

## Impact Fee Advisory Committee February 9, 2016 Waller Creek Center, Room 104 625 East 10th Street Austin, Texas

For more information go to: <u>www.austintexas.gov/ifac</u>

# MEETING MINUTES

Kris Bailey Dick Kallerman (Vacant) Huey Fischer Lance Parisher Roman Grijalva Susan Turrieta

# A. CALL TO ORDER – February 9, 2016, 6:00 p.m.

Staff Liason Martin Tower called the meeting to order at 6:04 pm Board Members in Attendance: Kris Bailey; Huey Fischer; Roman Grijalva; Dick Kallerman; Lance Parisher; Susan Turrieta City of Austin Staff (Austin Water) in Attendance: Joseph Gonzalez; Kristi Fenton; Audra Dickenson; Kevin Critendon; Brian Long; Martin Tower

## **B. VOTING ITEMS FROM COMMITTEE**

Election of Officers, Chair & Vice Chair
Committee member (CM) Kallerman moved to nominate CM Bailey to be Impact Fee Advisory
Committee Chair, seconded by CM Roman Grijalva approved 5-0-0-2, with CM Fischer absent and
one CM seat vacant.
CM Bailey moved to nominate CM Kallerman to be Impact Fee Advisory Committee Vice Chair,
seconded by CM Fischer approved 6-0-0-1 with one CM seat vacant.

## C. COMMITTEE ORIENTATION

1. Introductions

Committee Members each introduced themselves.

2. Briefing and discussion on overview of Impact Fee Advisory Committee (IFAC). *Presentation by Brian Long on the typical roles and responsibilities of the Impact Fee Advisory Committee.* 

# D. CITIZEN COMMUNICATION

The first 10 speakers signed up prior to the meeting being called to order will each be allowed a three-minute allotment to address their concerns regarding items not posted on the agenda. Siddartha Naidu spoke about Land Status Determination process as it relates to the impact fees being charged for redevelopment of his property in Bryker Woods neighborhood.

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give at least 4 days' notice before the meeting date. Please call Felicia Cancino at the Austin Water Utility Department at 512-972-0114, for additional information; TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711

## E. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

1. Approval of minutes from the June 9, 2015 Impact Fee Advisory Committee meeting. *CM Kallerman moved to approve, CM Bailey seconded and the minutes were approved 2-0-4-1 with CM Fischer, CM Grijalva, CM Parisher, CM Turrieta abstaining, and one CM seat vacant.* 

## F. ITEMS FOR COMMITTEE'S REVIEW AND RECOMMENDATION FOR APPROVAL

- 1. Briefing and discussion on an impact fee for roadway facilities as defined in Chapter 395.001(8) of the Texas Local Government Code. Postponed to future meeting due to City of Austin Transportation Department staff availability.
- 2. Discuss and take action on the Semi-Annual Impact Fee Report for April 1, 2015 through September 30, 2015 as set forth in the functions of the advisory committee, Austin City Code and Chapter 395.058 of the Texas Local Government Code. Discussion about the lasting impact of council approved impact fee waiver agreements such as the Bradley Agreement from 2000 which is still affecting collections. CM Grijalva moved to approve, seconded by CM Parisher and the report was approved 5-0-0-2 with CM Turrieta absent and one CM seat vacant.
- 3. Discuss current legislative activity related to impact fees. Brian Long indicated that there was no legislation passed in the 2015 legislative session directly pertaining to impact fees.

#### G. FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS

CM Bailey suggested that Pilot Knob Fee Waivers should be discussed in consideration of recent council discussions.

#### H. ADJOURN

Motion to adjourn was made by CM Grijalva and seconded by CM Fischer and approved 5-0-0-2 at 7:47pm with CM Turrieta absent and one CM seat vacant.



Impact Fee Advisory Committee February 9, 2016 Waller Creek Center, Room 104 625 East 10th Street Austin, Texas

For more information go to: <u>www.austintexas.gov/ifac</u>

Sign-in Sheet			
IFAC I			
	Kris Bailey		-
	Huey Fischer		
	Roman Grijalva Rynn		
	Dick Kallerman	29	7
	Lance Parisher		
	Susan Turrieta Jusan Cam	nete	
	VACANT	•	1
OTHERS (Name – Representing):			
	SIDDARJHA NAIDU - CITZEN COMM.	10	
	AUDRA PICKINSON	11.	1
	Kristi Fenton		
	Joseph Gonzales - AW	12	
	MARTIN TOWER - AW	13	
	Keyin Critendon - AW	14	
	BRIAN LONG-AWN	15	
		16	
8.		17	
9.		18	