

ENVIRONMENTAL COMMISSION DRAINAGE INFRASTRUCTURE AND FLOOD MITIGATION **COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES** Wednesday, March 8, 2017

The Environmental Commission Drainage Infrastructure and Flood Mitigation Committee convened in a public meeting on Wednesday, March 8, 2017 at One Texas Center in Big 12 Conference Room at 505 Barton Springs Road, Austin, Texas 78767.

Commissioners in Attendance:

Marisa Perales Pam Thompson Mary Ann Neely Hank Smith **Brian Smith**

Commissioners Absent: None

Staff in Attendance:

Kaela Champlin Matt Hollon Chuck Lesniak

1. CALL TO ORDER

Commissioner Perales called the meeting to order at 11:05 a.m.

2. CITIZEN COMMUNICATION: GENERAL

Speakers should sign up to speak prior to the meeting being called to order; you will receive a three-minute allotment to discuss topics not posted on the agenda.

3. **APPROVAL OF MINUTES AND ACTION**

a. Approve the minutes of the Drainage Infrastructure and Flood Mitigation Committee meeting of February 15, 2017

The minutes of the Drainage Infrastructure and Flood Mitigation Committee meeting of February 15, 2017 were approved on Commissioner Hank Smith's motion, Commissioner Neely's second on a 5-0 vote.

STAFF BRIEFINGS* 4.

a. Briefing on status of Flood Mitigation Task Force Recommendations, Matt Hollon, Environmental Conservation Program Manager, Watershed Protection Department Item conducted as posted. No action taken.

5. **ITEMS FOR CONSIDERATION AND POSSIBLE ACTION**

a. Discuss and consider Drainage Infrastructure and Flood Mitigation Committee meeting schedule

Item 5a was postponed until next meeting. No action taken.

ADJOURNMENT 6.

Commissioner Perales adjourned the meeting at 12:34 p.m.

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days before the meeting date. For additional information, please call **Kaela Champlin**, Watershed Protection Department, at (512) 974-3443; TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711. For more information on the Environmental Commission, please contact **Kaela Champlin**, Watershed Protection Department, at (512) 974-3443.

* A member of the public may not address a board or commission at a meeting on an item posted as a briefing, per City Code Section 2-1-144(E).