

# FLOOD MITIGATION TASK FORCE DRAFT MINUTES

REGULAR MEETING (September 22, 2015)

The Flood Mitigation Task Force convened in a regular meeting on September 22, 2015 at One Texas Center, 505 Barton Springs Road in Austin, Texas.

#### Task Force Members in Attendance:

Ray Canfield, Rolando Delgado, John Gleason, Dale Gray, Robert Henneke, Robert Kibbie, Rose Marie Klee, Ken Jacob, Rollin MacRae, Elloa Matthews, Carol Olewin, John Pitts, Matt Rienstra, and Dorsey Twidwell

**Staff in Attendance:** Robert Alvarado, Will Burdick, Morgan Byars, Chris Chen, Jean Drew, Kelly Gagnon, Joydeep Goswami, Jose Guerrero, Carol Haywood, Chris Herrington, Matt Hollon, Tanner Hunt, Roxanne Jackson, Pam Kearfott, Lynne Lightsey, Karl McArthur, Jorge Morales, Keith Noble, Joe Pantalion, Katie Pfeil, Janet Pichette, Todd Pomroy, Scott Prinsen, Kathy Rock, Melinda Ruby, Kevin Shunk, Eric Stager, Glen Taffinder, Tina Van Wie, Mapi Vigil, Reem Zoun

#### 1. CALL TO ORDER

Watershed Protection Department Acting Director Joe Pantalion called the Task Force Meeting to order at 6:15 p.m.

#### 2. CITIZEN COMMUNICATION: GENERAL

There were no speakers.

#### 3. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

N/A (first meeting of task force)

#### 4. STAFF BRIEFINGS & PRESENTATIONS

a. The Welcome and Introductions presentation was made by Council Member Ann Kitchen, District 5, and Joe Pantalion, Acting Director, Watershed Protection Department.

No action taken. Item conducted as posted.

b. The Open Government & Ethics Issues presentation was made by Sabine Romero, Attorney Senior, Law Department.

No action taken. Item conducted as posted.

c. The Short History of Austin Flooding presentation was made by Matt Hollon, Environmental Conservation Program Manager, Watershed Protection Department.

No action taken. Item conducted as posted.

d. The Detailed Discussion of Resolution Scope Items presentation was made by Matt Hollon, Environmental Conservation Program Manager, Watershed Protection Department.

No action taken. Item conducted as posted.

e. The Overview of Potential Policy Discussions for Task Force presentation was made by Matt Hollon, Environmental Conservation Program Manager, Watershed Protection Department.

No action taken. Item conducted as posted.

## 5. VOTING ITEMS FOR TASK FORCE

- a. Election of Officers
- b. Set Month-by-Month Schedule

A motion to defer both voting items until the October 20, 2015 task force meeting was made by task force member Dale Gray and seconded by \_\_\_\_\_\_\_ on a 14-0-1 vote with task force member Ana Aguirre absent.

A motion to: schedule a meeting on a date to be determined by staff, but prior to October 20, where the task force members 1) elect officers; 2) establish and assign task force members to working groups; 3) receive information from staff regarding those working groups; 4) set future dates for task force meetings; and 5) set an agenda for the next October meeting—was made by task force member Matt Rienstra and seconded by Elloa Matthews on a 14-0-1 vote with task force member Ana Aguirre absent.

### 6. ADJOURN

Watershed Protection Department Acting Director Joe Pantalion adjourned the meeting at 8:30 p.m. without objection.