

DESIGN COMMISSION MONDAY, JULY 23, 2018 AT 6:00 PM AUSTIN CITY HALL, BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS ROOM 1101 301 W. SECOND STREET, AUSTIN, TEXAS 78701

Commission Members

*A = Absent

_____ David Carroll, Chair (District 1) _____ Martha Gonzalez, Vice-Chair (District 2) <u>A</u> Aan Coleman (District 8)
<u>A</u> Beau Frail (District 6)
<u>A</u> Samuel France (District 3)
<u>Katie Halloren (District 7)</u>
<u>Melissa Henao-Robledo (District 5)</u>
<u>A</u> Ben Luckens (District 10)
<u>Evan Taniguchi (Mayor)</u>
<u>A</u> Bart Whatley (District 9)
Vacant (District 4)

City of Austin Planning & Zoning Staff

- _____ Benjamin Campbell, Executive Liaison
- _____ Nichole Koerth, Staff Liaison

CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL

1. CITIZEN COMMUNICATION: GENERAL

a. The first five speakers signed up prior to the meeting being called to order will each be allowed a **three-minute allotment** to address their concerns regarding items <u>not</u> posted on the agenda;

AGENDA

2. NEW BUSINESS (Discussion and Possible Action):

- a. Discussion and possible action to evaluate and make recommendations regarding whether the 6th + Guadalupe Project, located at 600 Guadalupe Street, complies with the <u>Urban Design</u> <u>Guidelines</u>, agatekeeper requirement for the Downtown Density Bonus Program (<u>LDC</u> <u>§25-2-86(*L*)(1)(a)(ii)</u>) (Amanda Swor, Drenner Group; <u>Chi Lee</u>, Gensler) (15 mins.);
- b. Discussion and possible action to evaluate and make recommendations regarding whether The Republic Project, located at 401 W. 4th Street, complies with the <u>Urban Design Guidelines</u>, a gatekeeper requirement for the Downtown Density Bonus Program (<u>LDC §25-2-586(C)(1)(a)(ii)</u>) (<u>Turan Duda</u>, Duda Paine Architects; <u>Ashley Griffin-Didow</u>, Duda Paine Architects; <u>Elliott Doerle</u>, TBF Partners; <u>Richard Suttle</u>, Armbrust & Brown) (15 mins.);
- c. Discussion and possible action on the Zilker Maintenance Barn project submittal, located at 2328 Columbus Drive, seeking a recommendation of "compliance with city design and sustainability standards" per <u>Resolution 20071129-046</u> (Kalpana Sutaria, COA Public Works; John McKennis, COA Parks and Recreation Department; <u>Sam Irrinki</u>, Weston Solutions; Jaime Beaman, Casabella Architects) (15 mins.);

3. OLD BUSINESS (Discussion and Possible Action):

a. None

4. COMMISSION-SPECIFIC BUSINESS (Discussion and Possible Action):

- a. Discussion and possible action on the June 25, 2018 draft meeting minutes;
- b. Liaison Reports;
- c. Appointment of Committee/Working Group members by Chair;

5. FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS:

- Further update from the Neighborhood Housing and Community Development Department (NHCD) regarding density bonus housing fee collection, disbursement of fees, processes and documentation;
- b. Staff update regarding the request by the Design Commission that existing Great Streets elements such as trees, furnishings, and pavers (when applicable), be returned to the City when removed for a new private Great Streets project, or when removed by a public entity.
 (<u>Humberto Rey</u>, City of Austin Planning & Zoning Department);
- c. Nomination of a liaison to the Joint Sustainability Committee;
- d. Re-Introduction and update from the City Architect, Janice White (September 24, 2018);

6. ANNOUNCEMENTS:

- a. Chair Announcements;
- b. Items from Commission Members;
- c. Items from City Staff;

7. ADJOURNMENT

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative/formats, please give notice at least 2 days before the meeting date. Please contact Nichole Koerth in the Planning and Zoning Department at <u>nichole.koerth@austintexas.gov</u> or (512) 974-2752, for additional information. TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711.

Design Commission: Committees, Working Groups, Representatives and Liaisons

Committees

1. Executive Committee: D. Carroll (Chair), M. Gonzalez (Vice Chair)

Working Groups

- 1. Planning & Urban Design Working Group: E. Taniguchi, B. Whatley, A. Coleman, D. Carroll
- 2. Architecture & Development Working Group: B. Whatley, M. Gonzalez, D. Carroll, B. Frail
- Landscape & Infrastructure Working Group: S. Franco, M. Henao-Robledo, A. Coleman K. Halloran
- 4. Public Engagement Working Group: B. Luckens, S. Franco, M. Henao-Robledo 🖊
- 5. CodeNEXT Working Group: D. Carroll, M. Gonzalez
- 6. Infrastructure Design Guidelines Working Group: D. Carroll, M. Gonzalez, E. Taniguchi, B. Luckens

Representatives & Liaisons

- 1. South Central Waterfront Advisory Board Representative: S. Franco
- 2. Downtown Commission Liaison: M. Henao-Robledo
- 3. Joint Sustainability Committee Liaison:

Staff to Design Commission

City of Austin, One Texas Center, 505 Barton Springs Rd, Austin, TX 78704 Planning and Zoning Department, Urban Design Division, 5th floor

Executive Liaison: Benjamin.Compbey@austintexas.gov (512) 974-7691

Staff Liaison: <u>Nichole.Kourth@austintexas.gov</u> (512) 974-2752

Downtown Density Bonus Program: Anne.Milne@austintexas.gov (512) 974-2868

Public Works Department, Office of the City Architect, 9th floor

City Architect. Janice. White@austintexas.gov (512) 974-7997

Resources

Urban Design Guidelines for Austin:

http://www.austintexas.gov/sites/default/files/files/Boards_and_Commissions/Design_ Commission_urban_design_guidelines_for_austin.pdf

2. Design Commission backup:

http://www.austintexas.gov/cityclerk/boards_commissions/meetings/22_1.htm

3. Downtown Density Bonus program:

https://www.municode.com/library/tx/austin/codes/land_development_code?nodeId=TIT25_LADE_CH25-2ZO_SUBCHAPTER_CUSDERE_ART3ADRECEDI_SPAGERE_S25-2-586DODEBOP