CITY PLANNING COMMISSION Austin, Texas Worksession -- October 17, 1978

The Worksession of the Planning Commission was called to order at 5:30 p.m. in the City Council Chambers.

Present

Leo Danze

Freddie Dixon

Sally Shipman Bernard Snyder Bill Stoll

Mary Ethel Schechter

Also Present

Richard Lillie, Director of Planning Craig Bell, Planner John Meinrath, Legal Department Maureen McReynolds, Director OERM

Absent

Jim Vier

Miguel Guerrero Sid Jagger

Planning Commission--Austin, Texas

Worksession October 17, 1978

COVERED BRIDGE: Water and Wastewater Approach Main

Mrs. Shipman moved this approach main be denied. Based on the data presented it appears that the cost exceeds the benefits to the community as a whole, it does have implications for future annexation and as such is not compatible with the Comprehensive Plan, it is not contiguous to the existing city limits, it is in Priority Area IV, and the developer does have a state approved permit for wastewater treatment facility. Mr. Dixon seconded the motion.

AYE: Dixon, Schechter, Shipman, Snyder, and Stoll. NAY: Danze. ABSTAIN: Vier.

Mr. Dixon then made a motion to deny the water approach main for the Covered Bridge Subdivision. Motion was seconded by Mrs. Shipman. Mr. Snyder offered a substitute motion and Mrs. Schechter seconded the motion to grant with the statement added that since the developer has offered to pay the total cost. This motion failed by a vote of 3-3.

AYE: Schechter, Snyder, and Danze. NAY: Dixon, Shipman, and Stoll. ABSTAIN: Vier.

The Commission voted on the original motion to deny the water approach main. The motion failed by a vote of 3-3.

AYE: Dixon, Shipman, and Stoll. NAY: Danze, Schechter, and Snyder. ABSTAIN: Vier.

ZONING ORDINANCE

Mr. Dixon moved and Mrs. Schechter seconded the motion that the Commission recommend to the City Council that whatever funds are available (ending balance or H.D.C.) be used to hire consultant to assist the City at critical time for preparation of the new zoning ordinance, etc., by October of 1975.

THE VOTE WAS UNANIMOUS.

Richard R. Lillie, Executive Secretary