

FLOOD MITIGATION TASK FORCE MINUTES

REGULAR MEETING (*October 20, 2015*)

The Flood Mitigation Task Force convened in a regular meeting on October 20, 2015 at One Texas Center, 505 Barton Springs Road in Austin, Texas.

Task Force Members in Attendance:

Ana Aguirre, Ray Canfield, Marvin Chaney, Rolando Delgado, John Gleason, Dale Gray, Rose Marie Klee, Rollin MacRae, Elloa Matthews, Paul Morales, Carol Olewin, Matthew L. Rienstra, Jay Scanlon, and Dorsey Twidwell

Staff in Attendance: Brandi Burton, Morgan Byars, Chris Chen, Jean Drew, Kelly Gagnon, Joydeep Goswami, Jose Guerrero, Matt Hollon, Tanner Hunt, Roxanne Jackson, Pam Kearfott, Karl McArthur, Jorge Morales, Keith Noble, Joe Pantalion, Katie Pfeil, Scott Prinsen, Kathy Rock, Marc Saenz, Randy Scott, Kevin Shunk, Mapi Vigil, and Reem Zoun

Chair Matthew L. Rienstra called the Task Force meeting to order at 6:08 p.m.

1. CITIZEN COMMUNICATION: GENERAL

Anna Perez spoke about issues regarding the City of Austin's buyout policy.

Eufracio Reyes spoke about issues regarding the City of Austin's buyout policy.

2. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

The minutes from the meeting of 10/12/2015 were approved on Task Force Member Rose Marie Klee's motion, Task Force Member Ana Aguirre's second on a 10-0 vote. Task Force Members John Gleason, Dale Gray, Paul Morales, and Rollin MacRae were off the dais. Task Force Members Robert Henneke, Ken Jacob, Robert Kibbe, Kate Mason-Murphy, and John Pitts were absent.

3. DISCUSSION ITEMS

- a. Staff presentation on flooding basics & terminology and Austin flood mitigation **Item conducted as posted. No action taken.**
- b. Staff presentation on Bloomfire website navigation **Item conducted as posted. No action taken.**
- c. Working Group updates Item conducted as posted. No action taken.

4. VOTING ITEMS

- a. Create Working Groups on selected topics Item was postponed. No action was taken.
- b. Assign Task Force members to Working Groups The following working group assignments were made with no objections: Task Force Members Ana Aguirre and Ray Canfield were assigned to the Capital Priorities working group; Task Force Member Rolando Delgado was assigned to the Buyout Policy working group.
- c. Approve future meeting date schedule

The motion to approve an amended future meeting date schedule, with the March 22 and April 19 meeting rescheduled for March 1 and March 29, respectively, was made by Task Force Member Rollin MacRae and seconded by Ray Canfield on a vote of 14-0. Task Force Member Paul Morales was off the dais. Task Force Members Robert Henneke, Ken Jacob, Robert Kibbe, Kate Mason-Murphy, and John Pitts were absent.

5. FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS

a. Future meeting topics and staff input **Item conducted as posted. No action taken.**

ADJOURNMENT

Chair Matthew L. Rienstra adjourned the meeting at 8:58 p.m. without objection.

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days (48 hours) before the meeting date. Please call Katie Pfeil, Watershed Protection Department, at 512-974-3377 for additional information; TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711.

For more information on the Flood Mitigation Task Force, please contact Katie Pfeil, Watershed Protection Department, at 512-974-3377 or katie.pfeil@austintexas.gov.