

ENVIRONMENTAL COMMISSION MOTION 20170405 007c

Date: April 5, 2017

Subject: Restructuring of standing committees of the Environmental Commission

Motion by: Hank Smith Seconded by: Pam Thompson

RATIONALE:

Whereas, the members of the Environmental Commission desire to restructure some of the existing committees in an effort to better recognize the function of the overall land development process including: combining the Urban Growth Policy Committee and the Water Quality Regulations Committee into a single committee that will focus on overall development policy issues; utilizing the Development Committee to focus on planned unit developments (PUDs), redevelopment, variances and specific project related issues; restructuring the Watershed Protection Department Budget committee as a working group; and leaving the Air Quality, Urban Forestry and Drainage Infrastructure and Flood Mitigation Committees in their current structure as follows:

Urban Growth Policy and Water Quality Protection Committee

The committee works on environmental aspects or impacts of development, water quality protection and regulation, and related City policies within Austin and nearby areas that could impact Austin, including the recommendations from the Lake Austin Task Force.

Development Committee

The committee works on development issues and development related ordinances, including any development being planned under the redevelopment exception to the SOS Ordinance as well as CodeNEXT and PUD issues.

Watershed Protection Department Budget Committee

The committee reviews and recommends for approval the annual budget for the Watershed Protection Department. It is recommended that this committee be eliminated and change to a working group consistent with the bylaws of the Environmental Commission.

Air Quality

No Changes

<u>Urban Forestry Committee</u>

No Changes

Drainage Infrastructure and Flood Mitigation Committee

No Changes

Therefore, the Environmental Commission recommends support of the request to modify the existing Environmental Commission committees.

VOTE 9-0

For: B. Smith, Thompson, Neely, H. Smith, Perales, Maceo, Kitchin, Guerrero, Gordon

Against: None Abstain: None Recuse: None Absent: Creel

Approved By:

Marisa Perales, Environmental Commission Chair

Marix Bul