

# FLOOD MITIGATION TASK FORCE DRAFT MINUTES

REGULAR MEETING (November 3, 2015)

The Flood Mitigation Task Force convened in a regular meeting on November 3, 2015 at One Texas Center, 505 Barton Springs Road in Austin, Texas.

#### **Task Force Members in Attendance:**

Ana Aguirre, Marvin Chaney, Rolando Delgado, John Gleason, Dale Gray, Jeff Henke, Robert Kibbie, Rose Marie Klee, Ken Jacob, Rollin MacRae, Kate Mason-Murphy, Elloa Matthews, John Pitts, Matthew L. Rienstra, Jay Scanlon, and Dorsey Twidwell

**Staff in Attendance:** Kevin Autry, Louisa Brinsmade, Morgan Byars, Chris Chen, Jean Drew, Tom Ennis, Joan Esquivel, Kelly Gagnon, Joydeep Goswami, Jose Guerrero, Carol Haywood, Matt Hollon, Pam Kearfott, Mike Kelly, Sheila Latting, Lynne Lightsey, Jason Lopez, Karl McArthur, Jorge Morales, Keith Noble, Joe Pantalion, Katie Pfeil, Marc Saenz, Randy Scott, Kevin Shunk, Kim Springer, Kelly Strickler, Erin Wood, Joseph Zerda, and Reem Zoun

Chair Matthew L. Rienstra called the Task Force meeting to order at 6:15 p.m.

## 1. CITIZEN COMMUNICATION: GENERAL

Isabel Lopez spoke about the October 30, 2015 flooding and the City of Austin's buyout policy.

Anna Perez spoke about the October 30, 2015 flooding and the City of Austin's buyout policy.

Joaquin Zea spoke about the October 30, 2015 flooding and the City of Austin's buyout policy.

Jacqueline Perez spoke about the October 30, 2015 flooding and the City of Austin's buyout policy.

## 2. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

The minutes from the meeting of 10/20/2015 were approved on Task Force Member Rose Marie Klee's motion, Task Force Member Robert Kibbe's second on a 16-0 vote. Task Force Members Ray Canfield, Robert Henneke, Paul Morales, and Carol Olewin were absent.

#### 3. DISCUSSION ITEMS

a. Staff presentation on Watershed Protection Department Master Plan **Item conducted as posted. No action taken.** 

- b. Staff presentation on Watershed Protection Department financial structure **Item conducted as posted. No action taken.**
- c. Working Group updates

  Item conducted as posted. No action taken.

#### 4. VOTING ITEMS

a. Create Working Groups on selected topics

The motion to establish a Final Report working group was made by Task Force Member John Pitts and seconded by Vice-Chair Dale Gray on a vote of 16-0. Task Force Members Ray Canfield, Robert Henneke, Paul Morales, and Carol Olewin were absent.

b. Assign Task Force members to Working Groups

The following working group assignments were made with no objections: Task Force Member Jeff Henke was assigned to the Buyout Policy working group.

### 5. FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS

a. Future meeting topics and staff input

The motion to hold an emergency meeting on Tuesday, November 10 to discuss a resolution directing the Austin City Council to expedite the buyout process for flooded homes failed on Task Force Member Robert Kibbe's motion, Task Force Member Ana Aguirre's second on a 6-8-1 vote. Those members voting aye were: Task Force Members Ana Aguirre, Marvin Chaney, Ken Jacob, Robert Kibbie, Elloa Matthews, and Dorsey Twidwell. Those voting nay were: Vice-Chair Dale Gray and Task Force Members Rolando Delgado, John Gleason, Jeff Henke, Rose Marie Klee, Kate Mason-Murphy, Rollin MacRae, John Pitts and Jay Scanlon. Chair Matthew L. Rienstra abstained from voting. Task Force Members Ray Canfield, Robert Henneke, Paul Morales, and Carol Olewin were absent.

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

Chair Matthew L. Rienstra adjourned the meeting at 10:21 p.m. without objection.

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days (48 hours) before the meeting date. Please call Katie Pfeil, Watershed Protection Department, at 512-974-3377 for additional information; TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711.

For more information on the Flood Mitigation Task Force, please contact Katie Pfeil, Watershed Protection Department, at 512-974-3377 or katie.pfeil@austintexas.gov.