RESOLUTION NO. 20141230-001

WHEREAS, on November 4, 2014, a general municipal election was held for the purpose of electing a Mayor (at large) and City Council Members (single member districts) for District 1, District 2, District 3, District 4, District 5, District 6, District 7, District 8, District 9, and District 10; and

WHEREAS, the canvass of the November 4, 2014 general municipal election reflected that no candidate received a majority of all votes cast in the election for the office of Mayor or for the offices of City Council Member for District 1, District 3, District 4, District 6, District 7, District 8, District 9, and District 10; and

WHEREAS, in the election for the office of City Council Member for District 9, Chris Riley timely withdrew as a candidate from the runoff election; and

WHEREAS, the Austin City Charter states that, in an election for a place on the Council, if no candidate receives a majority of all votes cast for such place at the election, the Council shall immediately upon declaring the official results of the election call for a runoff election for every place to which no one was elected; and

WHEREAS, the City Council adopted Ordinance No. 20141118-002 calling a runoff election to elect a Mayor (at large), and City Council Members (single member districts) for District 1, District 3, District 4, District 6, District 7, District 8, and District 10; and

WHEREAS, a runoff election was held on December 16, 2014; and

WHEREAS, the returns of the December 16, 2014 runoff election have been made to the Council and show the votes for Mayor and City Council Members were cast as follows:

MAYOR

Mike Martinez	25,639	
Steve Adler	52,159	
CITY COUNCIL MEMBER DISTRICT 1		
DeWayne Lofton	1,469	
Ora Houston	4,241	
CITY COUNCIL MEMBER DISTRICT 3		
Sabino "Pio" Renteria	2,558	
Susana R. Almanza	1,724	
CITY COUNCIL MEMBER DISTRICT 4		
Laura Pressley	1,563	
Gregorio "Greg" Casar	2,854	
CITY COUNCIL MEMBER DISTRICT 6		
Don Zimmerman	4,012	
James "Jimmy" Flannigan	3,821	
CITY COUNCIL MEMBER DISTRICT 7		
J.E. "Jeb" Boyt	2,686	
Leslie Pool	5,270	
CITY COUNCIL MEMBER DISTRICT 8		
Ellen Troxclair	6,234	

Page 2 of 4

Ed Scruggs

6,178

CITY COUNCIL MEMBER DISTRICT 10

Sheri Gallo 8,927

Mandy Dealey 7,380

WHEREAS, Steve Adler received a majority of all votes cast at the election for the office of Mayor; and

WHEREAS, Ora Houston received a majority of all votes cast at the election for the office of City Council Member District 1; and

WHEREAS, Sabino "Pio" Renteria received a majority of all votes cast at the election for the office of City Council Member District 3; and

WHEREAS, Gregorio "Greg" Casar received a majority of all votes cast at the election for the office of City Council Member District 4; and

WHEREAS, Don Zimmerman received a majority of all votes cast at the election for the office of City Council Member District 6; and

WHEREAS, Leslie Pool received a majority of all votes cast at the election for the office of City Council Member District 7; and

WHEREAS, Ellen Troxclair received a majority of all votes cast at the election for the office of City Council Member District 8; and

WHEREAS, Sheri Gallo received a majority of all votes cast at the election for the office of City Council Member District 10; NOW, THEREFORE,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF AUSTIN:

The Council finds that all of the recitals contained in this resolution are true and adopts them as findings of fact by this governing body.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED:

The Council finds that the results of the runoff election as tabulated and canvassed reflect the votes cast at the election.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED:

The Council accepts and approves the returns for the runoff election, as tabulated, received, and canvassed, and declares that the following persons are declared elected and may qualify for the office indicated for terms that begin January 6, 2015:

Mayor

Steve Adler

City Council Member District 1	Ora Houston
City Council Member District 3	Sabino "Pio" Renteria
City Council Member District 4	Gregorio "Greg" Casar
City Council Member District 6	Don Zimmerman
City Council Member District 7	Leslie Pool
City Council Member District 8	Ellen Troxclair
City Council Member District 10	Sheri Gallo

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED:

With this canvass, Council is making official the precinct returns received from the counties.

ADOPTED: December 30 , 2014 ATTEST: ALLES

00000 Jannette S. Goodall City Clerk

Page 4 of 4