

# COMMUNITY TECHNOLOGY & TELECOMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION

http://www.austintexas.gov/cttc

# **MINUTES**

Regular Meeting August 10, 2016

City Hall - Austin, TX

Please go to <a href="http://www.austintexas.gov/cityclerk/boards\_commissions/meetings/10\_1.htm">http://www.austintexas.gov/cityclerk/boards\_commissions/meetings/10\_1.htm</a> for backup material associated with this agenda.

## **VIEW THIS MEETING:**

All ATXN (Channel 6) programming is cablecast on Time Warner and Grande cable channel 6, AT&T U-Verse Channel 99 and webcast online. Over 20 meetings per month, including this commission meeting, are available on demand online, typically within a few hours of cablecast. Schedules and video at: <a href="http://www.austintexas.gov/department/channel-6">http://www.austintexas.gov/department/channel-6</a>

### **CURRENT COMMISSION MEMBERS:**

Virgilia Singh - Mayor Steve Adler

VACANT - Council Member Ora Houston, District 1

Narissa Johnson - Council Member Delia Garza, District 2

Malcolm Yeatts - Council Member Sabino "Pio" Renteria, District 3

David Alexander - Council Member Gregorio Casar, District 4

Dave Floyd - Council Member Ann Kitchen, District 5

Lemuel Williams - Council Member Don Zimmerman, District 6

Mateo Clarke - Council Member Leslie Pool, District 7

Tanner Vaughan - Council Member Ellen Troxclair, District 8

Angela Newell - Mayor Pro Tem Kathie Tovo, District 9

Sumit DasGupta - Council Member Sheri Gallo, District 10

## **Commission Members Present:**

Malcolm Yeatts

**David Alexander** 

Dave Floyd

**Lemuel Williams** 

Mateo Clarke

Tanner Vaughan

Angela Newell

Sumit DasGupta

#### **Commission Members Absent:**

Narissa Johnson

### **Commission Member with Excused Absence:**

Virgilia Singh

# **City Staff in Attendance:**

Rondella Hawkins John Speirs Jane Reina

### **CALL TO ORDER**

The meeting was called to order at 6:33 pm

#### 1. CITIZEN COMMUNICATION: GENERAL

The first ten speakers signed up prior to the meeting being called to order will each be allowed a three-minute allotment to address their concerns regarding items not posted on the agenda.

No citizens signed up for general citizen communications.

### 2. APPROVAL OF MINUTES – April 13, 2016

Minutes from the Commission's regular meeting of April 13, 2016 were approved on Commissioner DasGupta's motion; Commissioner Clarke's second, on a vote of 8-0. (Commissioner Johnson absent. Commission Singh excused absence)

- 3. Commission Updates (Discussion and Possible Action)
  - a. Commission Effectiveness Working Group.

Commissioner Vaughn gave an overview of this group's goals.

# b. Civic Technology Working Group.

Commissioner Yeatts stated a presentation was given to the Economic Opportunity Committee on the Music and Creative Ecosystem. This presentation can be used as a model for a presentation on the need for increased funding for programs that promote digital literacy and infrastructure as a way to improve the Austin economy. The presentation references a Council Resolution directing the City Manager "to develop a plan of action to address a variety of priorities, goals and objectives". The most relevant section of this presentation for Telecommunications Commission is Focus 2: "Identify and Align City of Austin Regulations, Operations and Incentives..."

Link to model for recommending increased funding:

http://www.austintexas.gov/department/city-council/2016/20160509-eoc.htm

## c. Community Engagement Working Group.

Commissioner DasGupta reported that he and Ms. Hawkins met with the City Chief Information Officer regarding the City of Austin's Future Interconnect Infrastructure Roadmap and is working with the remaining working group members to meet also. This group is working on a strategy to create public infrastructure that all private companies can

share, competition among provider that will increase the options and lower the cast of serves for Austin citizens.

# d. Open Government Working Group.

Motion to approve the recommendation to Council in support of the proposed Lobby Reform Ordinance was made on Commissioner Newell's vote; Commissioner DasGupta;s second. On a vote of 8-0 (Commissioner Johnson absent. Commissioner Singh excused absence)

Link to recommendation: http://www.austintexas.gov/edims/document.cfm?id=260983

# 4. Staff Updates

a. Staff briefing on Telecommunications & Regulatory Affairs (TARA) Proposed FY17 Budget. (written report)

Visit this link for the written report.

http://www.austintexas.gov/edims/document.cfm?id=260985

b. Legislative & Regulatory Overview, & Public, Educational & Government (PEG) Access. (written report)

Visit this link for the written report.

http://www.austintexas.gov/edims/document.cfm?id=260982

## 5. FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS

Next Regular Meeting: September 14, 2016 at Austin Public

Commission Updates (Discussion and Possible Action)

- Commission Effectiveness Working Group.
- Civic Technology Working Group.
- Community Engagement Working Group.
- Open Government Working Group.

Grant for Technology Opportunities Working Group update & possible recommendation.

Staff presentation on ABIA technology.

Staff update on Distracted Driving ordinance.

Google update on fiber deployment and community connections.

#### 6. ADJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned at 8:45 pm

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planed with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 4 days before the

meeting date. Please contact Jane Reina at the Office of Telecommunications & Regulatory Affairs at (512) 974-2999, for additional information; TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711.

For more information on the Community Technology & Telecommunications Commission, please visit their website at <a href="http://www.austintexas.gov/cttc">http://www.austintexas.gov/cttc</a> or contact Jane Reina at <a href="mailto:jane.reina@austintexas.gov">jane.reina@austintexas.gov</a>.

Posting Submitted by: Jane Reina, Administrative Specialist, Friday, August 5, 2016