

# FLOOD MITIGATION TASK FORCE DRAFT MINUTES

REGULAR MEETING (April 25, 2016)

The Flood Mitigation Task Force convened in a regular meeting on April 25, 2016 at One Texas Center, 505 Barton Springs Road in Austin, Texas.

### **Task Force Members in Attendance:**

Ana Aguirre, John Gleason, Dale Gray, Jeff Henke, Ben Hodges, Ken Jacob, Rollin MacRae, Richard Maness, Paul Morales, Carol Olewin (departed at 7:40), John Pitts, Matthew L. Rienstra, and Dorsey Twidwell

**Staff in Attendance:** Morgan Byars, Alex Gale, Joydeep Goswami, Jose Guerrero, Matt Hollon, Pam Kearfott, Mike Kelly, Lynne Lightsey, Jason Lopez, Karl McArthur, John Middleton, Joe Pantalion, Katie Pfeil, Scott Prinsen, Kevin Shunk, and Kelly Strickler

Chair Matthew L. Rienstra called the Task Force meeting to order at 6:07 p.m.

# 1. CITIZEN COMMUNICATION: GENERAL

David Willson (Upper Onion Creek neighborhood) spoke about his concerns with the Flood Mitigation Task Force final report subsection 4 ("Onion Creek Mitigation").

Ray Combs (Upper Onion Creek neighborhood) spoke about the flooding he experienced in his neighborhood and his desire to know what mitigation actions will be taken in his neighborhood.

Mark Kolar (Upper Onion Creek neighborhood) spoke about the City Council's prioritization of funds and the potential flooding impacts of upstream developments on his neighborhood.

### 2. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

The minutes from the meeting of 4/14/2016 were approved on Task Force Member Ken Jacob's motion and Task Force Member Ana Aguirre's second on a 13-0 vote. Task Force Members Ray Canfield, Marvin Chaney, Rolando Delgado, Robert Henneke, Robert Kibbie, Rose Marie Klee, Kate Mason-Murphy, Elloa Mathews, and Jay Scanlon were absent.

The minutes from the meeting of 4/20/2016 were approved on Task Force Member Ken Jacob's motion and Task Force Member Ana Aguirre's second on a 12-0 vote. Task Force Members Ray Canfield, Marvin Chaney, Rolando Delgado, Robert Henneke, Robert Kibbie, Rose Marie Klee, Kate Mason-Murphy, Elloa Mathews, and Jay Scanlon were absent. Task Force Member Ben Hodges abstained.

### 3. DISCUSSION ITEMS

- a. Flood Mitigation Task Force Final Report to Council; approval process of final report **No action taken.**
- b. Discuss Specific Subsections of the Flood Mitigation Task Force Final Report to Council and receive staff input on Report Subsections

Discussed sections 1e ("Public Education"), 3 ("Peer Cities"), 4 ("Onion Creek Mitigation"), 5 ("Collaborating with the Environmental Commission"), and 6 ("Collaborating with Other Jurisdictions") of the Final Report to Council. No action taken.

### 4. VOTING ITEMS

a. Specific Subsections of Flood Mitigation Task Force Final Report to Council **No action was taken.** 

# 5. FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS

a. Future meeting topics and staff input

There was a motion by Task Force Member Ken Jacob, seconded by Task Force Member Ana Aguirre, to cancel the scheduled April 26, 2016 meeting. The motion was approved on a 12-0 vote. Task Force Members Ray Canfield, Marvin Chaney, Rolando Delgado, Robert Henneke, Robert Kibbie, Rose Marie Klee, Kate Mason-Murphy, Elloa Mathews, and Jay Scanlon were absent. Task Force Member Carol Olewin was off the dais.

There was a motion by Task Force Member Dorsey Twidwell, seconded by Task Force Member Rollin MacRae, to hold a Flood Mitigation Task Force meeting on April 28, 2016. The motion was approved on a 12-0 vote. Task Force Members Ray Canfield, Marvin Chaney, Rolando Delgado, Robert Henneke, Robert Kibbie, Rose Marie Klee, Kate Mason-Murphy, Elloa Mathews, and Jay Scanlon were absent. Task Force Member Carol Olewin was off the dais.

# **ADJOURNMENT**

Chair Matthew L. Rienstra adjourned the meeting at 10:05 p.m. without objection.

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days (48 hours) before the meeting date. Please call Katie Pfeil, Watershed Protection Department, at 512-974-3377 for additional information; TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711.

For more information on the Flood Mitigation Task Force, please contact Katie Pfeil, Watershed Protection Department, at 512-974-3377 or katie.pfeil@austintexas.gov.