

## **Austin Airport Advisory Commission**

# REGULAR MEETING MINUTES

September 9, 2014

The Austin Airport Advisory Commission convened in a regular meeting on September 9, 2014 at 2716 Spirit of Texas Drive, in Room 160 in Austin, Texas.

## **Board Members in Attendance:**

Dale Murphy, Chair Ernest Saulmon Steven Hart Teddy McDaniel, III James Kelsey

## **Board Members Absent:**

D'Ann Johnson, Secretary George Farris

### **Staff in Attendance:**

Susana Carbajal, Becky Nagel, Robert Hengst, Stephanie Tucker, Phillip Bays, Michelle Moheet, Matt Coldwell, Brian Levy and Chris Carter

## **Others Present:**

Edward Campos, City of Austin, Contract Management Matthew Leiner, Atkins Chris Coons, KSA Josh Crawford, Garver Sean Brennan, Reynolds Smith & Hill Byron Chavez, KSA

## **Welcome & Call the Meeting to Order:**

Dale Murphy called the meeting to order at 5:00 p.m.

#### 1. CITIZENS COMMUNICATIONS:

None.

#### 2. APPROVAL OF MINUTES FOR JULY 8, 2014.

Motion to approve the minutes with a correction to the second line to change the year of 2013 to 2014. Motion made by Ernest Saulmon and seconded by James Kelsey. Motion passed 4-0-3 (Commission Members D'Ann Johnson, George Farris and Teddy McDaniel, III were absent at this vote).

#### 3. STAFF BRIEFING, REPORTS AND PRESENTATIONS

a) Planning & Engineering Capital Improvement Project Status Report – Robert Hengst gave updates on some major projects on the list. Phillip Bays gave an update on the monitors and offer a tour in 4 weeks to the Commission. Matt Coldwell updated the AIPP projects.

Teddy McDaniel, III arrived at 5:02 p.m.

- b) Airport Tenant Updates was presented by Stephanie Tucker, Aviation Department.
- c) Finance & Operations Reports was presented by Brian Levy, Financial Consultant, Aviation Department.
- d) GTSA Transactions Report for August, 2014 was presented by Royce Traywick, Aviation Department.

#### 4. ABIA Action Items

a) Authorize negotiation and execution of a professional services agreement with the following three staff recommended firms or one of the other qualified responders: KSA ENGINEERS, INC.; REYNOLDS, SMITH AND HILLS, INC.; and ATKINS NORTH AMERICA, INC., to RFQ solicitation number CLPM157 for the 2015 Austin-Bergstrom International Airport (ABIA) Architectural and Engineering Services Rotation List for an estimated period of two years or until financial authorization is expended, with the total amount not to exceed \$10,500,000 divided evenly among the three firms.

Motion to approve action item made by Teddy McDaniel, III and seconded by Steven Hart. Motion passed 4-0-1 (Commission Chair Dale Murphy recused himself from this vote. Commission Members D'Ann Johnson and George Farris were absent at this vote.)

b) Authorize negotiation and execution of a set of Job Order Assignments, which may exceed \$500,000.00 each, for the phased renovation of six sets of restrooms within the Austin-Bergstrom International Airport over the next two-years to ensure the continuity of essential public services and terminal operations for a total amount not-to-exceed \$3,700,000.00, inclusive of contingency.

A revised RCA was presented to the Commission with the following language:

Authorize negotiation and execution of a set of Job Order Assignments, which may exceed \$500,000.00 each, for the phased renovation of two sets of restrooms within the Austin-Bergstrom International Airport over the next two-years to

ensure the continuity of essential public services and terminal operations for a total amount not-to-exceed \$1,230,000.00 inclusive of contingency.

Motion to approve action item made by James Kelsey and seconded by Steven Hart. Motion passed 5-0-2 (Commission Members D'Ann Johnson and George Farris were absent at this vote).

c) Authorize negotiation and execution of an agreement with the Federal Aviation Administration for construction phase inspection services for the FAA Duct Bank Relocation Project in the amount of \$144,223.14, plus a contingency of \$14,422.31 for a not-to-exceed amount of \$158,645.45.

Motion to approve action item made by James Kelsey and seconded by Teddy McDaniel, III. Motion passed 5-0-2 (Commission Members D'Ann Johnson and George Farris were absent at this vote).

d) Authorize award and execution of a 36-month requirements supply agreement with JAE GROUP, Inc., to provide crushed rock in an amount not to exceed \$804,681 with three 12-month extension options in an amount not to exceed \$268,227 per extension option, for a total contract amount not to exceed \$1,609.362.

Motion to approve action item made by Steven Hart and seconded by James Kelsey. Motion passed 5-0-2 (Commission Members D'Ann Johnson and George Farris were absent at this vote).

e) Authorize award and execution of various supply and service contracts during the Fiscal Year 2014-2015 through the STATE OF TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF INFORMATION RESOURCES (DIR) cooperative purchasing program for the purchase of computer, telephone and network hardware and related maintenance in an amount not to exceed \$42,543.727.

Motion to approve action item made by Ernest Saulmon and seconded by James Kelsey. Motion passed 5-0-2 (Commission Members D'Ann Johnson and George Farris were absent at this vote).

f) Authorize award and execution of various service contracts during the Fiscal Year 2014-2015 through the STATE OF TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF INFORMATION RESOURCES (DIR) cooperative purchasing program for the purchase of technology services in an amount not to exceed \$48,327,060.

Motion to approve action item made by Steven Hart and seconded by Teddy McDaniel, III. Motion passed 5-0-2 (Commission Members D'Ann Johnson and George Farris were absent at this vote).

g) Authorize award and execution of various supply and service contracts during the Fiscal Year 2014-2015 through the STATE OF TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF INFORMATION RESOURCES (DIR) cooperative purchasing program for the purchase of computer software and software maintenance in an amount not to exceed \$22,645.124.

Motion to approve action item made by Ernest Saulmon and seconded by Steven Hart. Motion passed 5-0-2 (Commission Members D'Ann Johnson and George Farris were absent at this vote).

h) Authorize award, negotiation, and execution of 36-month requirements service contracts with Vidtronix Ticket and Label, LLC. to provide shared use supplies and spare parts for Vidtronix printers in an amount not to exceed \$287,340, with three 12-month extension options in an amount not to exceed \$95,780 per extension option, for a total contract amount not to exceed \$574,680, Paper Systems Incorporated to provide shared use supplies and spare parts for IER printers in an amount not to exceed \$72,750, with three 12-month extension options in an amount not to exceed \$24,250 per extension option, for a total contract amount not to exceed \$145,500, and POS Supply Solutions, Inc. to provide thermal paper for Zebra TTP2030 in an amount not to exceed \$61,536, with three 12-month extension options in an amount not to exceed \$20,512 per extension option, for a total contract amount not to exceed \$123,072.

Motion to approve action item made by Teddy McDaniel, III and seconded by James Kelsey. Motion passed 5-0-2 (Commission Members D'Ann Johnson and George Farris were absent at this vote).

#### 5. NEW BUSINESS

None.

## 6. OLD BUSINESS

7. FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS

a) Status of action items upon which the Commission has made a recommendation to Council.

(Please note the progress of the following items)

None.

**ADJOURNMENT.** Motion to adjourn was made by Steven Hart and seconded by James Kelsey. Motion passed 5-0-2 (Commission Members D'Ann Johnson and George Farris were absent at this vote).

Meeting was adjourned at 5:43 p.m.

Date of next meeting: October 14, 2014

