

ENVIRONMENTAL COMMISSION URBAN FORESTRY COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES Friday, October 13, 2017

The Environmental Commission Urban Forestry Committee convened in a public meeting on Friday, October 13, 2017 at One Texas Center in the Cavern Conference Room at 505 Barton Springs Road, Austin, Texas 78704.

Commissioners in Attendance:

Mary Ann Neely Peggy Maceo Wendy Gordon Pam Thompson

Commissioners Absent:

Linda Guerrero

Staff in Attendance:

Kaela Champlin Chuck Lesniak Keith Mars

1. CALL TO ORDER

Commissioner Peggy Maceo called the meeting to order at 11:02 A.M.

2. CITIZEN COMMUNICATION: GENERAL

Speakers should sign up to speak prior to the meeting being called to order; you will receive a three-minute allotment to discuss topics not posted on the agenda.

Speakers

Bobby Levinski spoke on behalf of Save Our Springs Alliance

3. APPROVAL OF MINUTES AND ACTION

a. Approve the minutes of the Urban Forestry Committee Meeting of July 18, 2017

The minutes of the July 18, 2017 Urban Forestry Committee Meeting were approved on Commissioner Neely's motion, Commissioner Gordon's second on a 4-0 vote.

Commissioner Guerrero was absent.

4. ITEMS FOR CONSIDERATION AND POSSIBLE ACTION

 a. Discuss and consider CodeNEXT tree requirements – Keith Mars, City Arborist, Development Services Department (DSD)

Item conducted as posted. No action taken.

Speakers

Brad Parsons spoke on behalf of Austin Neighborhoods Council

5. ADJOURNMENT

Commissioner Peggy Maceo adjourned the meeting at 12:28 P.M.

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days before the meeting date. For additional information, please call **Kaela Champlin**, Watershed Protection Department, at (512) 974-3443; TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711. For more information on the Environmental Commission, please contact **Kaela Champlin**, Watershed Protection Department, at (512) 974-3443.

* A member of the public may not address a board or commission at a meeting on an item posted as a briefing, per City Code Section 2-1-144(E).