

Environmental Commission Drainage Infrastructure and Flood Mitigation Committee May 3, 2017 at 11:00 A.M. – 12:30 P.M.

One Texas Center
505 Barton Springs Road 12th Floor
Big 12 Conference Room
Austin, Texas 78704

Agenda

COMMISSIONERS:

Marisa Perales (D-2) Pam Thompson (D-3) Mary Ann Neely (D-5)

Hank Smith (D-8) Brian Smith (Mayor)

EX OFFICIO MEMBERS:

Ken Jacob Rose Marie Klee Carol Olewin

1. CALL TO ORDER

2. CITIZEN COMMUNICATION: GENERAL

Speakers should sign up to speak prior to the meeting being called to order; you will receive a three-minute allotment to discuss topics not posted on the agenda.

3. APPROVAL OF MINUTES AND ACTION

a. Approve the minutes of the Drainage Infrastructure and Flood Mitigation Committee meeting of April 19, 2017

4. ITEMS FOR CONSIDERATION AND POSSIBLE ACTION

- a. Briefing on floodplain variance process—Karl McArthur, Engineer C, Watershed Protection Department
- Discuss and consider Flood Mitigation Task Force Recommendations in CodeNEXT: What was included and what was not included—Matt Hollon, Environmental Conservation Program Manager, Watershed Protection Department

5. ADJOURNMENT

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days before the meeting date. For additional information, please call **Kaela Champlin**, Watershed Protection Department, at (512) 974-3443; TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711. For more information on the Environmental Commission, please contact **Kaela Champlin**, Watershed Protection Department, at (512) 974-3443.

* A member of the public may not address a board or commission at a meeting on an item posted as a briefing, per City Code Section 2-1-144(E).