

## FLOOD MITIGATION TASK FORCE DRAFT MINUTES

**REGULAR MEETING** (*May 16, 2016*)

# The Flood Mitigation Task Force convened in a regular meeting on May 16, 2016 at One Texas Center, 505 Barton Springs Road in Austin, Texas.

## **Task Force Members in Attendance:**

Rolando Delgado, John Gleason, Dale Gray, Jeff Henke, Ken Jacob, Rollin MacRae, Richard Maness, Elloa Matthews, Carol Olewin, Matthew L. Rienstra, Jay Scanlon, and Dorsey Twidwell

**Staff in Attendance:** Jean Drew, Joydeep Goswami, Jose Guerrero, Matt Hollon, Roxanne Jackson, Larry Jantzen, Pam Kearfott, Lynne Lightsey, Keith Noble, Joe Pantalion, Katie Pfeil, Scott Prinsen, Jerry Reynolds, Kathy Rock, Kevin Shunk, and Kelly Strickler

#### Chair Matthew L. Rienstra called the Task Force meeting to order at 7:29 p.m.

## 1. CITIZEN COMMUNICATION: GENERAL

Ross Smith spoke about a raccoon nest located in a storm drain.

#### 2. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

The minutes from the meeting of 5/4/2016 were approved on Task Force Member Ken Jacob's motion and Task Force Member Dorsey Twidwell's second on a 12-0 vote. Task Force Members Ana Aguirre, Ray Canfield, Marvin Chaney, Robert Henneke, Ben Hodges, Robert Kibbie, Rose Marie Klee, Kate Mason-Murphy, Paul Morales, and John Pitts were absent.

# 3. DISCUSSION ITEMS

a. Discus final draft of the Flood Mitigation Task Force Final Report to Council and receive staff input on document.
No action taken.

#### 4. VOTING ITEMS

a. Adoption of final draft of Flood Mitigation Task Force Final Report to Council

There was a motion by Task Force Member Ken Jacob, seconded by Task Force Member Dorset Twidwell, to amend the executive summary of the Flood Mitigation Task Force Final Report to Council. The motion was approved on a vote of 12-0. Task Force Members Ana Aguirre, Ray Canfield, Marvin Chaney, Robert Henneke, Ben Hodges, Robert Kibbie, Rose Marie Klee, Kate Mason-Murphy, Paul Morales, and John Pitts were absent. There was a motion by Task Force Member Ken Jacob, seconded by Task Force Member Jay Scanlon, to adopt the revised version of the executive summary of the Flood Mitigation Task Force Final Report to Council. The motion was approved on a vote of 12-0. Task Force Members Ana Aguirre, Ray Canfield, Marvin Chaney, Robert Henneke, Ben Hodges, Robert Kibbie, Rose Marie Klee, Kate Mason-Murphy, Paul Morales, and John Pitts were absent.

#### 5. FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS

a. Future meeting topics and staff input **No action taken** 

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

Chair Matthew L. Rienstra adjourned the meeting at 8:10 p.m. without objection.

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days (48 hours) before the meeting date. Please call Katie Pfeil, Watershed Protection Department, at 512-974-3377 for additional information; TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711.

For more information on the Flood Mitigation Task Force, please contact Katie Pfeil, Watershed Protection Department, at 512-974-3377 or katie.pfeil@austintexas.gov.