

FLOOD MITIGATION TASK FORCE DRAFT MINUTES

REGULAR MEETING (*March 1, 2016*)

The Flood Mitigation Task Force convened in a regular meeting on March 1, 2016 at One Texas Center, 505 Barton Springs Road in Austin, Texas.

Task Force Members in Attendance:

Ana Aguirre, Marvin Chaney, Rolando Delgado, John Gleason, Dale Gray, Jeff Henke, Robert Kibbie, Rose Marie Klee, Ken Jacob, Rollin MacRae, Elloa Matthews, Matthew L. Rienstra, Jay Scanlon, and Dorsey Twidwell

Staff in Attendance: Morgan Byars, Joydeep Goswami, Jose Guerrero, Matt Hollon, Larry Jantzen, Pam Kearfott, Keith Noble, Joe Pantalion, Katie Pfeil, Scott Prinsen, Kevin Shunk, Kelly Strickler, Jerry Reynolds, and Reem Zoun

Chair Matthew L. Rienstra called the Task Force meeting to order at 6:06 p.m.

1. CITIZEN COMMUNICATION: GENERAL

There were no speakers.

2. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

The minutes from the meeting of 2/16/2016 were approved on Task Force Member Ken Jacob's motion and Task Force Member Robert Kibbie's second on a 14-0 vote. Task Force Members Ray Canfield, Robert Henneke, Ben Hodges, Kate Mason-Murphy, Paul Morales, Carol Olewin, and John Pitts were absent.

3. DISCUSSION ITEMS

- a. Report to Council; approval process of final report. **Item conducted as posted. No action taken.**
- b. Working Group updates. Item conducted as posted. No action taken.

4. VOTING ITEMS

a. Create Working Groups on selected topics **No action was taken.**

b. Assign Task Force members to Working Groups

The motion to assign Task Force Members Ana Aguirre and Marvin Chaney to the Writers Group working group was made by Task Force Member Elloa Matthews and seconded by Task Force Member Ken Jacob on a vote of 14-0. Task Force Members Ray Canfield, Robert Henneke, Ben Hodges, Kate Mason-Murphy, Paul Morales, Carol Olewin, and John Pitts were absent.

c. Consider future Task Force meeting dates **No action was taken.**

5. FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS

a. Future meeting topics and staff input **No action was taken.**

ADJOURNMENT

Chair Matthew L. Rienstra adjourned the meeting at 6:29 p.m. without objection.

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days (48 hours) before the meeting date. Please call Katie Pfeil, Watershed Protection Department, at 512-974-3377 for additional information; TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711.

For more information on the Flood Mitigation Task Force, please contact Katie Pfeil, Watershed Protection Department, at 512-974-3377 or katie.pfeil@austintexas.gov.