

# COMMUNITY TECHNOLOGY & TELECOMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION http://www.austintexas.gov/cttc

# MINUTES

Regular Meeting December 9, 2015 City Hall - Austin, TX 78701

Please go to <u>http://www.austintexas.gov/cityclerk/boards\_commissions/meetings/10\_1.htm</u> for backup material associated with this agenda.

All ATXN (Channel 6) programming is cablecast on Time Warner and Grande cable channel 6, AT&T U-Verse Channel 99 and webcast online. Over 20 meetings per month, including this commission meeting, are available on demand online, typically within a few hours of cablecast. Schedules and video at: <u>http://www.austintexas.gov/department/channel-6</u>

# **CURRENT COMMISSION MEMBERS:**

VACANT - Mayor Steve Adler VACANT - Mayor Pro Tem Kathie Tovo, District 9 Pinaki Ghosh - Council Member Ora Houston, District 1 Narissa Johnson - Council Member Delia Garza, District 2 Malcolm Yeatts - Council Member Sabino "Pio" Renteria, District 3 Benjamin Graham - Council Member Gregorio Casar, District 4 Dave Floyd - Council Member Ann Kitchen, District 5 Lemuel Williams -Council Member Don Zimmerman, District 6 Mateo Clarke - Council Member Leslie Pool, District 7 Tanner Vaughan - Council Member Ellen Troxclair, District 8 Sumit DasGupta - Council Member Sheri Gallo, District 10

# **Commission Members Present:**

Pinaki Ghosh Narissa Johnson Malcolm Yeatts Dave Floyd Lemuel Williams Tanner Vaughan Sumit DasGupta

# **Commission Members Absent:**

Mateo Clarke Benjamin Graham

# Staff in attendance:

**Rondella Hawkins** 

Paul Lewis John Speirs Sharla Chamberlain Jane Reina

# CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order at 6:49 pm

#### 1. CITIZEN COMMUNICATION: GENERAL

The first ten speakers signed up prior to the meeting being called to order will each be allowed a three-minute allotment to address their concerns regarding items not posted on the agenda.

No citizens signed up for general citizen communications.

#### 2. APPROVAL OF MINUTES – October 14, 2015

<u>Minutes from the Commission regular meeting of October 14, 2015 were approved on</u> <u>Commissioner Johnson's motion; Commissioner DasGupta's second, on a vote of 7-0.</u> (Commissioners Graham and Clarke absent.)

#### 3. PRESENTATIONS

# Austin Free-Net update. (Juanita Budd, Executive Director)

Ms. Budd gave a overview of the reality of the digital divide and the classes Austin Free-Net provides to help bridge the digital divide. Visit this link for a PowerPoint presentations. http://www.austintexas.gov/edims/document.cfm?id=244240

#### 4. STAFF BRIEFINGS (Discussion and Possible Action)

# a. City's IT capabilities and governance process (Rob Byrd, Chief Enterprise IT Architect, Communications & Technology Management)

Mr. Byrd gave an overview of the City's IT capabilities and governance process. Visit this link for the PowerPoint presentation. <u>http://www.austintexas.gov/edims/document.cfm?id=243953</u>

# b. Digital Inclusion Initiative Policy update. (John Speirs and Sharla Chamberlain, TARA)

Mr. Speirs gave a brief update. Visit this link for the PowerPoint presentation. <u>http://www.austintexas.gov/edims/document.cfm?id=244241</u>

# c. Legislative & Regulatory Overview and Public, Educational and Government (PEG) Access Update (Paul Lewis, TARA)

Paul Lewis, Telecommunications & Regulatory Affairs (TARA) Assistant Manager's update included Public, Educational, Government (PEG) Access; Cable/Video; City & State Regulations; and Federal Activity. Visit the full report at: http://www.austintexas.gov/edims/document.cfm?id=244239 5. NEW BUSINESS (Discussion and Possible Action)

a. Appointment of 2016 Grant for Technology Opportunities Program (GTOPs) Grant Review Committee.

The 2016 Grant for Technology Opportunities Program (GTOPs) Grant Review Committee member appointments were approved on Commissioner Williams' motion, Commission Ghosh's second on a vote of 7-0. (Commissioners Clarke and Graham absent).

The Commission approved Commissioner Johnson as the 2016 Grant for Technology Opportunities Program (GTOPs) Grant Review Committee Commission Liaison on Commissioner Yeasts' motion; Commissioner Ghosh's second on a vote of 7-0. (Commissioners Clarke and Graham absent).

 OLD BUSINESS (Discussion and Possible Action)

 a. Update from 2016 Grant for Technology Opportunities Program (GTOPs) Working Group. (John Speirs, TARA)

Motion to adopt the amended GTOPs Application to scoring criteria adjusted after initial approval to accommodate the online system used to manage the grant review process and reconcile a sentence structure clarification recommended by the 2016 GTOPs Work Group was made on Commissioner Williams' motion; Commissioner DasGupta's second, on a vote of 7-0. (Commissioners Clarke and Graham absent). http://www.austintexas.gov/edims/document.cfm?id=243901

b. Discussion and possible action on Community Technology & Telecommunications Commission Bylaws. (Chair Williams)

Motion to adopt the bylaws with the Clerk's Office's recommendations was made on Commissioner Floyd's motion; Commissioner Ghosh's second on a vote of 6-0. (Commissioner DasGupta off the dais. Commissioners Clarke and Graham absent).

# 7. ANNOUNCEMENTS

# a. Chair Announcements

Chair Williams reminded the Commission to please use their City email to communicate any Commission business.

# b. Items from Commission Members

Commissioner Ghosh provided photos of utility poles that have numerous lines that need to be cleaned up. He would like to see a process where the providers are responsible for cleaning up the poles. TARA staff stated they would follow up with Austin Energy regarding theirs utility pole audit.

He also would like a presentation from the mobility access providers at a future meeting.

#### c. Items from City Staff

Staff member Sharla Chamberlain is leaving the City. She has worked closely with the Commission on the Digital Inclusion Initiative.

# 8. FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS Next Regular Meeting: January 13, 2016

The Commission will hold their annual Work Plan Retreat on January 13, 2016. This meeting will start at 6:00 pm

#### 9. ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 10:00 pm

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planed with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 4 days before the meeting date. Please contact Jane Reina at the Office of Telecommunications & Regulatory Affairs at (512) 974-2999, for additional information; TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711.

For more information on the Community Technology & Telecommunications Commission, please visit their website at <u>http://www.austintexas.gov/cttc</u> or contact Jane Reina at <u>jane.reina@austintexas.gov</u>.

Posting Submitted by: Jane Reina, Administrative Specialist, Friday, December 4, 2015