

# **COMMUNITY TECHNOLOGY & TELECOMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION**

http://www.austintexas.gov/cttc

# **MINUTES**

Regular Meeting Wednesday – October 14, 2015

City Hall - Austin

Please go to <a href="http://www.austintexas.gov/cityclerk/boards\_commissions/meetings/10\_1.htm">http://www.austintexas.gov/cityclerk/boards\_commissions/meetings/10\_1.htm</a> for backup material associated with this agenda.

All ATXN (Channel 6) programming is cablecast on Time Warner and Grande cable channel 6, AT&T U-Verse Channel 99 and webcast online. Over 20 meetings per month, including this commission meeting, are available on demand online, typically within a few hours of cablecast. Schedules and video at: http://www.austintexas.gov/department/channel-6

#### **CURRENT COMMISSION MEMBERS:**

Natalie Cofield - Mayor Steve Adler
Betsy Greenberg - Mayor Pro Tem Kathie Tovo, District 9
Pinaki Ghosh - Council Member Ora Houston, District 1
Narissa Johnson - Council Member Delia Garza, District 2
Malcolm Yeatts - Council Member Sabino "Pio" Renteria, District 3
Benjamin Graham - Council Member Gregorio Casar, District 4
Dave Floyd - Council Member Ann Kitchen, District 5
Lemuel Williams - Council Member Don Zimmerman, District 6
Mateo Clarke - Council Member Leslie Pool, District 7
Tanner Vaughan - Council Member Ellen Troxclair, District 8
Sumit DasGupta - Council Member Sheri Gallo, District 10

### **Commission Members Present:**

Betsy Greenberg Pinaki Ghosh Narissa Johnson Malcolm Yeatts Dave Floyd Lemuel Williams Mateo Clarke Sumit DasGupta

# **Commission Member Absent:**

Natalie Cofield Benjamin Graham Tanner Vaughan

### Staff in attendance:

John Speirs Jane Reina

#### **CALL TO ORDER**

The meeting was called to order at 6:42 pm

#### 1. CITIZEN COMMUNICATION: GENERAL

The first ten speakers signed up prior to the meeting being called to order will each be allowed a three-minute allotment to address their concerns regarding items not posted on the agenda.

No citizens signed up for general citizen communications.

## 2. APPROVAL OF MINUTES - September 9, 2015

Minutes from the Commission regular meeting of September 9, 2015 were approved on Commissioner DasGupta's motion; Commissioner Floyd's second, on a vote of 8-0. (Commissioners Cofield, Graham and Vaughn absent.)

# 3. STAFF BRIEFINGS (Discussion and Possible Action)

a. City's IT capabilities and governance process (Stephen Elkins, City Chief Information Officer)

Mr. Elkins gave a brief presentation on the City's Communications & Technology Management (CTM) Department budget. Visit this link for his PowerPoint: <a href="http://www.austintexas.gov/edims/document.cfm?id=240621">http://www.austintexas.gov/edims/document.cfm?id=240621</a>

He will return for the December Commission meeting with a presentation on the City's IT capabilities and governance process.

### b. Innovation Office update. (Kerry O'Connor, City of Austin Innovation Officer)

Ms. O'Connor gave an extensive presentation on the functions of the Innovation Office. Visit this link for her PowerPoint:

http://www.ci.austin.tx.us/edims/document.cfm?id=242289

# c. Digital Inclusion Initiative Policy update. (John Speirs and Sharla Chamberlain, TARA)

Mr. Speirs briefing included engagement dates, GTOP marketing. View his item in its entirety at: http://austintx.swagit.com/play/10142015-768

### 4. NEW BUSINESS (Discussion and Possible Action)

a. Community Technology & Telecommunications Commission Bylaws. (Chair Williams)

Motion to adopt the Bylaws with the Commission's current enabling ordinance and adding the word Staff and capitalizing Briefing in Article 7. (O) and changing Article 8. WORKING GROUP (A) to read "The Community Technology and Telecommunications Commission may appoint Working Groups, was made on Commissioner Clarke's motion; Commissioner Johnson's second, on a vote of 8-0. (Commissioners Cofield, Graham and Vaughn absent.)

# b. Commission's 2016 meeting schedule (Chair Williams)

Motion to adopt the meeting schedule for 2016 was made on Commissioner DasGupta's motion; Commissioner Floyd's second, on a vote of 8-0. (Commissioners Cofield, Graham and Vaughn absent.)

### 5. OLD BUSINESS (Discussion and Possible Action)

Update from 2016 Grant for Technology Opportunities Program (GTOPs) Working Group and approval on the GTOPs Application Scoring Criteria (2015-09-19), Grantee Application, and Grant Reviewers' Applications. (John Speirs, TARA)

Motion to adopt the GTOPs Application Scoring Criteria (2015-09-19), Grantee
Application, and Grant Reviewers' Applications recommended by the 2016 GTOPs Work
Group was made on Commissioner Greenberg's motion; Commissioner DasGupta's
second, on a vote of 8-0. (Commissioners Cofield, Graham and Vaughn absent.)

Visit this link for recommendations:

http://www.austintexas.gov/edims/document.cfm?id=240743

### 6. ANNOUNCEMENTS

### a. Chair Announcements

Commission Chair Williams reminded the Commission to please use their city email for all correspondence regarding the Commission.

He also reminded them of that October 16, 2015 is the deadline to complete their online training that was sent to them by the City's Board & Commission coordinator.

#### b. Items from Commission Members

Commissioner Clarke reported that Monday, October 19 members from CTM are presenting an update on the Open Data 2.0 Initiative at the Open Austin meeting at the Terrazas Branch library.

#### c. Items from City Staff

There were no items from staff

### 7. FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS

Next Regular Meeting: December 9, 2015

# Items proposed for the December 9, 2015 regular meeting:

- -Discussion and possible action on Community Technology & Telecommunications Commission Bylaws. (Chair Williams)
- -Austin Free-Net update. (Juanita Budd, Executive Director)
- -Appointment of 2016 Grant for Technology Opportunities Program (GTOPs) Grant Review Committee.
- -City's IT capabilities and governance process (Stephen Elkins, City Chief Information Officer)

#### 8. ADJOURNMENT

The adjourned at 10:00 pm

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planed with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 4 days before the meeting date. Please contact Jane Reina at the Office of Telecommunications & Regulatory Affairs at (512) 974-2999, for additional information; TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711.

For more information on the Community Technology & Telecommunications Commission, please visit their website at <a href="http://www.austintexas.gov/cttc">http://www.austintexas.gov/cttc</a> or contact Jane Reina at <a href="mailto:jane.reina@austintexas.gov">jane.reina@austintexas.gov</a>.

Posting Submitted by: Jane Reina, Administrative Specialist, Friday, October 9, 2015