

ENVIRONMENTAL COMMISSION MEETING MINUTES Wednesday, August 5 2015

The Environmental Commission convened in a public meeting on Wednesday, August 5, 2015 at City Hall Boards & Commissions Meeting Room, 301 W. 2nd Street, Austin, Texas 78701.

Commissioners in Attendance: Andrew Creel Marisa Perales Erin Gooch Pam Thompson Mary Ann Neely Michael Moya Peggy Maceo Hank Smith Mary Gay Maxwell Richard Grayum

Commissioners Absent: Brian Smith

Staff in Attendance:

Atha Phillips Brent Bellinger Chris Herrington Chuck Lesniak George Adams Jerry Rusthoven Keith Mars Liz Johnston Sue Barnett Sylvia Pope

1. CALL TO ORDER

Chuck Lesniak, Environmental Officer, called the meeting to order at 6:06 p.m.

2. COMMISSION BUSINESS AND POSSIBLE ACTION

a. Officer Elections

The motion to nominate Mary Gay Maxwell as Chair of the Environmental Commission was made by Commissioner Mary Ann Neely and seconded by Commissioner Peggy Maceo. Vote 9-0-0-2. Brian Smith was absent and Michael Moya was off the dais.

The motion to nominate Marisa Perales as Vice Chair of the Environmental Commission was made by Commissioner Peggy Maceo and seconded by Commissioner Pam Thompson. Vote 9-0-0-2. Brian Smith was absent and Michael Moya was off the dais. The motion to nominate Hank Smith as Secretary of the Environmental Commission was made by Commissioner Andrew Creel and seconded by Commissioner Richard Grayum. A substitute motion to postpone the nomination of a secretary to a future meeting when all commissioners are in attendance was made by Commissioner Mary Ann Neely and seconded by Commissioner Marisa Perales. Vote 9-0-0-2. Commissioner Brian Smith was absent and Commissioner Michael Moya was off the dais.

3. CITIZEN COMMUNICATION: GENERAL

Speakers should sign up to speak prior to the meeting being called to order; you will receive a three-minute allotment to discuss topics not posted on the agenda.

- There was one speaker:
 - Chris Green-Martinez spoke on the global march against chemtrails and geoengineering.

4. APPROVAL OF MINUTES AND ACTION

a. Approve the minutes of the Environmental Board regular meeting of June 17, 2015. The approval of the minutes from the June 17, 2015 Environmental Board meeting was made on Commissioner Hank Smith's motion and on Commissioner Mary Ann Neely's second. Vote 10-0-0-1. Commissioner Brian Smith was absent.

- b. Environmental Officer's Report and hot topics Chuck Lesniak, Environmental Officer
 - i. Discuss Commission backup material distribution

No action taken. Item posted as conducted.

ii. Discuss Commission meeting location

No action taken. Item posted as conducted.

5. DISCUSSION AND POSSIBLE ACTION

a. Discuss and consider for recommendation the City of Austin contract with Austin Youth River Watch – R. Brent Lyles, Executive Director, Austin Youth River Watch

The recommendation for approval was made on Commissioner Hank Smith's motion and seconded by Commissioner Pam Thompson. Vote 10-0-0-1. Commissioner Brian Smith was absent.

6. STAFF BRIEFINGS

a. Land Development Code Common Terms and Acronyms – Chuck Lesniak, Watershed Protection Department

No action taken. Item posted as conducted.

 b. Overview of Land Use Review and the Development Process – George Adams, Andy Linseisen, Sue Barnett, Development Services Department, Chuck Lesniak, Watershed Protection Department

No action taken. Item posted as conducted.

7. PUBLIC HEARINGS AND POSSIBLE ACTION

 a. Name: 8818 Big View #4 SP-2014-0227D
Applicant: Raj and Santosh Singla; Bruce Aupperle, P.E., engineer
Location: 8818 Big View Drive #4
Staff Reviewer: Atha Phillips, Development Services Department/Environmental Reviewer; Rosemary Avila, Development Services Department/Case Manager; Brent Bellinger, Watershed Protection Department/ERM Staff **Watershed:** Lake Austin (Water Supply Rural), Drinking Water Protection Zone **Request:** To allow dredging up to 56 cy. 25-8-652(E).

Staff Recommendation: Deny

The recommendation to postpone the item was made on Commissioner Mary Ann Neely's motion and on Commissioner Hank Smith's second. Vote 10-0-0-1. Commissioner Brian Smith was absent.

b. Name: Caven Boat Dock SP-2015-0202DS

Applicant: Caven Hubbard Scott Jr Trust; Phil Moncada agent Location: 2806 Scenic Drive Staff Reviewer: Atha Phillips, Development Services Department/Environmental Reviewer; Christine Barton-Holmes, Development Services Department/Case Manager; Sylvia Pope, Watershed Protection Department/ERM Staff

Watershed: Taylor Slough North (Water Supply Suburban), Drinking Water Protection Zone **Request:** To allow the construction of a boat dock within a 150 foot Critical Environmental Feature buffer (Canyon Rimrock/Bluff). 25-8-281(C)(2) (B).

Staff Recommendation: Approve

The recommendation for approval was made on Commissioner Hank Smith's motion and on Commissioner Mary Ann Neely's second. Vote 10-0-0-1. Commissioner Brian Smith was absent.

c. Tree Protection: Regulations and Review Process – Keith Mars, Development Services Department

No action taken. Item posted as conducted.

d. Planned Unit Developments – Wendy Rhoades, Planning and Zoning Department, Chuck Lesniak, Watershed Protection Department
No action taken. Item posted as conducted.

8. **COMMITTEE REPORTS**

a. Open Space, Environment, and Sustainability Council Committee

b. Other reports from Commissioners

9. NEW BUSINESS – Future agenda items

1. Final report from the Green Infrastructure working group

10. ADJOURNMENT Chair Mary Gay Maxwell adjourned the meeting at 9:56pm.

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 4 days before the meeting date. For additional information, please call **Jessica Coronado**, Watershed Protection Department, at (512) 974-3443; TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711.

For more information on the Environmental Board, please contact Jessica Coronado, Watershed Protection Department, at (512) 974-3443.