

THE LIBRARY COMMISSION MINUTES

REGULAR MEETING 14, December, 2015

The Library Commission convened in a Regular Meeting on Monday, December 14, 2015 at the Austin History Center, 810 Guadalupe St. in Austin, Texas.

Chair Patricia Dabbert called the Board Meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

Board Members in Attendance: Chair Patricia Dabbert, Vice Chair Chad Williams, Commission Members Cindy Fisher, Emily Hersh, Steven Self, Wendy Price Todd, and Lynne Wiggins **Board Members Absent:** Commission Members Roxanne Bogucka, Aimee Finney, and Scott MacLeod

Staff in Attendance: Toni Lambert, Assistant Director for Public Services; John Gillum, Facilities Process Manager and Sharon Herfurth, Library Division Manager

1. Citizen Communication: Carlos Leon spoke about emotional literacy training.

2. Approval of Minutes from November 16, 2015 Regular Meeting

The minutes from the meeting of November 16, 2015 were approved on Vice Chair Williams' motion, Commission Member Self's second on a 6-0 vote. Commission Members Bogucka, Finney, and MacLeod absent. Commission Member Hersh off the dais.

3. Presentation: Austin History Center Association (AHCA)

AHCA Executive Director, Jeff Cohen, gave a presentation about the Association and its relationship to the Austin History Center.

4. Discussion of March 23, 2016 Reception for Austin Public Library Friends Foundation and Austin History Center Association Members

Sharon Herfurth will work with the Commission to coordinate invitations. The reception will be held from 5-6 p.m. before the regular meeting on March 23, 2016.

5. Discussion of a Retreat for the Library Commission

Commission members Hersh will host at Lanier High School. She will poll members to determine a date.

6. Staff Briefings: John Gillum, Facilities Process Manager; Toni Lambert, Assistant Director for Public Services; and Sharon Herfurth, Division Manager, Office of Programs & Partnerships, gave briefings.

7. Announcements: None

8. Future Agenda Items:

Presentation on Austin Public Library plans and projects for FY16

Adjourn: Chair Dabbert adjourned the meeting at 7:30 p.m. without objection.