

# BOND OVERSIGHT COMMISION MINUTES

## SPECIAL CALLED MEETING 2 August 2016

The Bond Oversight Commission convened in a special called meeting on Aug 2, 2016 at 301 W  $2^{nd}$  St. in Austin, Texas.

The Commission Meeting was called to order at 6:02 p.m.

#### **Commission Members in Attendance:**

Keri Burchard-Juarez, Chair Moses Garcia, Vice Chair Duke Browne Sumit DasGupta Brennan Griffin Linda Guerrero Kristina Hager Wolfgang Niedert Santiago Rodriguez Jay Sands

Staff in Attendance: Katy Zamesnik, Financial Services

#### 1. CITIZEN COMMUNICATION: GENERAL

Anand Raghonathan spoke in support of the full \$720 million bond. He stated he was frustrated by missing sidewalks and that he did not want to see the bond broken up into different propositions

David Falk, a pedestrian and cyclist, stated his support for keeping the bond package as one proposition.

Hayden Walker donated time.

Mercedes Feris, BikeAustin, stated her desire to keep the bond as one package.

Jake Spidle, District 1 representative, supports keeping the bond package as one.

George Cofer stated his support for a one line item package of funding.

Ted Siff, 46 year resident and citizen advocate for CIP for 25 years, stated that it was best practice to offer the voters one transportation proposition. He also asked how does this bond impact 2018 and beyond.

## 2. Discussion and possible action on potential upcoming bond elections.

Commissioners debated the deliverables for a recommendation to Council on the bond package. Various elements of the bond were discussed, including keeping the proposition as one or breaking it down into elements, and whether there was sufficient funding for sidewalks, especially near schools. Resolution 1 was passed 9-1 on Commissioner Griffin's motion,

Commissioner Sands' second, with Commissioner Niedert abstaining. Resolution 2 was passed unanimously on Commissioner Griffin's motion, Commissioner Das Gupta's second.

## 4. FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS

### 9. ADJOURN

Chair Burchard-Juarez adjourned the meeting at 8:13 pm without objection.

The minutes from August 2, 2016 were approved on Commissioner Guerrero's motion, Commissioner Sand's second, on an 9-0-1 vote, with Commissioner Thomas abstaining