

## Environmental Commission Regular Meeting July 13, 2017 at 6:00 P.M. City Hall Executive Session Room, 301 W. 2<sup>nd</sup> Street Austin, Texas 78701

## Agenda

## **COMMISSIONERS:**

Andrew Creel (D-1)	Marisa Perales (D-2) Chair	Pam Thompson (D-3)	Alesha Istvan (D-4)
Mary Ann Neely (D-5)	Brytne Kitchin (D-6)	Peggy Maceo (D-7) Vice Chair	Hank Smith (D-8) Secretary
Linda Guerrero (D-9)	Wendy Gordon (D-10)	Brian Smith (Mayor)	

The Environmental Commission will convene for a Commission Retreat at 6:00 pm on Thursday, July 13, 2017 at City Hall in the Executive Session Room. The Agenda for the Retreat is as follows:

- 1. Discuss Environmental Commission highlights and accomplishments from FY 2016-17 (10 minutes)
- 2. Discuss Bylaws and scope of the Environmental Commission (15 minutes)
- 3. Discuss internal communication systems, including email correspondence and requests for agenda items (10 minutes)
- 4. Discuss Environmental Commission actions (30 minutes)
  - a. Consider adding suggested time allotments for agenda items at regular meetings
  - b. Structure of a motion
  - c. Resolutions vs. Recommendations
- 5. Commission Development (45 hour)
  - a. Discuss variances and Environmental Review—Sue Barnett, Environmental Policy Program Manager, Development Services Department
  - b. New language for Findings of Fact—Chuck Lesniak, Environmental Officer, Watershed Protection Department
- 6. Next Steps (10 minutes)
  - a. 2016 Annual Review Report
  - b. New items

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days before the meeting date. For additional information, please call **Kaela Champlin**, Watershed Protection Department, at (512) 974-3443; TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711. For more information on the Environmental Commission, please contact **Kaela Champlin**, Watershed Protection Department, at (512) 974-3443.

\* A member of the public may not address a board or commission at a meeting on an item posted as a briefing, per City Code Section 2-1-144(E).