

ENVIRONMENTAL COMMISSION MEETING MINUTES Wednesday, March 1, 2017

The Environmental Commission convened in a public meeting on Wednesday, March 1, 2017 at City Hall in the Council Chambers at 301 W. 2nd Street, Austin, Texas 78701.

Commissioners in Attendance:

Andrew Creel Pam Thompson Mary Ann Neely Hank Smith Richard Grayum Brian Smith

Commissioners Absent:

Marisa Perales Michael Moya Peggy Maceo Linda Guerrero

Staff in Attendance:

Sue Barnett Taylor Horton Pamela Abee-Taulli Chuck Lesniak Kaela Champlin

1. CALL TO ORDER

Commissioner Hank Smith called the meeting to order at 6:05 P.M.

2. CITIZEN COMMUNICATION: GENERAL

Speakers should sign up to speak prior to the meeting being called to order; you will receive a three-minute allotment to discuss topics not posted on the agenda.

3. EDUCATION

a. None

4. APPROVAL OF MINUTES AND ACTION

a. Approve the minutes of the regular Environmental Commission meeting of February 15, 2017 The minutes of the regular Environmental Commission meeting of February 15, 2017 were approved on Commissioner Grayum's motion, Commissioner Neely's second on a 6-0 vote. Commissioners Perales, Maceo, Moya and Guerrero were absent.

5. ENVIRONMENTAL OFFICER'S UPDATE ON PAST COMMISSION ACTIONS AND REPORT ON ITEMS OF INTEREST

a. None

6. STAFF BRIEFINGS*

a. None

7. ITEMS FOR CONSIDERATION AND POSSIBLE ACTION

 Briefing on project to encourage greater use of Green Stormwater Infrastructure (GSI) and support for the creation of a comprehensive GSI master plan for Austin – Brian Zabcik, Clean Air & Water Advocate, Environment Texas

A motion referring Item 7a to the Water Quality Regulations Committee was approved on Commissioner Grayum's motion, Commissioner Neely's second. Vote 6-0. Commissioners Perales, Maceo, Moya and Guerrero were absent.

8. PUBLIC HEARINGS AND POSSIBLE ACTION

a. Name: Easton Park Section 2B Preliminary Plan C8J-2015-0255.SH (D-2)
Applicant: Peloton Land Solutions
Location: 7901 Colton Bluff Springs Rd.

Staff: Pamela Abee-Taulli, Environmental Review Specialist, Development Services Department **Watershed:** Cottonmouth Creek and North Fork Dry Creek Suburban Desired Development Zone

Request: 1. LDC 30-5-341(A) to allow cut from 4 to 12 feet on 19 acres

2. LDC 30-5-342(A) to allow fill from 8 to 10 feet on 2.6 acres

Staff Recommendation: Not recommended for approval

Reasons for Recommendation: The findings of fact have not been met

A motion referring Item 8a to a Joint Water Quality and Development Committee failed on Commissioner Neely's motion, seconded by Commissioner Thompson. Vote 4-2. Those voting aye were: Commissioners Neely and Thompson. Those voting nay were: Commissioners Hank Smith, Creel, Grayum and Brian Smith. Commissioners Perales, Maceo, Moya and Guerrero were absent.

A motion referring Item 8a to a Joint Water Quality Regulations and Development Committee was made by Commissioner Neely, seconded by Commissioner Thompson. Commissioner Hank Smith proposed an amendment to the motion that the Joint Water Quality Regulations and Development Committee meet before March 8, 2017 and to hold a Special-Called Meeting before March 15, 2017, and before the Zoning and Platting Commission Regular Meeting on March 21, 2017 that was accepted by Commissioner Neely. Vote 6-0. Commissioners Perales, Maceo, Moya and Guerrero were absent.

A motion to close the public hearing was approved on Commissioner Thompson's motion, Commissioner Grayum's second. Vote 6-0. Commissioners Perales, Maceo, Moya and Guerrero were absent.

9. COMMITTEE REPORTS

a. Urban Growth Policy Committee - Marisa Perales, Pam Thompson, and Hank Smith

- b. Development Committee Marisa Perales, Richard Grayum, Pam Thompson, and Hank Smith
- c. Water Quality Regulations Committee Mary Ann Neely, Brian Smith, Peggy Maceo, Pam Thompson, Hank Smith, Richard Grayum, and Andrew Creel
- d. Watershed Protection Budget Committee Marisa Perales, Mary Ann Neely, Andrew Creel, and Pam Thompson

- e. Air Quality Committee Marisa Perales, Mary Ann Neely, Andrew Creel, Peggy Maceo, and Pam Thompson, Linda Guerrero
- f. Urban Forest Committee Peggy Maceo, Pam Thompson, Linda Guerrero and Mary Ann Neely
- g. Drainage Infrastructure and Flood Mitigation Committee Marisa Perales, Pam Thompson, Mary Ann Neely, Michael Moya, Hank Smith, Richard Grayum and Brian Smith
- h. Report from Pam Thompson on the Visitor Impact Task Force
- i. Report from Mary Ann Neely on the Joint Sustainability Committee
- j. Report from Mary Ann Neely on the Balcones Canyon Conservation Plan Citizen's Advisory Committee
- k. Report on the Joint Committee of the Environmental Commission and Parks and Recreation Board – Linda Guerrero, Mary Ann Neely, Peggy Maceo, and Michael Moya
- 1. Other reports from Commissioners

10. NEW BUSINESS – Future agenda items a. None

11. ADJOURNMENT Commissioner Hank Smith adjourned the meeting at 8:34 P.M.

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days before the meeting date. For additional information, please call **Kaela Champlin**, Watershed Protection Department, at (512) 974-3443; TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711. For more information on the Environmental Commission, please contact **Kaela Champlin**, Watershed Protection Department, at (512) 974-3443.

* A member of the public may not address a board or commission at a meeting on an item posted as a briefing, per City Code Section 2-1-144(E).