

40 Worth Street, 10th Floor, New York, NY 10013 | t: 212.430.5982 | info@abetterbalance.org | abetterbalance.org

Overview of Paid Sick Time Laws in the United States

In the United States, 7 states, 29 cities, 2 counties, and Washington D.C. have paid sick time laws on the books. This document provides an overview and comparison of these 39 laws.¹

Section I provides a comparison of paid sick time laws that are—or will soon be—in effect at the statewide level, as well as Washington D.C.'s law.

Section II provides a comparison of the seven local paid sick time laws that are—or will soon be—in effect in California.

Section III provides a comparison of paid sick time laws that are—or will soon be—in effect at the county and city level, with the exception of the seven California cities in Section II.

Section IV provides a brief overview of additional paid sick time laws that are narrower than the ones covered in this chart.

				I. Statewide and W	Vashington D.C.'s Paid Sick	Time Laws		
	Connecticut	California ²	Massachusetts	Oregon ³	Washington D.C.	Vermont ⁴	Arizona	Washington State ⁵
Who is covered?	Hourly workers in certain "service" occupations in Connecticut are covered, if they work for a business with 50 or more workers. For the full list of which professions are covered "service" occupations, go to www.ctdol.state.ct.us/wgwkst nd/SickLeaveLaw.htm and look at the definition of "service worker" (Sec. 31-57r(7)). Certain manufacturers and non-profit organizations are exempted, as are temporary and day laborers.	Workers employed in California for 30 or more days a year after commencement of employment are covered. Flight deck/cabin crews subject to Railway Labor Act with comparable paid time off are exempted. Workers who provide in- home supportive care are exempted until July 1, 2018, at which point they will be able to accrue paid sick time (subject to specific usage and carryover provisions). ²	Workers employed in Massachusetts are covered. Workers employed by cities and towns are only covered if the law is accepted by vote or appropriation as provided in the State Constitution.	Workers employed in Oregon are covered. Independent contractors, certain work study students, certain railroad workers, and individuals employed by their parent, spouse, or child are exempted.	Workers employed by an employer within Washington, D.C are covered. The following individuals are exempted: independent contractors; students; health care workers choosing to participate in a premium pay program; unpaid volunteers engaged in the activities of an educational, charitable, religious, or nonprofit organization; and casual babysitters.	Workers employed by an employer in Vermont for an average of no less than 18 hours per week during a year are covered. The following individuals are exempted: workers under 18 years of age; workers employed for 20 or fewer weeks in a year in a job scheduled to last 20 or fewer weeks; certain State workers excluded from the State classified service; certain employees who work on a per diem or intermittent basis at a health care or long-term care facility; certain per diem or intermittent workers who only work when indicating availability, have no obligation to accept the work, and have no expectation of continued employment; certain substitute educators for a school district or supervisory district/union if under no obligation to work a regular schedule or period of long-term (30 or more consecutive school days) substitute coverage; and certain sole proprietors/partner owners of an unincorporated business.	Workers employed by an employer in Arizona are covered. State government workers, but not local government workers, are exempted. Individuals employed by a parent or a sibling and individuals performing babysitting services in the employer's home on a casual basis are also exempted.	Workers employed by an employer in Washington are covered. Workers exempt from the state minimum wage law are also exempt from the paid sick time law. See http://www.lni.wa.gov/workplace rights/files/policies/esa1.pdf for a detailed list of exemptions.
Can sick time be used to care for loved ones?	Yes: children and spouses	Yes: children; parents; grandchildren; grandparents; spouses; registered domestic partners; parents of a spouse or domestic partner; and siblings	Yes: children; spouses; parents; or parents of a spouse	Yes: children; spouses; same-sex domestic partners; parents; parents of a spouse or same-sex domestic partner; grandparents; and grandchildren	Yes: children; grandchildren; spouses of children; siblings; spouses of siblings; parents; parents of a spouse/domestic partner; spouses; registered domestic partners; and a person with whom the worker has a committed (mutual, familial) relationship and has shared a mutual residence for at least the preceding 12 months	Yes: children; parents; parents-in-law; grandparents; spouses; grandchildren; and siblings	Yes: children; parents; parents of a spouse or registered domestic partner; spouses; registered domestic partners; grandparents, grandchildren, or siblings (of the employee or the employee's spouse/registered domestic partner); and any other individual related by blood or affinity whose close association with the employee is the equivalent of a family relationship	Yes: children; parents; parents of a spouse or registered domestic partner; spouses; registered domestic partners; grandparents; grandchildren; and siblings
How is "child" defined?	Biological, foster, or adopted children, stepchildren, legal wards, or the child of a worker standing in loco parentis to the child. The child must be under 18 or incapable of self-care because of a mental/physical disability.	Biological, adopted, or foster child, stepchild, legal ward, or the child of a worker standing in loco parentis to the child	Biological, adopted, or foster child, stepchild, a legal ward, or a child of a person who has assumed the responsibilities of parenthood	Biological, adopted, or foster child, or a child of a worker standing in loco parentis to the child. According to current regulations in Oregon, this definition of child also includes a stepchild or the child of a same-sex domestic partner.	Biological children, foster children, grandchildren, or a child who lives with the worker and for whom the worker permanently assumes and discharges parental responsibility	Undefined. The law specifically covers care of a child or foster child.	Biological, adopted or foster children, stepchildren or legal wards, a child of a domestic partner, a child to whom the employee stands in loco parentis, or an individual to whom the employee stood in loco parentis when the individual was a minor	Biological, adopted, or foster children, stepchildren, or a child to whom the employee stands in loco parentis, is a legal guardian, or is a de facto parent, regardless of age or dependency status
Can sick time be used for specific "safe time" purposes (related to domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking)?	Yes, but only when the worker is the victim	Yes, but only when the worker is the victim	Yes, but only when the worker or the worker's dependent child is the victim	Yes, but only when the worker or the worker's minor child or dependent is the victim	Yes, when the worker or the worker's family member is the victim	Yes, when the worker or the worker's family member is the victim	Yes, when the worker or the worker's family member is the victim	Yes, when the worker or the worker's family member (for safe time purposes: a child, spouse, parent, parent-in-law, grandparent, or person with whom the worker has a dating relationship) is the victim
Can sick time be used under the law to bond with a new child and/or deal with a family member's death? [†]		No.	No.	Yes: 1) to bond with a newborn, newly adopted, or newly placed foster child under age 18; or 2) to deal with the death of a family member (including to attend the funeral, grieve, make arrangements).	No.	No.	No.	No.
Can sick time be used when a worker's place of work or child's school/place of care is closed by public health officials for a public health emergency?	No.	No.	No.	Yes.	No.	Yes, for public health or safety reasons.	Yes.	Yes, when closed for any health-related reasons (not only public health emergencies).

[&]quot;Safe time" refers to time off for purposes related to domestic violence, sexual assault or stalking (like the need for time off to obtain protective orders, relocate, etc.). Note that a victim of domestic violence, sexual assault or stalking can use sick time to attend to medical/preventive health issues like any other worker, and workers may use sick time related to the medical/preventive health issues of a family member. Also, some of these laws may only cover safe time if the domestic violence, sexual assault and/or stalking occurs between certain individuals (such as family members, household members, dating relationships, etc.).

Page 1 of 8 Last Updated August 24, 2017

Note: It is possible that other laws, such as the Family and Medical Leave Act or a state equivalent, could provide eligible workers with unpaid leave for these purposes.



40 Worth Street, 10th Floor, New York, NY 10013 | t: 212.430.5982 | info@abetterbalance.org | abetterbalance.org

	Connecticut	California ²	Massachusetts	Oregon ³	Washington D.C.	Vermont ⁴	Arizona	Washington State ⁵
Rate at which workers earn paid sick time?	1 hour for every 40 hours worked	1 hour for every 30 hours worked	1 hour for every 30 hours worked (for both paid and unpaid sick time, as described below)	1 hour for every 30 hours worked or 1 and 1/3 hours for every 40 hours worked (for both paid and unpaid sick time, as described below)	In businesses with 24 or fewer workers: 1 hour for every 87 hours worked. In businesses with 25-99 workers (and workers in a restaurant or bar with 1-99 workers who regularly receive tips to supplement a base wage below the minimum wage): 1 hour for every 43 hours worked. In businesses with 100 or more workers: 1 hour for every 37 hours worked	1 hour for every 52 hours worked	1 hour for every 30 hours worked	1 hour for every 40 hours worked
Amount of paid sick time that can be earned under the law per year? (Note: All of these paid sick time laws make it clear that these laws establish a minimum requirement, and employers can provide greater or more generous paid sick time benefits to their workers.)	Up to 40 hours of paid sick time a year	Employers may cap the amount of paid sick time a worker <i>earns</i> at 48 hours or 6 days. Employers may also cap the amount of paid sick time a worker can <i>use each year</i> at 24 hours or 3 days.	Workers in businesses with 11 or more workers: up to 40 hours of paid sick time a year. Workers in businesses with fewer than 11 workers: up to 40 hours of <i>unpaid</i> sick time a year	Larger businesses: Workers in businesses with at least 10 or more workers: up to 40 hours of paid sick time a year Employers located in Portland: If a business is located in Portland (including maintaining any office, store, restaurant, or establishment in the city) and has at least 6 workers anywhere in Oregon, workers have the right to earn up to 40 hours of paid sick time a year. Smaller businesses: Workers in businesses with fewer than 10 workers (or fewer than 6 workers if the business is located in Portland): up to 40 hours of unpaid sick time a year. Special rule for some home care workers: Certain home care workers who are hired directly by the client but whose compensation is funded in whole or part by payments from the State, county, or a public agency must receive up to 40 hours of paid time off a year (including but not limited to sick time).	Workers in businesses with 24 or fewer workers: up to 24 hours a year. Workers in businesses with 25-99 workers (and workers in a restaurant or bar with 1-99 workers who regularly receive tips to supplement a base wage below the minimum wage): up to 40 hours a year. Workers in businesses with 100 or more workers: up to 56 hours a year. The number of workers is determined by the average monthly number of full-time equivalents in the prior year.	From 1/1/2017 to 12/31/2018: Up to 24 hours a year. After 12/31/2018: Up to 40 hours a year. Note: new businesses will not be subject to the paid sick time law for a period of one year after hiring their first worker.	Workers in businesses with 15 or more workers: 40 hours. Workers in businesses with fewer than 15 workers: 24 hours.	No explicit cap on how much sick time can be earned or used in a year. However, as described below, employers are not required to allow a worker to carry over more than 40 hours of unused paid sick time a year.
begin to earn paid sick time?	At the commencement of employment, but workers aren't entitled to use paid sick time until the 680th hour of employment.	At the commencement of employment, but workers aren't entitled to use paid sick time until the 90 th day of employment. As noted earlier, the law covers a worker when the worker, on or after July 1, 2015, works in California for more than 30 days within a year from the commencement of employment.	At the date of hire, but workers aren't entitled to use sick time until the 90th calendar day following commencement of employment.	At the commencement of employment or January 1, 2016, whichever is later. For a worker employed on the law's effective date of January 1, 2016, earned sick time may be used as it is earned. For workers who begin employment after the effective date of January 1, 2016, workers aren't entitled to use earned sick time until the 91st calendar day of employment with the employer.	At the commencement of employment, but workers aren't entitled to use paid sick time until after 90 days of service with his or her employer.	At the commencement of employment or when their employer becomes covered by the law, whichever is later, but workers can be required to wait up to 1 year before using their accrued paid sick time. See endnote 4 on page 6 for more.	At the commencement of employment or July 1, 2017, whichever is later. Earned paid sick time can be used as it is accrued, except that an employer may require a worker hired after July 1, 2017, to wait until the 90th calendar day after commencing employment before using accrued earned paid sick time.	Although not specified, reads as if accrual begins at the commencement of employment. Workers are entitled to use accrued paid sick time beginning on the 90th calendar day after the commencement of employment.
to the subsequent year?	Workers are entitled to carry forward up to 40 hours of unused paid sick time, but employers are not required to allow use of more than 40 hours of paid sick time a year.	Workers are entitled to carry forward unused paid sick time, but employers aren't required to allow use of more than 24 hours (or three days) of paid sick time per year. Carry forward is not required if the full amount of paid sick time (24 hours, or three days) is provided at the beginning of each year.	Workers are entitled to carry forward up to 40 hours of unused sick time, but employers aren't required to allow use of more than 40 hours of sick time a year. Per regulations, employers may choose to pay out workers up to 40 hours of unused sick time at the end of the year. If an employer pays out a worker for 16 hours or more of unused sick time, they must provide 16 hours of unpaid sick time up front in the new year; if they pay out less than 16 hours, they shall provide an equivalent amount of unpaid sick time up front in the new year. In either case, this unpaid sick time is replaced by paid sick time as the worker earns it.	Workers are entitled to carry forward up to 40 hours of unused sick time. An employer may adopt a policy: limiting the amount of sick time that can be earned to no more than 80 hours; or limiting use of sick time to no more than 40 hours a year. Carry forward is not required if the following elements are met: 1) the worker and the employer mutually agree not to carry forward the time; 2) the employer credits the worker with an amount of sick time that meets the law's requirements up front at the start of the subsequent year; and 3) if the employer has 10 or more workers in OR, the employer pays the worker for all unused paid sick time at the end of the year in which it is earned.	Per regulations, workers can carry forward unused paid sick time, but employers aren't required to allow use of more than: 56 hours of paid sick time a year (for businesses with 100 or more workers); 40 hours of paid sick time a year (for businesses with at least 25 and fewer than 100 workers—this presumably will also be the rule for tipped workers in a restaurant or bar with 1-99 workers); or 24 hours of paid sick time a year (for business with fewer than 25 workers).	Workers are entitled to carry forward unused paid sick time and shall continue to accrue paid sick time, but employers aren't required to allow use of more than 24 hours (from 1/1/2017 to 12/31/2018) or 40 hours (after 12/31/2018) a year. However, employers are not required to carry it forward if they choose to pay a worker for unused paid sick time at the end of the year. If an employer offers a paid time off (PTO) policy or is party to a CBA that provides at least the full amount of PTO required by the paid sick time law at the beginning of each year and it can be used for the law's purposes at any time during the year, it shall not carry forward.	Workers are entitled to carry forward unused paid sick time, but employers aren't required to allow annual accrual or use of more than: 40 hours of paid sick time a year (for businesses with 15 or more workers); or 24 hours of paid sick time a year (for businesses with fewer than 15 workers). In lieu of carryover of unused earned paid sick time from one year to the next, an employer may pay a worker for unused paid sick time at the end of a year and provide the worker with an amount of paid sick time that meets or exceeds the law's requirements that is available for the worker's immediate use at the beginning of the subsequent year.	Workers are entitled to carry forward unused paid sick time, except that an employer is not required to allow a worker to carry over paid sick time in excess of 40 hours.
Private Right of Action to go to Court?	No	The State Labor Commissioner or Attorney General may bring a civil action in Court against an employer or person violating the article. The law does not explicitly address whether a worker may bring a civil action in Court.	Yes, after filing with the Attorney General	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes
exemptions for workers covered by a valid Collective Bargaining	No specific language regarding waivers or exemptions for workers covered by a CBA	Construction industry workers covered by a CBA providing certain wage/hour/working conditions and expressly waiving the law's provisions in clear and unambiguous terms are exempted. Otherwise, workers covered by a CBA providing for comparable paid time off and certain wage/hour/working conditions are exempted.	No specific language regarding waivers or exemptions for workers covered by a CBA	The law exempts workers whose terms and conditions of employment are covered by a CBA <i>if</i> their employment-related benefits are provided by a joint multi-employer-employee trust or benefit plan and they are employed through a hiring hall or similar referral system operated by the labor organization or third party.	The law's paid sick time requirements won't apply to workers in the building/construction industry covered by a CBA that expressly waives the requirements in clear and unambiguous terms. Otherwise, the law's paid sick time requirements can't be waived in the written terms of a CBA for less than 3 paid leave days.	No specific waivers or exemptions for workers covered by a CBA	All or any part of the law doesn't apply to workers covered by a CBA to the extent that the CBA explicitly waives the requirements in clear and unambiguous terms.	No specific waivers or exemptions for workers covered by a CBA
	The Connecticut Department of Labor	The California Labor Commissioner's Office, also known as the California Division of Labor Standards Enforcement (DLSE)	The Massachusetts Attorney General	The Oregon Bureau of Labor and Industries	Washington D.C. Department of Employment Services	Vermont Department of Labor	Industrial Commission of Arizona	Washington Department of Labor and Industries

^{*} All of these paid sick time laws include language making it clear that these laws establish a minimum requirement and employees can receive greater paid sick time rights through a contract, CBA, employment benefit plan, policy, standard, or other agreement.

Page 2 of 8 Last Updated August 24, 2017



40 Worth Street, 10th Floor, New York, NY 10013 | t: 212.430.5982 | info@abetterbalance.org | abetterbalance.org

	Connecticut	California ²	Massachusetts	Oregon ³	Washington D.C.	Vermont ⁴	Arizona	Washington State ⁵
For the statewide paid sick time	Not explicitly	Yes. The CA law does not preempt or limit other laws/policies that provide greater earning or use	Not explicitly	No. The Oregon law preempts—or prohibits—cities from passing their own paid sick time laws.	N/A	Not explicitly addressed in the	Yes (under	Yes
laws: can cities in the state pass	addressed in	of paid sick time. Therefore, the more expansive San Francisco, Oakland, San Diego, Emeryville,	addressed in the	However, in response to Portland's more generous paid sick time law (in effect when the state		paid sick time law	litigation)	
paid sick time laws that are	the paid sick	Santa Monica, Los Angeles, and Berkeley paid sick time laws will still apply to workers covered	paid sick time law	bill was passed), the statewide paid sick time law requires that employers located in Portland				
broader than the state law?	time law	by those laws, and other cities in CA may continue to pass broader paid sick time laws.		with at least 6 workers (anywhere in Oregon) must provide paid sick time to their workers.				

Local Paid Sick Time Laws in California

	San Francisco	Oakland	Emeryville	Santa Monica	San Diego ⁶	Los Angeles	Berkeley ⁷
Who is covered?	Workers employed within the geographic boundaries of San Francisco are covered.	Workers who, in a particular week, perform at least 2 hours of work within the geographic boundaries of Oakland and who are entitled to minimum wage under California law are covered.	Workers who, in a calendar week, perform at least 2 hours of work within the geographic boundaries of Emeryville and who are entitled to minimum wage under California law are covered.	Workers who, in a calendar week, perform at least 2 hours of work within the geographic boundaries of Santa Monica and who are entitled to minimum wage under California law are covered. Government and school district employees are exempted.	Workers who, in at least one calendar week of the year, perform at least 2 hours of work within San Diego are covered. Independent contractors, certain workers authorized under State law to be paid less than the minimum wage, certain providers of in-home supportive services under State law, workers employed under a publicly subsidized summer or short-term youth employment program, or any student employee, camp or program counselor of an organized camp under State law are exempted.	Workers who, in a particular week, perform at least 2 hours of work within the geographic boundaries of Los Angeles and who are entitled to minimum wage under California law are covered. To be entitled to paid sick time, workers must also work in Los Angeles—on or after July 1, 2016—for the same employer for 30 days or more within a year from the commencement of employment.	Workers who, in a particular week, perform at least 2 hours of work within the geographic boundaries of Berkeley and who are either entitled to minimum wage under California law.
Can paid sick time be used to care for loved ones?	Yes: children; parents; grandchildren; grandparents; spouses; registered domestic partners; siblings; and if a worker has no spouse/domestic partner, a designated person of the worker's choice. As of January 1, 2017, the parents of a spouse/domestic partner will also be covered.	Yes: children; parents; grand-parents; spouses; registered domestic partners; siblings; and, if a worker has no spouse/domestic partner, a designated person of worker's choice	Yes: children; parents; grandchildren; grandparents; spouses; registered domestic partners; parents of a spouse or domestic partner; siblings; and, if a worker has no spouse/domestic partner, a designated person of the worker's choice. Paid sick time can also be used to care for a guide dog, signal dog, or service dog of the worker or worker's family member or designated partner.	Yes: children; parents; grand-children; grand-parents; spouses; registered domestic partners; parents of a spouse or domestic partner; and siblings	Yes: children; parents; grandchildren; grandparents; spouses; domestic partners (registered under state/local law or with the internal registry of at least one partner's employer); parents of a spouse/domestic partner; and siblings	Yes: children; parents; grandchildren; grandparents; spouses; registered domestic partners; parents of a spouse or domestic partner; siblings; and any individual related by blood or affinity whose close association with the worker is the equivalent of a family relationship	Yes: children; parents; grandchildren; grand-parents; spouses; registered domestic partners; siblings; and, if a worker has no spouse/domestic partner, a designated person of worker's choice
How is "child" defined?	Legal guardians or wards; children from biological, adoptive, foster care, and step-relationships; children of a domestic partner; or the child of a worker standing in loco parentis to the child	Legal guardians or wards; children from biological, adoptive, foster care, and step- relationships; children of a domestic partner; or the child of a worker standing in loco parentis to the child	Biological, adopted, or foster child, stepchild, legal ward, or the child of a worker standing in loco parentis to the child	Biological, adopted, or foster child, stepchild, legal ward, or the child of a worker standing in loco parentis to the child	Biological, adopted, or foster child; stepchild; child of a domestic partner; legal ward; or the child of a worker standing in loco parentis to the child	Biological, adopted, or foster child, stepchild, legal ward, or the child of a worker standing in loco parentis to the child	Legal guardians or wards; children from biological, adoptive, foster care, and step-relationships; children of a domestic partner; or the child of a worker standing in loco parentis to the child
Can paid sick time be used for specific "safe time" purposes (related to domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking)?*	Yes, but only as of January 1, 2017, and only when the worker is the victim.	No, not beyond what is provided under the State's paid sick time law.	No, not beyond what is provided under the State's paid sick time law.	Yes, but only when the worker is the victim.	Yes, when the worker or the worker's family member is the victim.	Yes, but only when the worker is the victim.	No, not beyond what is provided under the State's paid sick time law.
Can paid sick time be used when a worker's place of work or child's school/place of care is closed by public health officials for a public health emergency?	No.	No.	No.	No.	Yes.	No.	No.
Rate at which workers earn paid sick time?	1 hour for every 30 hours worked	1 hour for every 30 hours worked	1 hour for every 30 hours worked	1 hour for every 30 hours worked	1 hour for every 30 hours worked	1 hour for every 30 hours worked	1 hour for every 30 hours worked
Amount of paid sick time that can be earned under the law per year? (Note: All of these paid sick time laws make it clear that these laws establish a minimum requirement, and employers can provide greater or more generous paid sick time benefits to their workers.)	Workers in businesses with 10 or more workers: up to 72 hours. Workers in businesses with fewer than 10 workers: up to 40 hours*	Workers in businesses with 10 or more workers: up to 72 hours. Workers in businesses with fewer than 10 workers: up to 40 hours*	Workers in businesses with more than 55 workers: up to 72 hours. Workers in businesses with 55 or fewer workers: up to 48 hours*	Workers in businesses with 26 or more workers: up to 40 hours (from 1/1/2017 to 12/31/2017) or 72 hours (after 12/31/2017) a year. Workers in businesses with 25 or fewer workers: up to 32 hours (from 1/1/2017 to 12/31/2017) or 40 hours (after 12/31/2017) a year.	Employers may cap the amount of paid sick time a worker earns at 80 hours. Employers may also cap the amount of paid sick time a worker can use each year at 40 hours.	Up to 48 hours a year	Workers in businesses with 25 or more workers: up to 72 hours. Workers in businesses with fewer than 25 workers: up to 48 hours

[&]quot;Safe time" refers to time off for purposes related to domestic violence, sexual assault or stalking (like the need for time off to obtain protective orders, relocate, etc.). Note that a victim of domestic violence, sexual abuse, or stalking can use sick time to attend to medical/preventive health issues like any other worker, and workers may use sick time related to the medical/preventive health issues of a family member.

Page 3 of 8 Last Updated August 24, 2017

^{*} The enforcing agencies in San Francisco and Oakland have interpreted the laws to cap how much paid sick time can be earned—but not on an annual basis. Once a worker reaches his or her earnings cap (i.e., banks the maximum amount of earned sick time as indicated in the chart) and uses paid sick time, the worker once again begins to earn paid sick time back up to this same cap. Since the language is similar in Emeryville, it is likely that the city's law will be interpreted the same way.



40 Worth Street, 10th Floor, New York, NY 10013 | t: 212.430.5982 | info@abetterbalance.org | abetterbalance.org

	San Francisco	Oakland	Emeryville	Santa Monica	San Diego ⁶	Los Angeles	Berkeley ⁷
When do workers begin to earn paid sick time?	90 calendar days after the commencement of employment. For workers hired on or after January 1, 2017, paid sick time begins to accrue at the commencement of employment, but workers aren't entitled to use paid sick time until the 90 th day of employment.	On the first day of employment, but workers aren't entitled to use paid sick time until after 90 calendar days of employment.	Although not explicitly stated in the law and future regulations may address it, paid sick time will likely be earned in the same manner as the State's paid sick time law: workers begin to earn paid sick time at the commencement of employment, but aren't entitled to use paid sick time until the 90th day of employment.	At the commencement of a worker's employment with the employer, but workers aren't entitled to use paid sick time until after the first 90 days of employment (or sooner if provided for in the employer's policies).	At the commencement of employment or July 11, 2016, whichever is later, but workers aren't entitled to use paid sick time until 90 calendar days following the commencement of employment or on July 11, 2016, whichever is later.	On the first day of employment or July 1, 2016, whichever is later. A worker is entitled to <i>use</i> paid sick time beginning on the 90th day of employment or July 1, 2016, whichever is later. As noted earlier, the law covers a worker when the worker, on or after July 1, 2016, works in Los Angeles for the same employer for 30 days or more within a year from the commencement of employment.	On the first day of employment or October 1, 2017, whichever is later, but workers aren't entitled to use paid sick time until 90 calendar days after commencement of employment.
Does unused paid sick time carry forward to the subsequent year?	Workers are entitled to carry forward 72 hours of unused paid sick time (in businesses with 10 or more workers) or 40 hours of unused paid sick time (in businesses with fewer than 10 workers), but employers are not required to allow workers to earn more than these 72-hour or 40-hour caps.	Workers are entitled to carry forward 72 hours of unused paid sick time (in businesses with 10 or more workers) or 40 hours of unused paid sick time (in businesses with fewer than 10 workers), but employers are not required to allow workers to earn more than these 72-hour or 40-hour caps.	Workers are entitled to carry forward 72 hours of unused paid sick time (in businesses with more than 55 workers) or 48 hours of unused paid sick time (in businesses with 55 or fewer workers), but employers are not required to allow workers to earn more than these 72-hour or 48-hour caps.	Workers are entitled to carry forward unused paid sick time to the following year, until their paid sick time reaches the annual caps described in the chart on the prior page (depending on business size and year). Carry forward is not required if the full amount of paid sick time required by the law is received by the worker at the beginning of each year (calendar year, fiscal year, or year of employment).	Workers are entitled to carry forward unused paid sick time. An employer may satisfy the law's carry-over provisions if the employer provides a worker with at least 40 hours of paid sick time at the beginning of each benefit year, regardless of whether the employee is full-time, part-time, or temporary.	Workers are entitled to carry forward unused paid sick time to the following year, but employers may cap it at 72 hours.	Workers are entitled to carry forward unused paid sick time. However, employers with fewer than 25 workers may limit <i>use</i> of paid sick time to 48 hours per year; larger employers may not limit the <i>use</i> of paid sick time (only the <i>accrual</i> , or amount <i>earned</i> , as described earlier).
Private Right of Action to go to Court?	Yes.	Yes.	Yes.	Yes.	Yes.	Yes.	Yes.
Are there waivers/ exemptions for workers covered by a valid Collective Bargaining Agreement (CBA)?*	Workers covered by a CBA may waive all or part of the law to the extent that the CBA sets forth the waiver in clear and unambiguous terms.	Workers covered by a CBA may waive all or part of the law to the extent that the CBA sets forth the waiver in clear and unambiguous terms.	All or any portion of the law doesn't apply to workers covered by a CBA to the extent that the CBA explicitly waives the requirements in clear and unambiguous terms showing that the parties intend the waiver.	All or any part of the law doesn't apply to workers covered by a CBA to the extent that the CBA explicitly waives the requirements in clear and unambiguous terms.	No specific language regarding waivers or exemptions for workers covered by a CBA.	No specific language regarding waivers or exemptions for workers covered by a CBA.	Workers covered by a CBA may waive all or part of the law to the extent that the CBA sets forth the waiver in clear and unambiguous terms.
What Agency or Official Enforces the Law?	San Francisco Office of Labor Standards Enforcement	No particular agency specified in the law. The Contracts and Compliance Division of the City Administrator's Office has been authorized to take complaints.	No specific agency authorized. The City itself has authority under the law to issue rules and regulations, as well as to enforce the law through administrative citations and/or remedies.	The Santa Monica Finance Director is authorized to adopt administrative regulations consistent with the law.	San Diego's Office of the City Treasurer (although the Mayor may designate another office/department under the Mayor's authority)	Los Angeles Office of Wage Standards (within the Department of Public Works' Bureau of Contract Administration)	No particular agency specified in the law (although the separate minimum wage law passed at the same time will be enforced by the Berkeley Department of Finance or other city department/agency as designated by the City by resolution).

Newark, Passaic, East Orange, Paterson, Irvington, Trenton, Montclair, Bloomfield, Minneapolis, Saint Paul, MN12 New York City, NY Spokane, WA¹⁰ Philadelphia, PA Pittsburgh, PA¹¹ Montgomery County, Maryland Cook County and Chicago, IL8 Seattle, WA Tacoma, WA Jersey City, Elizabeth, Plainfield and Morristown, NJ⁹ Who is Workers employed in Montgomery Cook County: Workers in Cook Workers who have Workers employed in the relevant city Workers employed in Workers employed in Spokane for Workers employed in Workers employed in Workers who Workers who Workers Philadelphia for at least 40 hours County are covered, but they must County who work at least 80 employed by a worked within NYC (Newark, Passaic, East Orange, Paterson, more than 240 hours a year are Pittsburgh are covered. perform work for perform work for an covered? Tacoma are covered, regularly work more than 8 hours each hours for an employer within for more than 80 hours Irvington, Trenton, Montclair, Bloomfield, but must perform covered. Work-study students (under a in a calendar year are covered. Independent contractors employer within business with an employer week. Independent contractors are any 120-day period are covered. more than 4 in a calendar year are Jersey City, Elizabeth, Plainfield, or work in Tacoma for state/federal program), those The following workers are and seasonal workers within Saint Paul for at exempted. Workers are also exempted Workers employed by a unit of workers, if covered. Domestic Morristown) for at least 80 hours in a year are more than 80 hours employed by certain firms engaged in exempted: independent (those hired for a Minneapolis for least 80 hours in a if *all* of the following apply: 1) they local government are exempted.5 they perform workers will receive covered. Workers employed by any within a calendar construction work, seasonal workers contractors; seasonal workers temporary period of not at least 80 hours year for that more than 16 weeks and don't have a regular work schedule more than 240 some paid sick time. government or a New Jersey School District or year. Work-study (expected employment of less than 1 (hired for a temporary period of in a year for that employer are with the employer; 2) they contact the Chicago: Workers in Chicago hours of work Work-study students, Board of Education are exempted. In Newark students, independen year and which is not more than 16 weeks a year); given written employer are covered. employer for work assignments and are who work at least 80 hours for in Seattle certain hourly and Jersey City, workers employed by Rutgers contractors, singleintermittent/recurring annually), adjunct professors; interns notification at time of covered. Independent scheduled to work those assignments an employer within any 120-day within a speech/physical/occup and its subdivisions are exempted. person businesses, independent contractors, domestic (students working for the hire that employment is Independent contractors are within 48 hours later; 3) they have no period are covered. Minors, calendar year, ational therapists, and government workers (those individuals employed institution where enrolled); limited to beginning/end contractors are exempted. obligation to work for the employer if certain public/city agency are covered. independent workers are as a domestic servant in a private workers hired for a term of less of seasonal dates as exempted. they don't contact the employer for employees, and participants of Work-study contractors, and exempted. home by an employer with less than 2 than 6 months; and health care determined by assignments; and 4) they're not certain subsidized temporary students are government employees employees regularly employed 40 or professionals who only work employer) are youth and/or transitional employed by a temporary placement exempted. are exempted. more hours per week; or a person when indicating they are available exempted

III. County and City Paid Sick Time Laws (Other than the Local California Laws in Section II)

employment programs are exempted. 14

agency

Page 4 of 8 Last Updated August 24, 2017

employed to do gardening,

maintenance, or repair at the

employer's private home), and

government workers are exempted

and have no obligation to work

when they do not indicate

availability.

^{*} All of these paid sick time laws include language making it clear that these laws establish a minimum requirement and employees can receive greater paid sick time rights through a contract, CBA, employment benefit plan, policy, standard, or other agreement.



40 Worth Street, 10th Floor, New York, NY 10013 | t: 212.430.5982 | info@abetterbalance.org | abetterbalance.org

	Montgomery County, Maryland	Cook County <u>and</u> Chicago, IL ⁸	Seattle, WA	New York City, NY	Newark, Passaic, East Orange, Paterson, Irvington, Trenton, Montclair, Bloomfield, Jersey City, Elizabeth, Plainfield <u>and</u> Morristown, NJ ⁹	Tacoma, WA	Spokane, WA ¹⁰	Philadelphia, PA	Pittsburgh, PA ¹¹	Minneapolis, MN	Saint Paul, MN ¹²
Can sick time be used to care for loved ones?	Yes: children; parents and legal guardians of the worker; spouses; grandparents; the spouse of a grandparent; grandchildren; siblings; and the spouse of a sibling	Yes: children; legal guardians or wards; spouses; domestic partners (including parties to a civil union); parents; parents of a spouse or domestic partner; grandparents; grandchildren; siblings; or any other individual related by blood or whose close association with the worker is the equivalent of a family relationship	Yes: children; parents; parents-in-law; grandparents; spouses; and registered domestic partners	Yes: children; spouses; registered domestic partners; parents; grandchildren; grandparents; siblings; and the parents of a spouse or domestic partner	Yes: children; parents; parents of a spouse or domestic/civil union partner; spouses; domestic/civil union partners; grandchildren; grandparents; the spouse or domestic/civil union partner of a grandparent; and siblings	Yes: children; parents; grandparents; spouses; and domestic partners (local or state registries)	Yes: spouses; domestic partners; children; grandchildren; parents; and grandparents	Yes: children; parents; parents-in-law; spouses; grandparents; the spouse of a grandparent; grandchildren; siblings; the spouse of a sibling; and a life partner (a long-term committed relationship between two unmarried individuals of the same sex or gender identity who meet certain, specified requirements)	Yes: children; parents; parents of a spouse or domestic partner; spouses; domestic partners; grandchildren; grandparents; the spouse or domestic partner of a grandparent; siblings; and any individual for whom the worker received oral permission from the employer to care for at the time of the worker's request to make use of sick time	Yes: children; parents; parents-in- law; spouses; registered domestic partners; grandchildren; grandparents; siblings; and members of the worker's household	Yes: children; parents; parents-in- law; spouses; registered domestic partners; grandchildren; grandparents; siblings; and any individual related by blood or affinity whose close association with the worker is the equivalent of a family relationship
How is "child" defined?	Biological, adopted, or foster child; stepchild; child for whom the worker has legal or physical custody or guardianship; child for whom the worker is the primary caregiver	Biological, foster, or adopted children, stepchildren, legal guardians or wards, or a child to whom the worker stands in loco parentis	Biological, adopted or foster children, stepchildren, legal wards, or the child of a worker standing in loco parentis. The child must be under 18 or 18 years of age and older but incapable of selfcare because of a mental/physical disability	Biological, adopted, or foster children, legal wards, or the child of a worker standing in loco parentis to the child	Biological, adopted, or foster children, stepchildren, legal wards, children of a domestic partner or civil union partner, child of a worker standing in loco parentis to the child	Biological, adopted or foster children, stepchildren, legal wards, or the child of a worker standing in loco parentis. The child must be under 18 years of age or 18 and older but incapable of selfcare because of a mental/physical disability	Children who are under 18 years of age, or 18 or older but incapable of self-care because of a mental/physical disability	Biological, adopted or foster children, stepchildren, legal wards, or the child of a worker standing in loco parentis to the child	Biological, adopted, or foster child, stepchild, legal ward, child of a domestic partner, or child of a worker standing in loco parentis to the child	Biological, adopted, or foster child, stepchild, guardian, or ward	Biological, adopted, or foster child, or a stepchild.
Are specific "safe time" purposes included? ^{††}	Yes, when the worker or the worker's family member is the victim	Yes, when the worker or the worker's family member is the victim	Yes, when the worker or the worker's family member is the victim	No	No	Yes, when the worker or the worker's family member is the victim	Yes, when the worker or worker's family member (child, spouse, parent, parent-in-law, grandparent, or person with whom the worker has a dating relationship) is the victim	Yes, when the worker or the worker's family member is the victim	No	Yes, when the worker or the worker's family member is the victim	Yes, when the worker or the worker's family member is the victim
Can sick time be used when a worker's place of work or child's school/place of care is closed by public health officials for a public health emergency?	Yes.	Yes.	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes	No	Yes	Yes. Also includes need to care for family member whose school/place of care is closed due to inclement weather, loss of power/heating/water, or other unexpected closure.	Yes. Also includes need to care for family member whose school/place of care is closed due to inclement weather, loss of power/heating/ water, or other unexpected closure.
Can sick time be used under the law to bond with a new child and/or deal with a family member's death? [‡]	No.	If a worker is subject to the federal Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA), s/he may carry forward up to 40 hours of unused paid sick time to be used for leave covered by the FMLA, which includes bonding with a new child (as well as certain military family needs). Paid sick time can't be used to deal with a family member's death.	No	No	No	Paid sick time can be used to deal with a family member's death.	Paid sick time can be used to deal with a family member's death.	No	No	No	No
Rate at which workers earn paid sick time?	1 hour for every 30 hours worked (for both paid and unpaid sick time, as described below)	1 hour for every 40 hours worked	In businesses with 250 or more workers, 1 hour for every 30 hours worked. In businesses with more than 4 and fewer than 250 workers, 1 hour for every 40 hours worked	1 hour for every 30 hours worked (for both paid and unpaid sick time, as described below)	1 hour for every 30 hours worked	1 hour for every 40 hours worked	1 hour for every 30 hours worked	1 hour for every 40 hours worked (for both paid and unpaid sick time, as described below)	1 hour for every 35 hours worked	1 hour for every 30 hours worked (for both paid and unpaid sick time, as described below)	1 hour for every 30 hours worked

^{† &}quot;Safe time" refers to time off for purposes related to domestic violence, sexual assault or stalking (like the need for time off to obtain protective orders, relocate, etc.). Note that a victim of domestic violence, sexual abuse, or stalking can use sick time to attend to medical/preventive health issues like any other worker, and workers may use sick time related to the medical/preventive health issues of a family member. Also, some of these laws may only cover safe time if the domestic violence, sexual assault and/or stalking occurs between certain individuals (such as family members, household members, dating relationships, etc.).

Page 5 of 8 Last Updated August 24, 2017

Note: It is possible that other laws, such as the Family and Medical Leave Act or a state equivalent, could provide eligible workers with unpaid leave for these purposes.



40 Worth Street, 10th Floor, New York, NY 10013 | t: 212.430.5982 | info@abetterbalance.org | abetterbalance.org

	Montgomery County, Maryland	Cook County <u>and</u> Chicago, IL ⁸	Seattle, WA	New York City, NY	Newark, Passaic, East Orange, Paterson, Irvington, Trenton, Montclair, Bloomfield, Jersey City, Elizabeth, Plainfield <u>and</u> Morristown, NJ ⁹	Tacoma, WA	Spokane, WA ¹⁰	Philadelphia, PA	Pittsburgh, PA ¹¹	Minneapolis, MN	Saint Paul, MN ¹²
Amount of paid sick time that can be earned under the law per year? (Note: All of these paid sick time laws make it clear that these laws establish a minimum requirement, and employers can provide greater or more generous paid sick time benefits to their workers.)	Workers in businesses with 5 or more workers: up to 56 hours a year. Workers in businesses with fewer than 5 workers: up to 32 hours of <i>paid</i> sick time and 24 hours of <i>unpaid</i> sick time.	Up to 40 hours a year	There is no limit on how much workers can earn, but workers can only use the following amounts of paid sick time a year: Tier 1 (workers in businesses with more than 4 but fewer than 50 full-time workers or full-time equivalents—FTEs): up to 40 hours. Tier 2 (workers in businesses with 50 to fewer than 250 full-time workers or FTEs): up to 56 hours. Tier 3 (workers in businesses with 250 or more full-time workers or FTEs): up to 72 hours, or up to 108 hours if the employer has a universal paid time off policy.	Workers in businesses with 5 or more workers: up to 40 hours a year. Workers in businesses with fewer than 5 workers up to 40 hours of <i>unpaid</i> sick time a year. All workers in certain chain businesses or franchises will be counted together to determine size.	Workers in businesses with 10 or more workers (and all child care, home health care, and food service workers, regardless of the size of their employer): up to 40 hours a year. Workers in businesses with fewer than 10 workers: up to 24 hours a year.	Up to 24 hours a year	There is no explicit limit on how much workers can earn, but workers can only use the following amounts of earned paid sick time a year: Workers in businesses with 10 or more workers: up to 40 hours a year. Workers in businesses with fewer than 10 workers: up to 24 hours	Workers in businesses with 10 or more workers: up to 40 hours a year. Workers in businesses with fewer than 10 workers: up to 40 hours of <i>unpaid</i> sick time a year. Certain chain establishments must provide paid sick time regardless of the number of workers in an establishment.	Workers in businesses with 15 or more workers: up to 40 hours a year. Workers in businesses with fewer than 15 workers: up to 24 hours a year, although in the first year after the law goes into effect, this time will be unpaid (thereafter it will be 24 hours of paid sick time a year for workers in these small businesses).	Workers in businesses with 6 or more workers: up to 48 hours a year. Workers in businesses with 5 or fewer workers: up to 48 hours of <i>unpaid</i> sick time a year. New employers, other than certain chain businesses, only have to provide <i>unpaid</i> sick time in their first 12 months after hiring their first worker (this "new business" provision only applies for 5 years after the law's effective date).	Up to 48 hours a year. New employers only have to provide <i>unpaid</i> sick time in their first 6 months after hiring their first worker (this "new business" provision only applies until January 1, 2023).
When do workers begin to earn paid sick time?	At the commencement of employment, or October 1, 2016, whichever is later, but workers can be required to wait 90 days before using their sick time.	On the first calendar day after the worker commences employment or July 1, 2017, whichever is later, but workers can be required to wait to use accrued paid sick time for up to 180 calendar days after commencement of employment.	At the commencement of employment, but workers aren't entitled to use paid sick time until the 180th calendar day after employment commenced.	At the commencement of employment, but workers aren't entitled to use sick time until the 120th calendar day following commencement of employment.	On the first day of employment, but workers aren't entitled to use paid sick time until the 90th calendar day of employment (except Plainfield, which is the 100th calendar day of employment).	At the commencement of employment or February 1, 2016, whichever is later, but workers aren't entitled to use paid sick time until the 180th calendar day after employment commenced.	On the first day of employment, but employers can require workers to wait up to 90 days after employment begins before using paid sick time.	At the commencement of employment, but workers aren't entitled to use sick time until after 90 calendar days of employment.	At the commencement of employment or the law's effective date, whichever is later, but workers aren't entitled to use sick time until the 90th calendar day after employment commenced.	At the commencement of employment or the law's effective date, whichever is later, but workers aren't entitled to use sick time until the 90th calendar day after commencement of employment.	At the commencement of employment or the law's effective date, whichever is later, but workers aren't entitled to use sick time until the 90th calendar day after commencement of employment.
Does unused sick time carry forward to the subsequent year?	Workers are entitled to carry forward up to 56 hours of unused sick time and may use up to 80 hours of sick time a year when they have sick time that is carried forward. However, employers are not required to allow carry forward if, at the beginning of the new year, they award the full amount of sick time that the worker would earn over that year.	Workers are entitled to carry forward half of their unused paid sick time, up to a maximum of 20 hours, but employers aren't required to allow use of more than 40 hours of paid sick time a year. However, as described earlier in this chart, workers subject to the FMLA may carry forward up to 40 hours of unused paid sick time for FMLA purposes.	Workers are entitled to carry forward the following amount of unused paid sick time: Tier 1: up to 40 hours; Tier 2: up to 56 hours; Tier 3: up to 72 hours (or up to 108 hours if the employer has a universal paid time off policy). Employers aren't required to allow <i>use</i> of more time in a year than as outlined above, according to business size.	Workers are entitled to carry forward up to 40 hours of unused sick time, but employers aren't required to allow use of more than 40 hours of sick time a year. Carry forward is not required if a worker is paid for unused sick time at the end of the year and the employer provides the worker with an amount of paid sick time that meets or exceeds the law's requirement on the first day of the subsequent year.	Workers are entitled to carry forward up to 40 hours of unused paid sick time, but employers aren't required to allow use of more than 40 hours of paid sick time a year. In all of these cities except Jersey City, carry forward is not required if a worker is paid for any unused sick time at the end of the year in which it is earned.	Workers are entitled to carry forward 24 hours of unused paid sick time to the following year, and may use hours carried forward up to a total not to exceed 40 hours in a year.	Workers are entitled to carry forward up to 24 hours of unused paid sick time to the following year	Workers are entitled to carry forward unused sick time, but employers are not required to allow use of more than 40 hours of sick time per year. Carry forward isn't required if the employer chooses to provide at least 40 hours of sick time at the beginning of each calendar year.	Workers are entitled to carry forward unused sick time, but employers aren't required to allow use of more than 40 hours of paid sick time a year (for businesses with 15 or more workers) or more than 24 hours of sick time a year (for businesses with fewer workers). Carry forward is not required if the employer provides the worker with an amount of paid sick time that meets or exceeds the law's requirement on the first day of the subsequent year.	Workers are entitled to carry forward unused sick time and shall continue to accrue sick time up to a total of 80 hours at any time. There is otherwise no limit on how much earned sick time can be used in a year.	Workers are entitled to carry forward unused paid sick time and shall continue to accrue paid sick time up to a total of 80 hours at any time. There is otherwise no explicit limit on how much paid sick time can be used in a year. Carry forward is not required if the employer provides at least 48 hours of paid sick time following the initial 90 days of employment during the first year and at least 80 hours beginning each subsequent year.
Are there waivers/ exemptions for workers covered by a valid Collective Bargaining Agreement (CBA) or bargaining unit?*	No specific language regarding waivers or exemptions for workers covered by a CBA	Workers in the construction industry covered by a CBA are exempt. After July 1, 2017, the law's effective date, the law's requirements may be waived in a CBA if the waiver is set forth in clear and unambiguous terms.	The law's provisions won't apply to any workers covered by a CBA to the extent that the CBA expressly waives the requirements in clear and unambiguous terms.	The law's provisions won't apply to workers in the construction or grocery industry covered by CBA if the law's provisions are expressly waived in the CBA. The law's provisions won't apply to other workers covered by a CBA if the provisions are expressly waived in the CBA and the CBA provides a comparable benefit.	Members of a construction union covered by a CBA are exempted. Otherwise, all or any part of the law's requirements do not apply to workers covered by a CBA to the extent that the CBA expressly waives the requirements in clear and unambiguous terms.	The law's provisions won't apply to any workers covered by a CBA to the extent that the CBA expressly waives the requirements in clear and unambiguous terms.	No specific language regarding waivers or exemptions for workers covered by a CBA.	The law's provisions do not apply to workers covered by a bona fide CBA.	Members of a construction union covered by a collective bargaining unit are exempted.	An employer may opt to satisfy the law for construction employees by paying at least the State prevailing wage or the rate required in an applicable registered apprenticeship agreement (regardless of whether working on private or public projects).	An employer may opt to satisfy the law for construction employees by paying at least the State prevailing wage or the rate required in an applicable registered apprenticeship agreement (regardless of whether working on private or public projects).

^{*} All of these paid sick time laws include language making it clear that these laws establish a minimum requirement and employees can receive greater paid sick time rights through a contract, CBA, employment benefit plan, policy, standard, or other agreement.

Page 6 of 8 Last Updated August 24, 2017



40 Worth Street, 10th Floor, New York, NY 10013 | t: 212.430.5982 | info@abetterbalance.org | abetterbalance.org

	Montgomery County, Maryland	Cook County <u>and</u> Chicago, IL ⁸	Seattle, WA	New York City, NY	Newark, Passaic, East Orange, Paterson, Irvington, Trenton, Montclair, Bloomfield, Jersey City, Elizabeth, Plainfield <u>and</u> Morristown, NJ ⁹	Tacoma, WA	Spokane, WA ¹⁰	Philadelphia, PA	Pittsburgh, PA ¹¹	Minneapolis, MN	Saint Paul, MN ¹²
Private Right of Action to go to Court?	No	Yes	No	No	Yes	No	Possibly. The law requires the City Council and the Administration to jointly determine enforcement procedures, which must be in effect by October 1, 2016.	Yes. Can go directly to court in the first 120 days after May 13, 2015, the law's effective date. After that, workers may go to Court only after receiving a final decision from the agency or 180 days after filing a complaint, whichever is earlier.	No	No	Yes
What Agency or Official Enforces the Bill?	County Office of Human Rights. The County Executive may also delegate enforcement to a legally authorized State agency.	Cook County: Cook County Commission on Human Rights Chicago: Chicago Department of Business Affairs and Consumer Protection	Seattle Office for Civil Rights	New York City Department of Consumer Affairs	Newark: Newark Department of Child and Family Well-Being Passaic: Passaic Department of Human Services, Division of Health Irvington: Irvington Department of Neighborhood Services Plainfield: Plainfield Department of Administration and Finance, Division of Health & Social Services Morristown: Morristown Department of Administration The laws in: East Orange, Paterson, Trenton, Montclair, Bloomfield, Jersey City, and Elizabeth are enforced by the relevant city's Municipal Department of Health and Human Services	The Finance Director or his or her designee	City of Spokane Contract and Business Standards Compliance Office	The Philadelphia Managing Director's Office	The Office of the City Controller or a Department or entity designated by the Mayor's Office	Minneapolis Department of Civil Rights	Saint Paul Department of Human Rights and Equal Economic Opportunity

¹ Please note that this chart does not provide an exhaustive overview of these state, county, and city paid sick time laws, and it does not constitute legal advice. It is possible that additional provisions not described in this fact sheet may apply to a worker's specific circumstances or category of employment (such as welfare participants, for example). City paid sick time laws cannot cover state government workers, and neither city nor state paid sick time laws are able to cover federal government workers.

Page 7 of 8 Last Updated August 24, 2017

² California's statewide paid sick time law took effect in July 2015. On April 4, 2016, the Governor signed into law minimum wage legislation that also expanded the existing paid sick time law to cover providers of in-home supportive care, beginning July 1, 2018. For these newly covered domestic workers, paid sick time usage and carry forward will differ from what is described in this chart, and the law directs a workgroup to issue guidance in 2017; officials are also likely to issue related regulations prior to July 1, 2018. The California statewide law explicitly states that it establishes minimum requirements on sick time and does not preempt or limit other laws or policies that provide for more favorable paid sick time rights to workers. Therefore, the more expansive San Francisco, Oakland, Emeryville, Santa Monica, Los Angeles, San Diego, and Berkeley paid sick time laws will still apply to workers covered by those laws, and other cities or counties in California may continue to pass broader paid sick time laws.

³ Oregon's Legislature passed a statewide paid sick time law on June 12, 2015, and the law went into effect on January 1, 2016. The law preempts—or prohibits—local governments from passing paid sick time laws. As a result, Eugene's paid sick time law—passed in July 2014 and originally scheduled to go into effect on July 1, 2015—did not take effect. On the other hand, Portland passed a paid sick time law influenced a key provision of the statewide law. As described in this chart, the employer size threshold for providing paid sick time is lower for employers who are located in Portland (including maintenance of any office, store, restaurant, or establishment in the city). As described in Portland that employers at least six workers anywhere in Oregon must provide its workers with paid sick time, and smaller employers located in Portland must provide unpaid sick time. For employers who are not located in Portland, the size threshold for providing paid sick time is 10 or more workers (with smaller employers providing unpaid sick time). Eugene and Portland have been removed from this comparison chart.

⁴On February 17, 2016, the Vermont Legislature provided final passage of a paid sick time bill, and the Governor signed it into law on March 9, 2016. With the exception of provisions around small business planning/implementation assistance and a business survey that took effect earlier, Vermont's paid sick time law became effective for employers with more than 5 workers (employed for an average of no less than 30 hours per week) on January 1, 2017; these employers may require workers who existed on January 1, 2017 to wait up to December 31, 2017 before *using* paid sick time accrued during this first year. An employer with 5 or fewer workers (employed for an average of no less than 30 hours per week) won't be subject to the paid sick time law until January 1, 2018; these employers may require their existing workers on January 1, 2018 to wait up to December 31, 2018 before *using* paid sick time accrued during this first year. Also, as described in the chart, new businesses will not be subject to the paid sick time law for a period of one year after hiring their first worker.

⁵ Washington State voters overwhelmingly approved a paid sick time law on November 8, 2016. Although the law took effect on January 1, 2017, the right to begin earning paid sick time will begin on January 1, 2018. The statewide law in Washington explicitly states that it establishes minimum requirements on sick time and does not preempt or limit other laws or policies that provide for greater accrual or use of paid sick time. Therefore, the local paid sick time laws in Seattle, Spokane, Tacoma, and SeaTac (described in part IV below) remain in effect, and other localities in Washington may continue to pass broader paid sick time laws.

⁶ In July 2014, the San Diego City Council passed a paid sick time and minimum wage ordinance and then voted to override the mayor's veto of the ordinance on August 18, 2014. However, opponents collected signatures to put the paid sick time and minimum wage ordinance to a vote in a June 2016 referendum, and the law was delayed from going into effect. On June 7, 2016, voters in San Diego approved the paid sick time and minimum wage ordinance. The law went into effect on July 11, 2016. An implementing ordinance that made some amendments was passed by the Council and later approved by the Mayor on August 3, 2016. The implementing ordinance took effect on September 2, 2016.

⁷ On August 31, 2016, the Berkeley City Council unanimously passed a paid sick time ordinance, which was signed by the Mayor the following day. As described in greater detail in the chart, workers will begin earning paid sick time under the Berkeley law beginning on October 1, 2017.

⁸ The Chicago City Council unanimously adopted a paid sick time law, with the Mayor's support, on June 22, 2016. In addition to the description of covered workers in the chart, note that the Chicago law exempts certain categories of short-term, temporary, or irregularly employed individuals who are not subject to the city's minimum wage law—and who likely would not be employed for long enough to earn and then use sick time under the law (for example, certain day/temporary laborers, certain seasonal camp counselors, and certain learners as designated by the State Department of Labor). Also, workers who, in any 2-week period, perform fewer than 2 hours of work while physically present within Chicago are exempted. Following the passage of Chicago's law, the Cook County Board of Commissioners approved a paid sick time law on October 5, 2016. In addition to the information in the chart, please note as well that the following workers are not covered by the Cook County Law: workers who, in any 2-week period, perform fewer than 2 hours of work while physically present within Cook County; and workers who are employed in municipalities within Cook County that have opted out of the law.

⁹ All of the local paid sick time laws in New Jersey are now in effect. In December 2015, the city of New Brunswick passed a narrower paid sick and safe time law that departs from the more comprehensive laws in the other 11 New Jersey cities listed in the chart. In covered businesses with 10 or more workers: full-time workers (averaging 35 hours/week) are entitled to earn up to 24 hours. In covered businesses with more than 5 full-time equivalent workers but fewer than 10 workers, workers are entitled to earn up to 24 hours a week. However, the law excludes all workers employed for an average of less than 20 hours per week. The law also exempts all government and board of education workers, independent contractors, individuals who work from home, and certain "per diem" hospital workers who work on a flexible, "as needed" basis to cover for other absent hospital workers. The New Brunswick law is now in effect. For more, go to:

http://thecityofnewbrunswick.org/planninganddevelopment/paid-sick-safe-time-in-new-brunswick/



40 Worth Street, 10th Floor, New York, NY 10013 | t: 212.430.5982 | info@abetterbalance.org | abetterbalance.org

¹⁰ On January 11, 2016, the Spokane City Council passed a paid sick time law by a vote of 6-1. The Council then passed the bill into law over the Mayor's veto on January 25, 2016. However, businesses that received their first business registration in Spokane after the enactment of the law—but before the law's effective date of January 1, 2017—are not subject to the law until 1 year after the date of their first business registration.

¹¹ On August 3, 2015, the Pittsburgh City Council passed a paid sick time law by a vote of 7-1. Although lower courts ruled against the law based on a unique provision in Pennsylvania law, the city is in the process of appealing the decision to the state's Supreme Court.

¹² On September 7, 2016, the Saint Paul City Council unanimously passed a paid sick time ordinance. For employers with 24 or more workers, the law became effective July 1, 2017. For employers with 23 or fewer workers, the law is effective January 1, 2018.

IV. Additional Paid Sick Time Laws

In November 2013, voters in SeaTac, Washington passed a law that gives certain hospitality and transportation workers a variety of new labor rights, including the right to earn paid sick time (at a rate of 1 hour for every 40 hours worked). Covered employers are required to pay eligible workers a lump sum payment at the end of the calendar year equivalent to the compensated time. The law also raises the minimum wage for these workers, gives them a right to keep their tips, and requires hospitality and transportation employers to offer additional hours to part-time workers before they may hire new part-time staff.

In November 2012, the voters of Long Beach, California approved a measure to guarantee a living wage and paid sick time to certain hotel workers in the city. Under the law, hotels with 100 or more rooms are required to pay workers a minimum of \$13 an hour (adjusted for increases in the federal minimum wage or cost of living) and allow workers to earn a minimum of 5 paid sick days a year.

For more detailed information on the sick time laws and bills described in this document, see:

- A Better Balance's website at http://www.abetterbalance.org/web/ourissues/sickleave
- Connecticut: http://www.ctdol.state.ct.us/wgwkstnd/SickLeave.htm
- California: http://www.dir.ca.gov/DLSE/ab1522.html
- Massachusetts: http://www.mass.gov/ago/doing-business-in-massachusetts/labor-laws-and-public-construction/earned-sick-time/
- Oregon: http://www.oregon.gov/BOLI/TA/pages/index.aspx
- Washington D.C.: http://does.dc.gov/service/wage-and-hour-compliance
- San Francisco: http://sfgsa.org/index.aspx?page=419
- Oakland: http://www2.oaklandnet.com/government/o/CityAdministration/d/MinimumWage/index.htm
- Seattle: http://www.seattle.gov/laborstandards/paid-sick-and-safe-time
- New York City: http://www.nyc.gov/PaidSickLeave and A Better Balance's website: http://www.abetterbalance.org/web/nycpaidsick
- Newark: http://www.ci.newark.nj.us/government/departments/health-and-community-wellness/paid-sick-leave/
- East Orange: http://eastorange-nj.gov/earned-sick-time/
- $\bullet \ \ Trenton: http://www.trentonnj.org/trentonpaidsickleave$
- Montclair: http://www.montclairnjusa.org/index.php?option=com_content&view=category&layout=blog&id=341&Itemid=880
- Bloomfield: http://www.bloomfieldtwpnj.com/main/press-release/bloomfield-first-nj-town-year-mandate-paid-sick-leave
- Jersey City: http://www.jerseycitynj.gov/business.aspx?id=13851
- San Diego: https://www.sandiego.gov/treasurer/minimum-wage-program
- $\bullet \ \ Tacoma: http://www.cityoftacoma.org/cms/one.aspx?objectId=75860$
- $\bullet \ Philadelphia: http://www.phila.gov/MDO/Pages/PaidSickLeave.aspx$
- Emeryville: http://www.ci.emeryville.ca.us/1024/Minimum-Wage-Ordinance
- Spokane: https://my.spokanecity.org/citycouncil/items-of-interest/sick-leave/
- $\bullet \ Santa\ Monica: https://www.smgov.net/departments/HED/Economic_Development/Minimum_Wage_Proposal.aspx$
- Minneapolis: http://www.minneapolismn.gov/sicktimeinfo/index.htm
- Los Angeles: http://wagesla.lacity.org/
- $\bullet \ Saint\ Paul:\ https://www.stpaul.gov/departments/human-rights-equal-economic-opportunity/earned-sick-and-safe-time$
- SeaTac: http://www.ci.seatac.wa.us/index.aspx?page=681
- San Francisco Code Chapter 12W; D.C. Code § 32-131.01 et seq.; Seattle Code § 14.16.010 et seq.; Conn. Gen. Stat. § 31-57r et seq.; NYC Code § 20-911 et seq.; Newark Legislation File # 13-2010, Version 6; San Diego Municipal Code § 39.0101 et seq.; Cal. Lab. Code § 245 et seq.; Long Beach Code § 5.48.010 et seq.; Or. Rev. Stat. § 653.256 et seq., 659A.885; Emeryville Code § 5-37.01 et seq.; Montgomery County Code Chapter 27, Article XIII; Pittsburgh Code § 626 et seq.; Spokane Municipal Code § 40.10 et seq.; Santa Monica Code § 40.10 et seq.; Conn. Gen. Stat. § 23-364 and 23-371 et seq.; Morristown Ordinance O-35-2016; Cook County Code § 32-371 et seq.; Washington Initiative No. 1433 (to be codified in Wash. Rev. Code Chapter 49.46).

Page 8 of 8 Last Updated August 24, 2017