

THE LIBRARY COMMISSION MINUTES

REGULAR MEETING 28, January, 2013

The Library Commission convened in a Regular Meeting on Monday, January 28, 2013 at the Austin History Center, 810 Guadalupe St. in Austin, Texas

Chair Peggy Pleasant called the Board Meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

Board Members in Attendance: Chair Peggy Pleasant, Vice Chair Olga Wise, Patricia Dabbert,

Sharon Kahn, Ben Ornelas and Wendy Price Todd

Board Members Absent: Lynne Wiggins

Staff in Attendance: Brenda Branch, Director of Libraries; Toni Lambert, Assistant Director of Libraries; Dana McBee, Assistant Director, Support Services; John Gillum, Facilities Process

Manager and Sue Soy, Development Administrator.

1. Citizen Communication: None

2. Approval of Minutes from November 26, 2012 Regular Meeting

Motion to approve the minutes as written Commission Member Price Todd and second by Vice Chair Wise passed on a 6-0-0 vote.,

Those members voting aye were: Chair Pleasant, Vice Chair Wise and Commission Members Dabbert, Kahn, Ornelas and Price Todd.

Other: Commissioner Member Wiggins was absent

3. Presentation: Austin Public Library Friends Foundation (APLFF) Roles

Tim Staley, Executive Director, introduced, Cecily Sailer the newest staff member. She will work with Badgerdog Literary Publishing, which joined APLFF, to provide programming. APLFF is now in the asking stage of providing funds for enhancements and naming opportunities for the new Central Library.

4. APL Fines/Fees Policy

Dana McBee, Assistant Director of Library Support Services. Fines and fees are reviewed every year and any changes, deletions or new fees are adopted by City Council as part of the annual budget approval process. These fines and fees are owed to the City of Austin, and as a municipality, the City cannot deem any debt owed to be uncollectible or written off.

5. Old Business

Motion by Commission Member Dabbert and Commission Member Price Todd's second to adopt goals #1 and #2 as written and that goal #5 is adopted as amended, the amendment reads Group attendance at system-wide special events as schedules permit, was passed on a 6-0-0 vote.

The 2013 Commission Goals adopted are:

1) Periodic meetings/ contact with City Council.

- 2) Attendance at formal Commissioner "meet and greet" events at assigned branches.
- 3) Group attendance at system-wide special events as schedules permit.

Those members voting aye were: Chair Pleasant, Vice Chair Wise and Commission Members Dabbert, Kahn, Ornelas and Price Todd.

Other: Commissioner Member Wiggins was absent

New Business

a. 2013 Annual Internal Review

Chair Pleasant will complete and email the Annual Internal Review to rest of the Commission for review and additions if necessary

b. 2013 APL Staff Presentations

The Commission requested the following additions/changes to the list

- 1) Safety, Security and Cameras for September
- 2) The Discovery Lab be moved to March with YomiCon
- 3) Succession Planning and Internal Shifts added to May Budget presentations
- c. Branch Liaison Briefings
 - 1) Vice Chair Wise attended Café au Lait at North Village, visited Windsor and noted e-book use is high and Charter schools are heavy borrowers of materials and Southeast Community Branch where the library is involved with Mendez Middle School and the Michael and Susan Dell Foundation effort to tackle obesity in children.
 - 2) Commission Member Kahn attended a retirement event at Yarbrough
 - 3) Commission Member Price Todd visited Twin Oaks
- d. Staff Briefings
 - 1) Two staff members retired in January, Herby Augustin from Carver and Anita Rizley in Youth Services. A new Program Specialist was hired to operate the Carver Computer and Job Search Center.
 - 2) Facilities Update: see Director's Report
 - 3) The Angelina Eberly luncheon hosted by the Austin History Center Association is scheduled for February 6th, at the Driskill.

7. Future Agenda Items

a. Future presentation or media training from COA PIO Office addressing protocols for Boards and Commissions to use when addressing the press.

Adjourn: Chair adjourned the meeting at 8:00 p.m. without objection.