

FLOOD MITIGATION TASK FORCE DRAFT MINUTES

REGULAR MEETING (*March 22, 2016*)

The Flood Mitigation Task Force convened in a regular meeting on March 22, 2016 at One Texas Center, 505 Barton Springs Road in Austin, Texas.

Task Force Members in Attendance:

Ana Aguirre, Marvin Chaney, John Gleason, Dale Gray, Ben Hodges, Ken Jacob, Rose Marie Klee, Rollin MacRae, Elloa Matthews, Paul Morales (arrived at 6:19 p.m.), Carol Olewin, Matthew L. Rienstra, Jay Scanlon, and Dorsey Twidwell

Staff in Attendance: Morgan Byars, Chris Chen, Jean Drew, Kelly Gagnon, Jose Guerrero, Matt Hollon, Larry Jantzen, Pam Kearfott, Keith Noble, Katie Pfeil, Scott Prinsen, Kevin Shunk, Kelly Strickler, Jerry Reynolds, and Reem Zoun

Chair Matthew L. Rienstra called the Task Force meeting to order at 6:12 p.m.

1. CITIZEN COMMUNICATION: GENERAL

Richard Bernhart spoke about localized flooding and drainage issues in the Salem Walk/Stassney Lane area (Williamson Creek).

2. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

The minutes from the meeting of 3/1/2016 were approved on Task Force Member Ken Jacob's motion and Task Force Member Jay Scanlon's second on a 14-0 vote. Task Force Members Ray Canfield, Rolando Delgado, Jeff Henke, Robert Henneke, Robert Kibbie, and Kate Mason-Murphy were absent.

3. DISCUSSION ITEMS

- a. Report to Council; approval process of final report. Item conducted as posted. No action taken.
- b. Working Group updates.

Item conducted as posted. No action taken.

4. VOTING ITEMS

a. Adjust number of members of Writers Group Working Group to resolve quorum issues. The motion to assign Task Force Member Carol Olewin as the Chair of the Writers Group working group and to retain Task Force members Ana Aguirre, Marvin Chaney, John Gleason, Robert Henneke, Ken Jacob, Rose Marie Klee, John Pitts, and Jay Scanlon on the Writers Group working group was made by Task Force Chair Matthew L. Rienstra and seconded by Task Force Member Dale Gray on a vote of 12-0. Task Force Members Rollin MacRae and Elloa Matthews abstained. Task Force Members Ray Canfield, Rolando Delgado, Jeff Henke, Robert Henneke, Robert Kibbie, and Kate Mason-Murphy were absent.

b. Create Working Groups on selected topics **No action was taken.**

c. Assign Task Force members to Working Groups **No action was taken**

d. Consider future Task Force meeting dates

The motion to hold Flood Mitigation Task Force meetings on the evenings of April 12, 2016; April 14, 2016; April 19, 2016 and April 20, 2016 was made by Task Force Member Dale Gray and seconded by Task Force Member Ana Aguirre on a vote of 14-0. Task Force Members Ray Canfield, Rolando Delgado, Jeff Henke, Robert Henneke, Robert Kibbie, and Kate Mason-Murphy were absent.

The motion to cancel the scheduled Flood Mitigation Task Force Meeting for March 29, 2016 was made by Task Force Member Dale Gray and seconded by Task Force Member Marvin Chaney on a vote of 14-0. Task Force Members Ray Canfield, Rolando Delgado, Jeff Henke, Robert Henneke, Robert Kibbie, and Kate Mason-Murphy were absent.

5. FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS

a. Future meeting topics and staff input No action was taken.

ADJOURNMENT

Chair Matthew L. Rienstra adjourned the meeting at 7:07 p.m. without objection.

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days (48 hours) before the meeting date. Please call Katie Pfeil, Watershed Protection Department, at 512-974-3377 for additional information; TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711.

For more information on the Flood Mitigation Task Force, please contact Katie Pfeil, Watershed Protection Department, at 512-974-3377 or katie.pfeil@austintexas.gov.

3