

ENVIRONMENTAL COMMISSION MEETING MINUTES Wednesday, June 1, 2016

The Environmental Commission convened in a public meeting on Wednesday, June 1, 2016 at City Hall in the Council Chambers at 301 W. 2nd Street, Austin, Texas 78701.

Commissioners in Attendance:

Andrew Creel Brian Smith Erin Gooch Hank Smith Marisa Perales Mary Ann Neely Michael Moya Pam Thompson Peggy Maceo Richard Grayum Linda Guerrero

Staff in Attendance:

Chuck Lesniak Jessica Coronado Andrea Bates Mike McDougal Sylvia Pope Oscar Garza Jerry Rusthoven Sherry Sirwaitis Greg Guernsey Sue Barnett Reem Zoum Keith Mars

1. CALL TO ORDER

Chair Marisa Perales called the meeting to order at 6:04pm.

2. CITIZEN COMMUNICATION: GENERAL

Speakers should sign up to speak prior to the meeting being called to order; you will receive a three-minute allotment to discuss topics not posted on the agenda. **There were no speakers.**

3. EDUCATION

a. None

4. APPROVAL OF MINUTES AND ACTION

a. Approve the minutes of the regular Environmental Commission meeting of May 18, 2016.

The minutes of the regular Environmental Commission meeting of May 18, 2016 were approved on Commissioner Hank Smith's motion and on Commissioner Mary Ann Neely's second. Vote 11-0.

5. ENVIRONMENTAL OFFICER'S UPDATE ON PAST COMMISSION ACTIONS AND REPORT ON ITEMS OF INTEREST

- a. Briefing on the 2015 State of Our Environment Report Item conducted as posted. No action taken.
- b. Update on the Environmental Commission's enabling ordinance and bylaws Item conducted as posted. No action taken

6. STAFF BRIEFINGS*

a. La Loma/Red Bluff Rd. Illegal Dumping (D-1) – Oscar Garza, Watershed Protection Department

Item conducted as posted. No action taken

7. ITEMS FOR CONSIDERATION AND POSSIBLE ACTION a. None

8. PUBLIC HEARINGS AND POSSIBLE ACTION

- a. Name: Milligan Subdivision C8J-2015-0176.0A (D-10)
 - Applicant: IT Gonzales, PE 512-447-7400

Location: 6608 Cuesta Trail

Staff Reviewer: Sylvia Pope, Watershed Protection Department; Steve Hopkins, Development Services Department

Watershed: West Bull Creek Watershed, Water Supply Suburban, Drinking Water Protection Zone **Request**: Variance requests are as follows:

1- To allow seven CEFs to be located within a single family residential lot [LDC 30-5-281(B)] and

2 - To reduce two CEF buffers to a 50 foot radius from the standard 150 foot radius [LDC 30-5-281(C)(1)(a)]

Staff Recommendation: Recommended with conditions. **Reasons for Recommendation:** Findings of fact have been met.

The motion to approve the recommendation with conditions was made on Commissioner Hank Smith's second and on Commissioner Mary Ann Neely's second. Vote 11-0.

b. Name: The Grove at Shoal Creek Planned Unit Development Applicant: ARG Bull Creek, LTD (Garrett Martin) Location: 4205 Bull Creek Road Staff Reviewer: Jim Dymkowski, Development Services Department/Environmental Staff; Sherry Sirwaitis, Planning & Zoning Department/Case Manager. Watershed: Shoal Creek Watershed Request: Review and consider for recommendation the environmental aspects of the proposed Planned Unit Development (PUD), including code modifications and environmental superiority. Staff Recommendation: Recommended with conditions.

The motion to postpone the item to the June 15, 2016 regular meeting of the Environmental Commission in order to negotiate and find resolution to various concerns was approved on Commissioner Peggy Maceo's motion and on Commissioner Mary Ann Neely's second. A friendly amendment to the motion was made by Commissioner Erin Gooch and was accepted

by the maker of the motion and unanimously by the Commission. The motion with the friendly amendment was approved on a 6-4-1 vote with Commissioners Gooch, Maceo, Perales, Neely, Guerrero and Thompson voting in favor; Commissioners B. Smith, H. Smith, Creel, and Moya voting against; and Commissioner H. Smith abstaining.

A substitute motion to recommend approval of the request with conditions was made on Commissioner Richard Grayum's motion and on Commissioner Michael Moya's second. A friendly amendment to the substitute motion was made by Commissioner Andrew Creel and was accepted by the maker of the substitute motion but failed due to objection. The substitute motion failed on a 4-6-1 vote with Commissioners B. Smith, H. Smith, Creel, and Moya voting in favor; Commissioners Gooch, Maceo, Perales, Neely, Guerrero and Thompson voting in favor; and Commissioner H. Smith abstaining.

A motion to extend the meeting beyond 10pm was made on Commissioner Hank Smith's motion and on Commissioner Pam Thompsons's second.

9. COMMITTEE REPORTS

- a. Urban Growth Policy Committee Marisa Perales, Erin Gooch, Pam Thompson, and Hank Smith
- b. Development Committee Marisa Perales, Richard Grayum, Erin Gooch, Pam Thompson, and Hank Smith
- c. Water Quality Regulations Committee Mary Ann Neely, Brian Smith, Peggy Maceo, Erin Gooch, Pam Thompson, Hank Smith, Richard Grayum, and Andrew Creel
- d. Watershed Protection Budget Committee Marisa Perales, Mary Ann Neely, Erin Gooch, Andrew Creel, and Pam Thompson
- e. Air Quality Committee Marisa Perales, Mary Ann Neely, Erin Gooch, Andrew Creel, and Pam Thompson, Linda Guerrero
- f. Urban Forest Committee Peggy Maceo, Pam Thompson, Mary Ann Neely, and Erin Gooch.
- g. Report on the Open Space, Environment, and Sustainability Council Committee
- h. Report from Pam Thompson on the Parkland Events Task Force
- i. Report from Erin Gooch on the Joint Sustainability Committee
- j. Report from Mary Ann Neely on the Balcones Canyon Conservation Plan Citizen's Advisory Committee
- k. Report on the Joint Committee of the Environmental Commission and Parks and Recreation Board – Mary Ann Neely, Peggy Maceo, and Michael Moya
- 1. Other reports from Commissioners

10. NEW BUSINESS – Future agenda items

11. ADJOURNMENT

The Chair adjourned the meeting at 12:47am.

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days before the meeting date. For additional information, please call **Jessica Coronado**, Watershed Protection Department, at (512) 974-3443; TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711.