

# FLOOD MITIGATION TASK FORCE DRAFT MINUTES

REGULAR MEETING (April 14, 2016)

The Flood Mitigation Task Force convened in a regular meeting on April 14, 2016 at One Texas Center, 505 Barton Springs Road in Austin, Texas.

## **Task Force Members in Attendance:**

Ana Aguirre, Marvin Chaney (arrived at 7:18), John Gleason, Robert Henneke, Ken Jacob, Rollin MacRae, Richard Maness, Elloa Matthews, Paul Morales, Carol Olewin, John Pitts, Matthew L. Rienstra, Jay Scanlon, and Dorsey Twidwell

**Staff in Attendance:** William Burdick, Jean Drew, Alex Gale, Michael Gates, Jose Guerrero, Matt Hollon, Pam Kearfott, Lynne Lightsey, John Middleton, Saul Nuccitelli, Joe Pantalion, Katie Pfeil, Kathy Rock, Kevin Shunk, Kelly Strickler, Erin Wood, and Reem Zoun

Chair Matthew L. Rienstra called the Task Force meeting to order at 7:08 p.m.

## 1. CITIZEN COMMUNICATION: GENERAL

There were no speakers.

## 2. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

The minutes from the meeting of 4/12/2016 were approved on Task Force Member Ken Jacob's motion and Task Force Member John Pitt's second on a 13-0 vote. Task Force Members Ray Canfield, Rolando Delgado, Dale Gray, Jeff Henke, Ben Hodges, Robert Kibbie, Rose Marie Klee, and Kate Mason-Murphy were absent. Task Force Member Marvin Chaney was off the dais.

## 3. DISCUSSION ITEMS

- a. Flood Mitigation Task Force Final Report to Council; approval process of final report Discussed sections 1c, 1d, 1f, and 2 of the Final Report to Council. No action taken.
- b. Discuss Specific Subsections of the Flood Mitigation Task Force Final Report to Council and receive staff input on Report Subsections

Item conducted as posted. No action taken.

## 4. VOTING ITEMS

a. Specific Subsections of Flood Mitigation Task Force Final Report to Council

There was a motion by Task Force Member Robert Henneke, seconded by Task Force Member Rollin MacRae, to approve subsection 1d. The motion was approved with the following friendly amendment on a motion by Task Force Member Elloa Matthews, seconded by Task Force Member Ana Aguirre, on a 13-1 vote with Task Force Member John Gleason opposed. The friendly amendment by Task Force Member

Elloa Matthews was revise the language to read, "Before increasing fees or calling bond elections Council should undertake a review of the entire City budget, specifically items related to priorities to keep the citizens of Austin safe, and make difficult decisions..." This was accepted by the maker of the motion and approved on a 14-0 vote. Task Force Members Ray Canfield, Rolando Delgado, Dale Gray, Jeff Henke, Ben Hodges, Robert Kibbie, Rose Marie Klee, and Kate Mason-Murphy were absent.

There was a motion by Task Force Member John Pitts, seconded by Task Force Member Jay Scanlon, to strike recommendation #2 in subsection 1c. The motion was approved on an 8-5 vote with Task Force Members Ana Aguirre, Marvin Chaney, Ken Jacob, Elloa Matthews, and Dorsey Twidwell opposed. Task Force Members Ray Canfield, Rolando Delgado, Dale Gray, Jeff Henke, Ben Hodges, Robert Kibbie, Rose Marie Klee, and Kate Mason-Murphy were absent.

## 5. FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS

a. Future meeting topics and staff input

There was a motion by Task Force Member John Gleason, seconded by Task Force Member Ana Aguirre, to cancel the scheduled April 19, 2016 meeting. The motion was approved on a 13-0 vote. Task Force Members Ray Canfield, Rolando Delgado, Dale Gray, Jeff Henke, Ben Hodges, Robert Kibbie, Rose Marie Klee, and Kate Mason-Murphy were absent. Task Force Member Marvin Chaney was off the dais.

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

Chair Matthew L. Rienstra adjourned the meeting at 9 p.m. without objection.

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days (48 hours) before the meeting date. Please call Katie Pfeil, Watershed Protection Department, at 512-974-3377 for additional information; TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711.

For more information on the Flood Mitigation Task Force, please contact Katie Pfeil, Watershed Protection Department, at 512-974-3377 or katie.pfeil@austintexas.gov.