

# ENVIRONMENTAL COMMISSION MEETING MINUTES Wednesday, May 18, 2016

The Environmental Commission convened in a public meeting on Wednesday, May 18, 2016 at City Hall in the Boards & Commissions at 301 W. 2<sup>nd</sup> Street, Austin, Texas 78701.

## **Commissioners in Attendance:**

Andrew Creel

**Brian Smith** 

Erin Gooch

**Hank Smith** 

**Marisa Perales** 

Mary Ann Neely

Michael Moya

**Pam Thompson** 

Peggy Maceo

**Richard Grayum** 

Linda Guerrero

#### **Staff in Attendance:**

Chuck Lesniak

Jessica Coronado

Joe Pantalion

Kristi Fenton

Matt Hollon

Oscar Garza

Ryan Hebrink

Sharon Cooper

Sue Barnett

Sylvia Pope

Tony Davee

## 1. CALL TO ORDER

Vice Chair Marisa Perales called the meeting to order at 6:01pm.

## 2. COMMISSION BUSINESS AND POSSIBLE ACTION

a. Officer Elections

The motion to nominate and elect Marisa Perales as Chair of the Environmental Commission was made by Commissioner Mary Ann Neely and seconded by Commissioner Hank Smith. Vote 9-0-0-2. Commissioners Michael Moya and Pam Thompson were off the dais.

The motion to nominate and elect Peggy Maceo as Vice Chair of the Environmental Commission was made by Commissioner Linda Guerrero and seconded by Commissioner Brian Smith. Vote 9-0-0-2. Commissioners Michael Moya and Pam Thompson were off the dais.

The motion to nominate and elect Hank Smith as Secretary and Parliamentarian of the Environmental Commission was made by Commissioner Mary Ann Neely and seconded by Commissioner Andrew Creel. Vote 9-0-0-2. Commissioners Michael Moya and Pam Thompson were off the dais.

## 3. CITIZEN COMMUNICATION: GENERAL

Speakers should sign up to speak prior to the meeting being called to order; you will receive a three-minute allotment to discuss topics not posted on the agenda.

There were no speakers.

## 4. EDUCATION

a. None

## 5. APPROVAL OF MINUTES AND ACTION

a. Approve the minutes of the regular Environmental Commission meeting of May 4, 2016. The minutes of the regular Environmental Commission meeting of May 4, 2016 were approved on Commissioner Hank Smith's motion and on Commissioner Andrew Creel's second. Vote 8-1-2. Commissioner Linda Guerrero abstained and Commissioners Michael Moya and Pam Thompson were off the dais.

# 6. ENVIRONMENTAL OFFICER'S UPDATE ON PAST COMMISSION ACTIONS AND REPORT ON ITEMS OF INTEREST

a. Update on amendments to Environmental Commission enabling ordinance. **Item conducted as posted. No action taken.** 

### 7. STAFF BRIEFINGS AND POSSIBLE ACTION\*

- a. 30th Anniversary of the City of Austin Comprehensive Watersheds Ordinance Sylvia Pope, Hydrogeologist, Watershed Protection Department and Sue Barnett, Environmental Program Coordinator, Watershed Protection Department
   Item conducted as posted. No action taken.
- b. Review of Austin Water Capital Improvement Projects in the Drinking Water Protection Zone (DWPZ) – Kristi Fenton, Utility Financial Manager, Austin Water Utility Approval of Austin Water's Capital Improvement Projects in the Drinking Water Protection Zone was made on Commissioner Hank Smith's motion and on Commissioner Andrew Creel's second. Vote 11-0.
- c. La Loma/Red Bluff Rd. Illegal Dumping Oscar Garza, Watershed Protection Department and Tony Davee, Austin Resource Recovery Department (D-1)

  Recommendation for support of a request to the City Manager to direct the appropriate City of Austin departments to investigate the illegal dumping with a Phase 1 ESA and to clean the site was approved on Commissioner Hank Smith's motion and on Commissioner Mary Ann Neely's second, with conditions. Vote 11-0.

## 8. ITEMS FOR CONSIDERATION AND POSSIBLE ACTION

a. Briefing on the recommendations made by the Flood Mitigation Task Force – Matt Rienstra, Chair, Flood Mitigation Task Force

The item was referred to a working group of the Environmental Commission.

b. Discuss and consider referring The Grove at Shoal Creek Planned Unit Development to an Environmental Commission committee for consideration and recommendation to the Commission. (D-10)

The motion to extend the meeting beyond 10pm was made on Commissioner Richard Grayum's motion and on Commissioner Peggy Maceo's second.

The item was referred to the Development Committee of the Environmental Commission on Commissioner Richard Grayum's motion and on Commissioner Michael Moya's second. Vote 10-1. Commissioner Hank Smith recused.

### 9. PUBLIC HEARINGS AND POSSIBLE ACTION

None

### 10. COMMITTEE REPORTS

- a. Urban Growth Policy Committee Marisa Perales, Erin Gooch, Pam Thompson, and Hank Smith
- b. Development Committee Marisa Perales, Richard Grayum, Erin Gooch, Pam Thompson, and Hank Smith
- c. Water Quality Regulations Committee Mary Ann Neely, Brian Smith, Peggy Maceo, Erin Gooch, Pam Thompson, Hank Smith, Richard Grayum, and Andrew Creel
- d. Watershed Protection Budget Committee Marisa Perales, Mary Ann Neely, Erin Gooch, Andrew Creel, and Pam Thompson
- e. Air Quality Committee Marisa Perales, Mary Ann Neely, Erin Gooch, Andrew Creel, and Pam Thompson
- f. Urban Forest Committee Peggy Maceo, Pam Thompson, Mary Ann Neely, and Erin Gooch. **Commissioner Maceo provided a report.**
- g. Report on the Open Space, Environment, and Sustainability Council Committee
- h. Report from Pam Thompson on the Parkland Events Task Force
- i. Report from Erin Gooch on the Joint Sustainability Committee
- j. Report from Mary Ann Neely on the Balcones Canyon Conservation Plan Citizen's Advisory Committee
- k. Report on the Joint Committee of the Environmental Commission and Parks and Recreation Board – Mary Ann Neely, Peggy Maceo, and Michael Moya
- 1. Other reports from Commissioners

# 11. NEW BUSINESS – Future agenda items

## 12. ADJOURNMENT

Chair Marisa Perales adjourned the meeting at 10:09pm.

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days before the meeting date. For additional information, please call **Jessica Coronado**, Watershed Protection Department, at (512) 974-3443; TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711.