

Special Called Meeting ZONING & PLATTING COMMISSION Wednesday, April 9, 2018

The Zoning & Platting Commission convened in a special called meeting on Tuesday, April 9, 2018 @ 505 Barton Springs Road, Austin, TX 78704

Chair Kiolbassa called the Commission Meeting to order at 7:05 p.m.

Commission Members in Attendance:

Ana Aguirre – Secretary
Dustin Breithaupt
Ann Denkler
Jim Duncan – Vice-Chair
Bruce Evans
Yvette Flores
Betsy Greenberg – Parliamentarian
Jolene Kiolbassa – Chair
David King
Sunil Lavani
Abigail Tatkow

EXECUTIVE SESSION (No public discussion)

The Zoning & Platting Commission will announce it will go into Executive Session, if necessary, pursuant to Chapter 551 of the Texas Government Code, to receive advice from Legal Counsel on matters specifically listed on this agenda. The commission may not conduct a closed meeting without the approval of the city attorney.

Private Consultation with Attorney – Section 551.071

A. DISCUSSION AND POSSIBLE ACTION

1. CodeNEXT

Discussion and possible action regarding adoption of a comprehensive revision to the Land Development Code, commonly referred to as "CodeNEXT," relating to the regulation of land use and development in the City of Austin and its extraterritorial jurisdiction, together with related actions and City Code amendments.

Staff: <u>Greg Guernsey</u>, Director, 512-974-2387; <u>Jerry Rusthoven</u>, Assistant Director, 512-974-3207; <u>Jorge Rousselin</u>, Division Manager, 512-974-2975 Planning and Zoning Department

Motion by Commissioner King, seconded by Commissioner Greenberg to adopt Exhibit A: ZAP Recommendation of CodeNEXT.

There was a substitute motion by Commissioner Evans, seconded by Commissioner Lavani to recommend the Zoning and Platting Commission review and evaluate the Planning Commission recommendations and then decide whether to support or propose additional recommendations to Council. Motion failed of a vote of 4-6. Those voting aye were Commissioners Evans, Lavani, Tatkow and Flores. Those voting nay were Chair Kiolbassa and Commissioners Aguirre, Breithaupt, Denkler, King and Greenberg. Vice-Chair Duncan abstained.

Amendment by Commissioner King, seconded by Vice-Chair Duncan to strike "respectfully declines to provide further recommendations regarding CodeNEXT". Amendment was approved on a vote of 7-2. Commissioner Flores and Tatkow voted nay. Commissioner Evans and Lavani abstained.

Amendment by Commissioner Breithaupt seconded by Commissioner Aguirre to insert "7. Create a code efficiency task force to provide input and recommendations to achieve items 1-6 by removing negative elements of our current code and integrating positive elements of CodeNEXT." 6-2. Commissioners Tatkow and Lavani voted nay. Commissioners Greenberg, Evans and Flores abstained.

Amendment by Vice-Chair Duncan, seconded by Commissioner King to change "...it was clear that there is no" to "...it was clear that there is minimal" Amendment was approved on a vote of 8-0. Commissioners Evans, Lavani, and Tatkow abstained.

Motion by Commissioner King, seconded by Commissioner Greenberg to adopt Exhibit A: ZAP Recommendation of CodeNEXT, as amended, was approved on a vote of 7-4. Those voting aye were Chair Kiolbassa, Vice-Chair Duncan and Commissioner Aguirre, Breithaupt, Greenberg, Denkler and King. Those voting nay were Commissioners Flores, Lavani, Tatkow and Evans.

Chair Kiolbassa adjourned the meeting without objection on Wednesday, May 9, 2018 at 10:15 p.m.

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations

are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days before the meeting date. Please call Andrew Rivera at the Planning and Zoning Department, at 512-974-6508, for additional information; TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711.