

ETHICS REVIEW COMMISSION MINUTES

REGULAR MEETING Tuesday, July 28, 2015

The Ethics Review Commission ("Commission") convened in a regular meeting on Tuesday, July 28, 2015, at City Hall, 301 W. 2nd Street, Room 1029, in Austin, Texas.

Assistant City Attorney Cynthia Tom called the meeting to order at 6:08 p.m.

Commission members in attendance: Austin Kaplan, Peter Einhorn, Donna Beth McCormick, Meagan Harding, Matthew Lamon, J. Michael Ohueri, Paul Quinzi, Kenneth Smith, Dennis Speight, Robert "Ben" Stratmann, and Brian Thompson.

Staff in Attendance: Assistant City Attorney Cynthia Tom, Staff Liaison Jessica Aranda, City Clerk Jannette Goodall, Acting Deputy City Auditor Jason Hadavi, Senior Audit Investigators Matthew Clifton, Nathan Wiebe, and Temitope Eletu-Odibo.

Item No. 1.a.: The Commission's executive liaison, the Commission's staff liaison, and other City staff introduced themselves to the Commission.

Item No. 2.a.: Assistant City Attorney Tom took up Item No. 2.a. out of order. All Commission members introduced themselves.

Item No. 1.b.: Assistant City Attorney Tom explained the duties, mission, and jurisdiction of the Commission.

Item No. 1.c.: Assistant City Attorney Tom explained the process and status of revising the Commission's bylaws. Revisions to the bylaws will be approved at the next special called meeting.

Item No. 1.d.: City Clerk Goodall presented background information on the proposal for electronic City Council campaign finance filing and a searchable online database.

Item No. 2.b.: Commission Member McCormick made a motion to nominate Commission Member Kaplan as chair, which was seconded by Commission Member Speight. The motion was passed on an 11-0 vote.

Commission Member Speight made a motion to nominate Commission Member Einhorn as vice chair, which was seconded by Commission Member Smith. The motion was passed on an 11-0 vote. The Commission discussed adding new officer roles. Chair Kaplan proposed voting on amendments to bylaws and new officer roles at the next Commission meeting.

- Item No. 3.a.: Chair Kaplan took up 3.a. out of order. Vice Chair Einhorn and Commission Member Speight updated the Commission on the working group's activities regarding proposed revisions to Chapter 2-2 of City Code (Campaign Finance) and Article III, Section 8 of the City Charter (Limits on Campaign Contributions and Expenditures).
- Item No. 3.b.: Chair Kaplan took up Item No. 3.b. out of order. Chair Kaplan and Vice Chair Einhorn updated the Commission on the working group's activities regarding proposed revisions to Chapter 2-7 of City Code (Ethics and Financial Disclosure).
- Item No. 3.c.: Chair Kaplan took up Item No. 3.c. out of order. Commission Member McCormick and Chair Kaplan updated the Commission on the working group's activities regarding proposed revisions to Chapter 4-8 of City Code (Regulation of Lobbyists) and the public comment working group meeting that took place on June 3, 2015.
- Item No. 2.c.: Vice Chair Einhorn made the motion to reauthorize the working group tasked with reviewing and proposing revisions to Chapter 2-2 of City Code (Campaign Finance) and Article III, Section 8 of the City Charter (Limits on Campaign Contributions and Expenditures) to be compromised of Commission Member Quinzi, Commission Member Stratmann, Commission Member Thompson, and Commission Member Harding, which was seconded by Commission Member Speight. The motion was passed on an 11-0 vote.
- Item No. 2.d.: Commission Member Stratmann made the motion to reauthorize the working group tasked with reviewing and proposing revisions to Chapter 2-7 of City Code (Ethics and Financial Disclosure) comprised of Commission Member Ohueri, Chair Kaplan, and Vice Chair Einhorn, which was seconded by Commission Member Harding. The motion passed on an 11-0 vote.
- Item No. 2.e.: Commission Member Smith made the motion to reauthorize the working group tasked with reviewing and proposing revisions to Chapter 4-8 of City Code (Regulation of Lobbyists) comprised of Commission Member McCormick, Commission Member Smith, Commission Member Lamon, and Commission Member Speight, which was seconded by Commission Member Quinzi. The motion passed on an 11-0 vote.
- Item No. 2.f.: The Commission discussed the revised City campaign finance form Schedule ATX. 1. Commission Member Speight made the motion to approve the revised form, seconded by Commission Member Smith. The motion passed on a 10-0 vote, with Commission Member Harding off the dais.
- Item No. 4.: Vice Chair Einhorn made a motion to approve the Commission meeting minutes for: the November 12, 2014 Special Called Meeting; the December 18, 2014 Special Called Meeting; the January 5, 2015 Special Called Meeting; the January 27, 2015 Regular Meeting with the addition of the word "Member" added to page two, paragraph five between "Commission" and "Hardman-Dingle;" and the April 28, 2015 Regular Meeting. Commission Member Stratmann seconded the motion. The motion was approved on an 11-0 vote.
- Item No. 5: There were no speakers for general citizen communication.

Item No. 6: The Commission discussed the following future agenda items: complaint preliminary hearing, update from staff on electronic campaign finance filing initiative, reports from working groups, and revision of Commission bylaws.

The meeting adjourned at 8:47 p.m.