

COMMUNITY TECHNOLOGY & TELECOMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION

http://www.austintexas.gov/cttc

MINUTES

Regular Meeting - September 9, 2015 505 Barton Spring Road - Austin, TX 78701

Please go to http://www.austintexas.gov/cityclerk/boards commissions/meetings/10 1.htm for backup material associated with this agenda.

All ATXN (Channel 6) programming is cablecast on Time Warner and Grande cable channel 6, AT&T U-Verse Channel 99 and webcast online. Over 20 meetings per month, including this commission meeting, are available on demand online, typically within a few hours of cablecast. Schedules and video at: http://www.austintexas.gov/department/channel-6

CURRENT COMMISSION MEMBERS:

Natalie Cofield - Mayor Steve Adler
Betsy Greenberg - Mayor Pro Tem Kathie Tovo, District 9
Pinaki Ghosh - Council Member Ora Houston, District 1
Narissa Johnson - Council Member Delia Garza, District 2
Malcolm Yeatts - Council Member Sabino "Pio" Renteria, District 3
Benjamin Graham - Council Member Gregorio Casar, District 4
Dave Floyd - Council Member Ann Kitchen, District 5
Lemuel Williams - Council Member Don Zimmerman, District 6
Mateo Clarke - Council Member Leslie Pool, District 7
Tanner Vaughan - Council Member Ellen Troxclair, District 8
Sumit DasGupta - Council Member Sheri Gallo, District 10

Commission Members Present:

Betsy Greenberg Pinaki Ghosh Narissa Johnson Malcolm Yeatts Benjamin Graham Dave Floyd Lemuel Williams -Mateo Clarke Tanner Vaughan Sumit DasGupta

Commission Member Absent:

Natalie Cofield

Staff in attendance:

Paul Lewis John Speirs Sharla Chamberlain Kirby Aull Jane Reina

CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order at 6:34 pm

1. CITIZEN COMMUNICATION: GENERAL

The first ten speakers signed up prior to the meeting being called to order will each be allowed a three-minute allotment to address their concerns regarding items not posted on the agenda.

No citizens signed up for general citizen communications.

2. APPROVAL OF MINUTES – June 10, 2015 and August 12, 2015

Minutes from the Commission regular meeting of June 10, 2015 were approved on Commissioner DasGupta's motion; Commissioner Vaughan's second on a vote of 8-0. (Commissioner Johnson arrived after item 2. Commissioner Yeatts arrived after item 3.c.; Commissioner Cofield absent.)

Minutes from the Commission regular meeting of August 12, 2015 were approved on Commissioner Vaughan's motion; Commissioner Floyd's second on a vote of 8-0. (Commissioner Johnson arrived after item 2. Commissioner Yeatts arrived after item 3.c.; Commissioner Cofield absent)

- 3. STAFF BRIEFINGS (Discussion and Possible Action)
 - a. Innovation Office update. (Kerry O'Connor, City of Austin Innovation Officer)

This item was postponed until the October 14, 2015 regular meeting.

b. City's IT capabilities and governance process (Stephen Elkins, City Chief Information Officer)

This item was postponed until the October 14, 2015 regular meeting.

Digital Inclusion Initiative Policy update. (John Speirs and Sharla Chamberlain, TARA)

John Speirs gave an update on the Digital Inclusion Initiative Policy. Visit these two links for PowerPoint and information: http://www.austintexas.gov/edims/document.cfm?id=238126 http://www.austintexas.gov/edims/document.cfm?id=238125

d. Legislative & Regulatory Overview and Public, Educational and Government (PEG) Access Update (Paul Lewis, TARA)

Paul Lewis, Telecommunications & Regulatory Affairs (TARA) Assistant Manager's update included Public, Educational, Government (PEG) Access; Cable/Video; City & State Regulations; and Federal Activity. Visit the full report at: http://www.austintexas.gov/edims/document.cfm?id=237769

4. NEW BUSINESS (Discussion and Possible Action)

a. Community Technology & Telecommunications Commission Bylaws. (Chair Williams)

Commissioner Williams and John Speirs gave an overview of the standard changes to the bylaws that were provided from the City Clerk's Office.

Staff will get clarification from the Clerk's Office on the terms of office and adding sections (C) (7) from this Commission's enabling ordinance.

This item will come back to the Commission at their October 14, 2015 meeting for discussion and possible action.

b. Review of Commission's 2015 Work Plan. (Chair Williams)

Commissioner Williams and John Speirs gave an overview of the Commissioner 2015 Work Plan. The Commission will review the work plan periodically during the year to make sure they are achieving their goals.

5. OLD BUSINESS (Discussion and Possible Action) Update from 2016 Grant for Technology Opportunities Program (GTOPs) Working Group (John Speirs, TARA)

Commissioner Johnson, Chair of the GTOPs Working Group presented the timeline for the GTOPs grant.

Motion to accept the recommended timeline for the GTOPs grants from the GTOPs Working Group was made on Commissioner Vaughan's motion; Commissioner Floyd's second on a vote of 6-0-4. (Commissioners voting yes: Vaughan, Clarke, Johnson, Yeatts, Floyd and Williams. Commissioners abstaining: DasGupta, Graham, Greenberg and Ghosh.)
(Commissioner Cofield absent))

6. ANNOUNCEMENTS

a. Chair Announcements

Chair Williams reminded the Commissioners to use their City emails.

b. Items from Commission Members

Commissioner Yeatts stated Google Fiber was constructing in his neighborhood. Staff stated if his neighbors had question they can be directed to the TARA office.

c. Items from City Staff

Staff stated Commissioner can send info and request through the TARA staff. TARA staff will then push the material out to the Commission.

7. FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS

Next Regular Meeting: October 14, 2015

<u>Items proposed for the October 14, 2015 regular meeting:</u>

- Innovation Office update. (Kerry O'Connor, City of Austin Innovation Officer)
- City's IT capabilities and governance process (Stephen Elkins, City Chief Information Officer)
- Digital Inclusion Initiative Policy update. (John Speirs and Sharla Chamberlain, TARA)
- Legislative & Regulatory Overview and Public, Educational and Government (PEG) Access Update (Paul Lewis, TARA)
- Discussion and Possible Action on the Community Technology & Telecommunications Commission Bylaws. (Chair Williams)

8. ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 9:40 pm