

ENVIRONMENTAL COMMISSION DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES Thursday, April 18, 2018

The Environmental Commission Development Committee convened in a public meeting on Wednesday, April 18, 2018 at One Texas Center in the Cavern Conference Room at 505 Barton Springs Road, Austin, Texas 78704.

Commissioners in Attendance:

Marisa Perales Hank Smith Pam Thompson

Commissioners Absent:

Katie Coyne Alesha Istvan

Staff in Attendance:

Kaela Champlin Reem Zoun Kevin Shunk Jorge Rousselin Greg Guernsey

Andrea Bates

Marilyn Lamensdorf

Matt Hollon

Taylor Horton

Atha Phillips

Chuck Lesniak

1. CALL TO ORDER

Commissioner Perales called the meeting to order at 11:10 A.M.

2. CITIZEN COMMUNICATION: GENERAL

Speakers should sign up to speak prior to the meeting being called to order; you will receive a three-minute allotment to discuss topics not posted on the agenda.

3. APPROVAL OF MINUTES AND ACTION

a. Approve the minutes of the Development Committee Meeting of April 11, 2018

The minutes of the Development Committee Meeting of April 11, 2018 were approved on Commissioner H. Smith's motion, Commissioner Thompson's second on a 3-0 vote.

Commissioners Istvan and Coyne were absent.

4. ITEMS FOR CONSIDERATION AND POSSIBLE ACTION

- a. Discuss and consider CodeNEXT Draft 3 aspects including:
 - Open Space (Article 23-4C & Article 23-4D)
 - Floodplain modification (Section 23-3D-4070)
 - Environmental Commission review of variances (Sections 23-3D-2060 & 23-3C-3030)

• Other CodeNEXT items as needed **Item conducted as posted. No action taken.**

5. ADJOURNMENT

Commissioner Perales adjourned the meeting at 1:00 P.M.

The City of Austin is committed to compliance with the American with Disabilities Act. Reasonable modifications and equal access to communications will be provided upon request. Meeting locations are planned with wheelchair access. If requiring Sign Language Interpreters or alternative formats, please give notice at least 2 days before the meeting date. For additional information, please call **Kaela Champlin**, Watershed Protection Department, at (512) 974-3443; TTY users route through Relay Texas at 711. For more information on the Environmental Commission, please contact **Kaela Champlin**, Watershed Protection Department, at (512) 974-3443.

* A member of the public may not address a board or commission at a meeting on an item posted as a briefing, per City Code Section 2-1-144(E).