at a large scale, and to ensure that artists include their sub consultants' qualifications with their responses to the RFQ.

Panel Member Little made a motion to approve the prospectus, and the selection panelist list, with notes. Panel Member McCray seconded. Sue Lambe then showed the panel a quick presentation of inspirational artworks to further explore the artwork possibilities presented by this opportunity. Motion passed 5-0-0. Panel Members Daigle and Hammonds were absent.

e. Approval of Artist and Alternate for Pressler Street Extension Project
--Sue Lambe, AIPP Coordinator

Sue Lambe presented the results of the selection panel for the project, noting that four finalists were interviewed on July 8th. The artist team of Dharmesh Patel and Autumn Ewalt (Austin, TX) was chosen as the artist, and the artist team of Joel Nolan and Jeff Clarke (Austin, TX) was chosen as the alternate. Discussion ensued.

Panel Member Little made a motion to approve the selection panel results. Panel Member Frank seconded. Motion passed 5-0-0. Panel Members Daigle and Hammonds were absent.

f. Approval of Artist and Alternate for Downtown Austin Wayfinding Project
--Carrie Brown, AIPP Coordinator

Carrie Brown presented the results of the selection panel for the project, noting that three finalists were interviewed on July 22<sup>nd</sup>. The artist team of Chris Gannon, Chadwick Wood and Brockett Davidson (Austin, TX) was chosen as the artist, and the artist team of Johnny Walker and Justin Marks (Austin, TX) was chosen as the alternate. Carrie Brown then showed the selected artists' video describing their project. Discussion ensued.

Panel Member Walker made a motion to approve the selection panel results. Panel Member Little seconded. Motion passed 5-0-0. Panel Members Daigle and Hammonds were absent.

g. Discussion and Possible Approval of Pre-Qualified List/Roster Selection Process --Meghan Wells, AIPP Administrator

Meghan Wells discussed the current status of this effort, and then asked Anna Bradley to share her research into how other public art programs use of their pre-qualified artist list or artist roster. Anna shared the results of phone calls with public art administrators in several other cities. Discussion ensued. It was agreed to continue discussing this process at the upcoming Panel Retreat.

# 6. STAFF BRIEFINGS

Panel members discussed two possible dates for a Panel retreat, choosing September 27 as first choice and September 13 as second choice dates to hold the retreat. Meghan Wells stated she will look for a suitable location and get back to the Panel as to the best date. Anna Bradley shared that the 2013-2014 TEMPO program is completed with the removal of Jamie Panzer's *Binary Branch* last week. Discussion ensued regarding the success of the TEMPO program and how to best continue the program in the future. Sue Lambe gave an update on the status of the Seaholm Wall.

# **7. GENERAL ANNOUNCEMENTS / FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS** None.

# 8. ADJOURNMENT

Chair Castillo adjourned the meeting at 8:47 p.m. without objection.