

SPECIAL CALLED MEETING MONDAY, FEBRUARY 9, 2015

The City Council of Austin, Texas convened in a Special Called Meeting on Monday, February 9, 2015, City Hall, 301 W. Second Street, Austin, Texas.

Mayor Adler called the meeting to order at 9:13 a.m.

1. Council discussion addressing water issues, neighborhood issues, and transportation and mobility matters within the City of Austin.

Policy Workshop Topic One – Water

City Staff – Greg Meszaros, Director, Austin Water Utility (AWU)

Panel Discussion – John Hofmann, Lower Colorado River Authority (LCRA) Executive Vice President of Water; Sharlene Leurig, Water Resource Task Force Chair; Paul Terrill, Attorney; Daron K Butler, Austin Area Research Organization (AARO) Water and Energy Committee; Bill Bunch, Save our Springs; Mickey Fishbeck, Water and Wastewater Commission Member, Joint Financial Subcommittee Chair.

There was direction for staff, Greg Meszaros, Director AWU by Council Member Ora Houston to provide information regarding the University of Austin charge of water service and to provide information regarding discharge of the Universities pool into Waller Creek.

Other Voices – Jennifer Walker, Sierra Club Lone Star Chapter; Paul Robbins, Environmentalist; Joseph Beal, AARO Past Chari, Water and Energy Committee; David Foster, Clean Water Action.

Mayor Adler recessed the meeting at 11:38 a.m.

Mayor Adler called the meeting back to order at 3:14p.m.

Policy Workshop Topic Two - Transportation and Mobility

City Staff – Rob Spillar, Director, Austin Transportation Department; Greg Malatek, Austin District Engineer, Texas Department of Transportation (TXDOT);

Panel Discussion – Jeremy Martin, Senior Vice-President, Government Relations and Regional Infrastructure, Austin Chamber; Linda Watson, CEO, Capital Metropolitan Transportation Authority (CapMetro); Ashby Johnson, Executive Director, Capital Area Metropolitan Planning

Organization (CAMPO); Jim Skaggs, Coalition on Sustainable Transportation (COST); Julio Gonzalez Altamirano, AURA.

Other Voices – Carol Reifsnyder, Executive Director, BikeAustin; Sid Covington, Board Chair, Lone Star Rail, Glenn Gadbois, Moveability Austin; Michael McDaniel, Frog Design; Sara LeVine, ATX Safer Streets

Mayor Adler adjourned the meeting at 5:34 p.m. without objection.

The minutes were approved on this the 26th day of February, 2015 on Council Member Gallo's motion, Council Member Zimmerman's second on a 11-0 vote.