

## AUSTIN CITY COUNCIL MINUTES

## SPECIAL CALLED MEETING MONDAY, MARCH 23, 2015

The City Council of Austin, Texas convened in a Special Called Meeting on Monday, March 23, 2015, City Hall, 301 W. Second Street, Austin, Texas.

Mayor Pro Tem Tovo called the meeting to order at 9:09 a.m. Mayor Adler and Council Member Garza were absent.

1. Council discussion regarding how the City responds to citizen requests for service.

City Staff – Ray Baray, Chief of Staff, City Manager's Office, Cindi Perez, Process Manager, Austin 3-1-1, Carl Smart, Director, Austin Code Department, Darryl Jamail, Commander, Austin Police Department and Valerie Harris, Executive Assistant, City Manager's Office.

Other Voices – Sean Garretson, Randy Chapman, Don Leighton-Burwell, Johnny Limon and Cora Whiteside.

Direction was given to staff to review Code Compliance business processes in advance of the budget hearings and to recommend improvements.

Mayor Pro Tem Tovo recessed the meeting at 11:03 a.m. without objection.

Mayor Pro Tem Tovo called the meeting back to order at 12:37 p.m.

2. Council discussion regarding the City's approach to public safety service delivery.

City Staff – Rey Arellano, Assistant City Manager, City Manager's Office

Panel Discussion – Roger Jefferies, Travis County Justice & Public Safety Executive, Margo Frazier, Austin Police Monitor, Cary Roberts, Executive Director, Greater Austin Crime Commission, Ramey Ko, Former Associate Judge for Austin Municipal Court and Former Member of the Public Safety Commission, Gary Bledsoe, President, Texas NAACP, Josh Jackson, Regional Disaster Program Officer, Red Cross and Mike Levy, EMS and Wildfire Constituent.

Other Voices – Mike Manor, Building Bridges Brick by Brick, David Escamilla, Travis County Attorney and Community Justice Council Chair and Nicole Holt, Executive Director Texas Standing Tall

Mayor Pro Tem Tovo adjourned the meeting at 2:35 p.m. without objection.

The minutes were approved on this the 2nd day of April, 2015 on Council Member Zimmerman's motion, Council Member Houston's second on an 11-0 vote.