

Visitor Impact Task Force January 3, 2017 3:00pm Palmer Events Center Meeting Room 1-2 900 Barton Springs Rd. Austin, TX 78704

MINUTES

In Attendance:

Gavin Garcia, Music Industry Representative Catlin Whitington, Music Industry Representative Lulu Flores, Arts Community Representative Mari Ben Ramsey, Arts Community Representative James Russell, Special Events Industry Representative Julie Niehoff, Special Events Industry Representative Tom Noonan, Austin Convention & Visitors Bureau Representative Shelly Schadegg, Hotel Industry Representative Bill Worsham- Public Safety Community Representative Alyson McGee- Preservation Community Representative Dan Keshet- Parks Community Representative Mark Tester- Convention Center Representative Dewitt Peart- Downtown Commission Representative Jonathan Mahone- Community Member Representative Ashwin Ghatalia- Tourism Workforce Representative Stephen Sternschein, Tourism Workforce Representative Pam Thompson- Environmental Community Representative Skeeter Miller, Restaurant Industry Representative Sara Hartley, Public Works Department Representative (ex-officio) Gordon Derr, Transportation Department Representative (ex-officio)

Absent:

Skeeter Miller, Restaurant Industry Representative

Staff and Others In Attendance:

Mark Washington, ACM
Larry Schooler, CPIO, Facilitator
Felicia Ojeda, Austin Convention Center Department
Carla Steffen, Austin Convention Center Department
Terri McBride, Austin Convention Center Department
Mike Cannatti, Barton Springs Conservancy
Bill Bunch, Save Our Springs Alliance
Petu Mullan, Waller Creek Conservancy
Clifford Gillard, Capitol Views Arts

AGENDA

1. CALL MEETING TO ORDER

a. Meeting called to order at 3:04pm by Larry Schooler

2. CITIZEN COMMUNICATION: GENERAL

a. No Citizen Comments

3. Approval of Minutes from December 12, 2016 Meeting

- a. Approval was made by Chair, James Russell's motion and Gavin Garcia's second
- b. Vote 16 -1, Skeeter Miller was absent
- c. Mark Tester, Austin Convention Center
 - *i.* Recused himself from all future votes on the agendas and remains as city staff member on the Task Force

4. OLD BUSINESS:

- a. Introduction of the New Task Force Member that were absent on December 12, 2016 meeting
 - i. Ashwin Ghatalia, Jonathan Mahone and Dewitt Peart
- **b.** Discussion and possible action on the Selection of the Chair and Vice-Chair
 - i. James Russell was nominated as Chair. Votes 11, Skeeter Miller was absent
 - ii. MariBen Ramsey was nominated as Vice Chair. Votes 8 vs. 6 votes for Nominated Dewitt Peart as Vice Chair, Skeeter Miller was absent
 - iii. James Russell, Chair and MariBen Ramsey, Vice-Chair

5. STAFF BRIEFINGS

- a. Law Department (Leela Fireside) Training and Presentation on Ethics and Conflicts of Interests
- **b.** Overview of the Hotel Occupancy Tax (Leela Fireside)
- c. Current uses of the Hotel Occupancy Tax funds by Austin Convention Center (Carla Steffen)
- **d.** Current uses of the Hotel Occupancy Tax funds by Austin Convention and Visitor's Bureau (Tom Noonan)

6. ADJOURNMENT

a. Facilitator, Larry Schooler adjourned the meeting at 5:47pm

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days (48 hours) before the meeting date. Please call Larry Schooler at Communication and Public Information Office Department, at 512.974.6004, larry.schooler@austintexas.gov for additional information; TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711.

For more information on the Visitor Impact Task Force, please contact Felicia Ojeda at 512.404.4022, felicia.ojeda@austintexas.gov.