

ENVIRONMENTAL COMMISSION MOTION FORM 20160720 008d

Date: July 20, 2016

Subject: Project Consent Agreement for property located at 12501 Hewitt Lane

Motion by: Richard Grayum

Seconded by: Andrew Creel

RATIONALE:

Whereas, the applicant is offering to reduce development on land over the Edwards Aquifer Recharge Zone in exchange for developing land over the desired development zone in accordance with a previous ordinance in effect at the time of final planning; and

Whereas, staff agrees that the removal of existing development and limitation of future development provides a greater deal of environmental protection and this offsets the additional development entitlements on the Brodie Lane Property.

Therefore, Environmental Commission recommends support for the project consent agreement at 12501 Hewitt Lane with the following conditions:

Staff Conditions:

- On the exchange tract impervious cover is limited to 2.12 acres, new development is prohibited on the north portion of the property as shown on applicants exhibit "B", applicant will remove the existing 4H barn and interior driveway north of the creek and restore the area, and install a fence along the southern boundary of the Water Quality Treatment Zone, and
- On the Brodie Lane Tract limit impervious cover to 7.9 acres allowed by current code, reduce the Critical Water Quality Zone to approximately 1.7 acres as shown on applicants exhibit "D", allow 2 Critical Water Quality Zone crossings, allow water quality and detention ponds in the Critical Water Quality Zone, allow additional development within the drainage easement, allow the applicant to request an administrative variance up to 10' for cut and fill, require protection of 4 heritage trees as shown in the applicants exhibit "F" and require water quality controls in accordance with code requirements at the time of application.

Environmental Commission Conditions:

• Legal document required, such as a restrictive covenant and conservation easement, for the exchange tract.

For: Neely, Thompson, Maceo, Guerrero, Grayum, Creel, B. Smith
Against: Perales
Abstain: None
Recuse: H. Smith
Absent: Moya

Approved By:

Marin Buch

Marisa Perales, Environmental Commission Chair